We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I don't even like ice cream” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Desert Island Ice Cream

Mount Desert Island Ice Cream
Ranked #2 of 13 Dessert in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I don't even like ice cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

OK so I don't even like ice cream and this place was crazy good, All organic, very interesting flavors, had ice cream 2X, my family went 4X. The caramel. they also offered glutenand dairy free options. yummy reward after hiking all day

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zacar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    35
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic City
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best, Best, Best.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

I live in a beach resort and there are lots of places that make their own ice cream around here. I am much more interested in intense and interesting flavors, than I am in ice cream that is rich, or sweet, or both. For me, THIS IS THE BEST ICE CREAM I HAVE HAD ON THIS SIDE OF THE ATLANTIC. I am sure others have their favorites, but I have yet to taste better (or more exotic flavors).

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pastaman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Try it!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Pass on the other ice cream spots and go here!! Flavors are unique & you will not be disappointed. The salted Carmel is like nothing I've tried before! We also had the White Russian & Coffee flavors. We took two trips here during our 4 day trip. Go just go!

Helpful?
Thank FloridaBeachaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Selection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

Mt Desert is a home grown Bar Harbor ice cream company with unusual and experimental flavors that for the most part are home runs!. I tried several including the Goat Cheesecake and loved them all.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank wcsting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
98 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“OMG! Do not pass go, do not miss a chance to try this ice cream!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

I have been quite spoiled with a local creamery in my town so while I was expecting to enjoy my ice cream from MDI Ice Cream, I wasn't expecting to be wowed by it. But I was! We stopped here completely on a whim as we walked back to our car after lunch in Bar Harbor. It was way past nap time and toddler melt down was about to commence at any moment. My husband pointed out that MDI was the ice cream place he thought would be good to check out due to the catchy flavor names they had. Since we had our dog with us I let him go in first to check out the flavors - he told me he wanted the White Russian - when I went in to order I found out the catchy name for this flavor was "the Dude." Immediately, I was not surprised that he would pick this one, after all it referenced one of his favorite movies. I had a hard time picking between 3 different flavors but went with the first one that caught my eye - I believe it was called Mount Desert Sweet Cream. Sweet Cream ice cream with chocolate chunks and cherries. One bite of this and I had found ice cream heaven! It was super smooth, creamy, and amazing! The white russian tasted just like the beverage - right down to the Vodka. We both shared ours with our little one who had no complaints - not that she would, it's ice cream! I was caught off guard a bit at the prices - they seemed high to me but given the quality of the ice cream and the good sized servings I cannot complain one bit - you do get what you pay for! I highly recommend if you are in Bar Harbor to stop by and check out this quaint shop. It is well worth it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sightsnsounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Desert Island Ice Cream also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Mount Desert Island Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing