We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camping on the ocean is a unique experience!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mt Desert Narrows Camping Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2009

Our family of four camped on the ocean at site T20 as suggested in the reviews. Our girls ages 8 and 11 enjoyed exploring on the rocks and seaweed and watching the tide come in. We found dead crab shells, blue mussels, whelks, ... They arranged it so we did not have anyone occupying the 2 neighboring campsites and it seemed quite spacious. If you go on a busy weekend, the T20 site may be quite narrow for all your stuff. The pool was fabulously warm with 2 slides and playground equipment next door! The employees were very nice and helpful! There was bits of litter and spaghetti on the ground of our site. We had to drive to the restroom, but there were portapotties near our site. The restrooms were clean and basic. Never crowded. The campground was quiet at night. We would stay there again and next time rent their kayaks.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisaandDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 238 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2007

We just returned from our stay at Mt. Desert Narrows Campground and besides tenting in the rainy weather, we were pleasantly surprised by the campground. The campground is very family friendly. There are nightly activities including hayrides, ice cream socials, a magic show and a family craft night for young children. We missed the ice cream social but the magician was clever and one of our teenagers was amused by it. There is a gentleman that comes around every morning to hand you the daily newspaper for free. There is a small playground as well as a pool. The pool is on the small side with the deep end going to 5' deep. It also does not have a lifeguard. Children under 13 need to be supervised to go in. There is a sundry shop where the office is but the prices are rather high. Wood for your campfire is rather costly at the campground. We opted to go into town and bought bundles of wood for 2.00 each instead of the 5.75 we paid the first night. There are a lot of road side stands selling wood so there should be no problem in finding any. There are many porta-potties around the campsite areas as well. The campground is very good about keeping them clean. The bathhouses are clean as can be expected from a campground. The showers are free and we didn't have any problem with water pressure or having a hot shower at all. There are many sites at this campground but we thought the sites were rather close together. The size of the tent sites varies a lot from very large to somewhat small. Each site has a fire ring and a picnic table. We had site T-20 right along the water and the views were beautiful. There are lots of trees and shade and this site gave us plenty of room for our large tent and a screen house which we put over the picnic table. Sites away from the shore were very grassy and on level ground. The campground allows pets as long as they are leashed. There were many RV sites but note that you will be extremely close to your neighbor! It just seemed that there was no privacy for those who had RV's. For those looking for a remote camping experience, you will at times hear the traffic on Route 3 and small engine planes from the airport across the water. For us, the location was perfect as we really enjoyed knowing that Bar Harbor and the local Walmart were only about 15 minutes away. We would definitely stay at Mt. Desert Narrows again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank gogo1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2006

We camped with our pop-up at one of this campgrounds waterfront sites. If I had to pass along only one thing about this campsite, it would be that the campsites are VERY VERY close to each other. When I say that I literally could have reached out and touched my neighbor's RV while laying in bed in my pop-up. Sitting by the fire ring, we were about 10 feet from our neighbors on each side. The attached picture shows TWO sites to the right of ours after our neighbors left. The picnic table right next to the camper is NOT ours!! It was our neighbor's. There really is no reason they had to put the sites this close together, except that the owners are obviously trying to rake in the cash. To make matters worse, the campground put my family, who was camping in a pop-up, between 2 giant RVs that ran their A/C all night and watched movies and TV until the wee hours. When I checked in, I even asked the desk person if she could tell me what kind of rig was in the adjacent sites, she said "oh, I don't have that information." C'mon lady, are you kidding? You've got the computer monitor right in front of you! I only can conclude that she answered in that way because she did not want me to know how mismatched our site placement was. It left a bad taste in my mouth. On the whole, the campground is kept clean and orderly. The bathrooms are spartan (what do you expect, it's camping!) but, despite the fact that some people are total slobs, kept fairly clean. The campground runs some decent evening family programs (magician, "Elvis" appearance, movie night, arts and crafts), which my kids (13, 10, 8) enjoyed. Also, the pool is small but heated. The prices in the camp "store" (basic minimums only) are overpriced but if youve spent any time camping, you expect that. Finally, the scenery and hiking opportunities on this island (the entrance to Acadia is about 5 minutes by car from the campsite and there also is a free natural gas powered shuttle that stops at the campsite and will take you all over the park) are exceptional. If you are coming to Acadia to camp, I recommend checking out the national park sites - less expensive, much (much) more secluded. The only down side is that the campground in the national park does not have shower facilities but there is a private shower house facility just outside the park. If you can deal with that, it's a no-brainer, go with the federal park.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Normand L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stephans812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Josee100776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank famillecaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bar Harbor
1.8 mi away
Narrows Too Camping Resort
4.3 mi away
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
5.8 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
7 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,774 reviews
7.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#5 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt Desert Narrows Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Desert Narrows Camping Resort

Address: 1219 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7140
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $25 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 206
Also Known As:
Mount Desert Narrows Camping Hotel Bar Harbor
Mt Desert Narrows Camping Resort Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing