We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mt Desert Narrows Camping Resort
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

10-15 minutes to town, 15-20 minutes to Acadia National Park. We did not have a water view per se but it was close enough to the water to have outstanding views - especially of the sunset. Site relatively level. Kids enjoyed the pool. Staff was helpful. We would definitely stay at this campsite again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daphnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    58
    35
    16
    7
See reviews for
80
63
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We have been coming to this area and the campground for 7 years now. Since its been bought by Encore it has gone down hill. The staff was friendly but very lazy as the grass on our site had not been mowed for several weeks and we stayed for 10 days. The fire pits were not cleaned out since the last campers were on the site and it made it very hard to light a fire I hadf to do myself. I visited the restrooms only once and found two of the three toilets not working. The store hrs were 9-5 however on two different occasions we went to the store shortly after 9am and found the door locked. They never opened till after 9:15 am.We had neighbors for 5 nights and they're RV was within 2 FT of my RV very very close. The View from our site was great, alittle over grown but Ok. This used to be a nice place to camp.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whyhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Well situated on Mt Desert Island. Our site was clean and relatively level. The view from site 37 is wonderful. Unfortunately we had very noisy neighbors talking until 2 am and unfortunately the management did do anything to enforce their own rules. The rest rooms could have been in better shape. Wifi availability throughout the campround rather than a hotspot would be a welcomed improvement.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanBoy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I just got home from a five-night stay at Mt Desert Narrows. I had a tent site, T22, and my brother and his family had a waterfront hookup site. The views from my site were fantastic; from my brother's (I forget which number) were great but there were a bunch of trees blocking the view a bit. When I first got there, there was a site near mine with a large, barking dog, and no people. The dog barked for a really long time and since dogs were not supposed to be left unattended and this dog clearly had been for a very long time, I called the office. Maintenance staff was down at the site within 5 minutes of my call, and they ended up calling the dog owners to come attend to him. I was very impressed with their response. For the person who commented that they couldn't reach anyone after the office closed, there were signs in the bathrooms with the onsite people's camp site numbers listed in case they needed to be reached...

Everything seemed very clean, though they need some lighting outside the bathrooms, and it would be nice if there were lights at the pool so that it could be open longer.

I found it to be pretty quiet after quiet hours began, except for the slamming portapotty doors (don’t people realize how loud those are, and how easy it is to actually close them instead of letting them slam?). Quiet hours start at 10, and most people really seemed to quiet down at that time.

Island Explorer (free shuttle) picks up and drops off right at campground entrance, picks up every half hour, and was very convenient so that we could avoid the hassle of parking in Bar Harbor during busy times when it's hard to find parking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan12369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billerica, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I am giving the campround an average rating. It was ok for what we needed, a base camp to enjoy the beautiful state of maine. With that said, we have 3 kids and they found the campground completely boring.The pool was extremely cloudy( we have a pool at home and it didnt look good to me so the kids didnt go in it) , the "playground" was outdated, but there was a BB net so that was good. And it is on the water BUT you really cant access it to enjoy.The views were pretty though. The store staff /checkin are very nice and cheerful. BUT>There was a problem about 930 pm one night where some teenagers broke a bath house window, and there was a huge sharp pain of glass sticking out of an outside sink that was NOT lit up very well, No staff could be found. I was afraid someone was going to reach in and get cut bad, so i called encore hoping they would have an emergency # , they said We are in Fl, we dont know how to reach them either. KINDA crazy huh? Cant reach anyone at 930 pm? What if you had a major prob with something???Anyway, Not our worst campground BUT def not our best either. Average.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicole1172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed in Site 139. Full sun still the mid afternoon. Site was big most others were too. Playgrounds could use some updating. Low water pressure. Pool was like bath water. No one came around to tell us the fire has to be out. Which was nice. Campground noise level was quiet for the amount of people that were there. Dogs welcome but most be cleaned up after and on leashes. We had sight of the bay until another camper pulled in front of us.They recycle but not paper. Dumpsters were emptied twice during our 6 day stay. Bathrooms were clean. Never look in the showers so can't comment on them. They at least 2 shower/bath houses with a place to wash dishes outside if you need to use it. They do have honey pot service for $25 need to tell the office by 10am if you want to be on the water. They also have 2 dump station. A little pricey- if you stay for 7 days the 7th day is free. There is also free shuttle service all around the park run by the island that runs every 1/2 hour.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ltlhmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, VA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Without knowing very much about the area, I chose this campground. I wish I had known much more about what my actual waterfront choices on Mt Desert Island were. We stayed in slot 87, the 2nd highest price point.
PROS:
Clean campground. Pool if we had wanted it. Plenty of showers close to us. Tree'd wide spot, and very long. Shuttle bus stop, close to Acadia NP entrance.
CONS:
I wanted a waterfront spot so when on the phone with ENCORE reservations, he noted two different price points. He did not know the difference between the two, but, on the map, both were on the water so he suggested the cheaper one. We get here and we are indeed on the water, but our view was blocked by bushes or shrubs about six feet tall. We had to be way back on our site to see the water. To add insult to injury, our fire ring was right up against the shrubs so when we decided to build a fire, we couldn't sit all around the ring and were starring at bushes. We tried to move the ring but it was secured to the ground. I asked to get it moved and the bushes trimmed, but no response.
This is what happens when reservation centers are not on site, and are not involved personally with the campsite.
After driving around, I would have stayed on one of the sounds on the west side, or at a place that was owned and run by locals.

Room Tip: Pay extra for great views along the water-sites 88 and higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EduTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bar Harbor
1.5 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#20 of 41 in Bar Harbor
327 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
5.8 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,243 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
589 reviews
1.8 mi away
Narrows Too Camping Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt Desert Narrows Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Desert Narrows Camping Resort

Property: Mt Desert Narrows Camping Resort
Address: 1219 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7140
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 206
Also Known As:
Mount Desert Narrows Camping Hotel Bar Harbor
Mt Desert Narrows Camping Resort Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing