We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we went back a few days later!”

Mount Desert Island Ice Cream
Ranked #2 of 13 Dessert in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Newport, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So good we went back a few days later!”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

If you enjoy fresh, homemade ice cream, do yourself a favor and DO NOT pass this place by!! It was delicious, with many flavors to choose from. There are a few ice cream places to choose from, but I went by the reviews on Trip Advisor, and chose this place. I am so glad we did!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    35
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Williamstown, wv
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yum”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We check out several ice cream places looking for the best. In our opinion MDI on the village green topped them all.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marc Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yes it is as good as they say”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

On my visit to Maine I had read up on must-have food places. This was on the list for icecream. I thought could it really be that good? Well yes it is. If you are in Bar Harbor, in the main center, there will be many ice cream places... make the walk and wait to go to Mt. Desert. It's a few blocks (walking distance) away from the main area but worth it. You won't regret it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SunNSea319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Ice Cream!”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

If you are in or near Bar Harbor do not miss this ice-cream place! Some of the best ice-cream I have ever had! Hard to choose what flavor after trying a few I ended up with the peanut butter and FI had Nutella - both were amazing. I make my own ice-cream at home so I am picky about it and this place will not disappoint! Great service, great choice of flavors and delicious ice-cream.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Try the cookies and Maine cream”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

This is now at the top of our places to visit when we come to Bar Harbor. Ice cream doesn't get better than this. We tried the cookies and cream, the bay of figs and the Belgian chocolate. All good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jcarleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Desert Island Ice Cream also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Mount Desert Island Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing