We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“typical great b&b”
Review of Hearthside B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hearthside B&B
Ranked #2 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2012

my husband and i stayed here just one night for a mini getaway. we wished we could have stayed longer! it is a great old house with interesting detail. it feels very homey, cozy, comfortable. the pillows and beds were very comfy. our bathroom was down the hall, but we never saw anyone in the hall. loved our room. it was small, but very clean. had nice freebie samples for us on the dresser. yummy breakfast (cinnamon muffins, raisin french toast, fruit smoothie). loved that we could come and go as we pleased. very convenient location. we parked in the little parking lot and walked everywhere downtown. nice owners. highly recommend this place. (not if you are looking for modern and spacious, though, which i never am when i go to a bed and breakfast!)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kami3Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (515)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 515 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed at Hearthside for 4 nights. Since our main objective in Bar Harbor was to spend time in the town and the part, we went for the lowest-priced rooms they had. Both rooms and attached bathrooms were immaculate, and nicely decorated. Typical of an older building, they were a bit small, but cozy. The rooms did not have TVs, but with so many things to do in the area, all we ever used the rooms for were sleeping and cleaning up. The wireless internet was good. Our daughter was able to watch NetFlix streaming on her iPad, but later at night several others must have had the same idea, and the bandwidth was exceeded. The rooms are also well lit, which is good for reading.

Hearthside is one block off of Cottage Street, one of the main streets for everything in Bar Harbor. I have several other postings on the restaurants and activities. Once you get there, you can pretty much part the car. We liked walking in the downtown area and the beach trail. We were also a short walk to the harbor, where we did several boat tours. The location is very quiet, and we slept great every night. They give you a good intro to Bar Harbor when you arrive.

My final comment is the breakfast. I have stayed at many hotels and B&Bs all over the world in my life, and their breakfast is the best. It is excellent, prepared on site to order, and plentiful. Coffee is excellent. They even have a Keurig machine in the late afternoon and evening. They had breads or cakes every day, and cookies in the afternoon. You can stay there two weeks and never have the same breakfast. I have to eat gluten-free, and they accommodated my needs better than we do at home, including gluten-free breads, English muffins for eggs benedict, waffles, and cookies in the afternoon.

In summary, this was a great place, and we plan to repeat next time we spend a few days in Bar Harbor.

Room Tip: Use the website in seleting a room. The descriptions are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Highly recommend this Bar Harbor B&B for service, cleanliness, and EXCELLENT location. Easy short walk to nearby Bar Harbor shops and restaurants located on a lovely quiet side street. The lack of traffic and quiet location made it easy to sleep with open windows and enjoy cool breeze. Totally enjoyed our stay and the Inn Keepers made us feel very welcome.

Room Tip: Romeo and Juliet very large comforable room on 2nd floor - quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Forks56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We were lucky enough to chance upon the Hearthside through reviews on this and other sites. Susan and Barry are fun, funny, informative and helpful. We stayed four nights in Romeo and Juliet, a great big room with en suite dressing room and bathroom. It was comfortable and spacious. Our last night we changed rooms and stayed in Emily Dickenson, another spacious room though the bathroom isn't as large and has less storage. The breakfasts were filling and delicious and the hosts make every effort to accommodate diet. If we return to Bar Harbor, we will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Both rooms had different levels of noise from the street; neither was bad. If you have a choice, ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I almost hate spreading the word about this place because I have a tough enough time getting reservations as it is... :) As always, Susan & Barry never disappoint! Whether it's recommendations on hiking trails or helping make dinner reservations or serving up their rocking homemade breakfast. Their home is gorgeous with lots of character - each room has a uniqueness to them (and its own private bathroom). They're reasonably priced and their breakfast alone makes it worth every penny! Can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvl_mama7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I have been coming to the Hearthside since our Honeymoon week in 1998 and could never imagine staying anywhere else. I actually stayed there with a friend of mine the first year they opened in 1987, and my experience was such that I always wanted to share it with my husband. Everytime we come to Bar Harbor we look forward to staying at the inn because not only are we well taken care of, but we are made to feel at home. The inn is warm and welcoming, the breakfasts are hearty and delicious, and keep you fueled for whatever activities you plan, the amenities are plentiful right down to the afternoon tea and snacks. For those who are in need, Wifi is included. Everything in town is within walking distance, and easy to navigate from where the inn is located. Barry and Susan are always knowledgeable about activities available, know some of the best hiking trails in Acadia, and have excellent recommendations as to where to find some of the best food in town. They have wicked senses of humor, and strive to make everyone feel like they are special.

Room Tip: We like Winston Churchill. There's a big comfy bed, large bathroom, fireplace, and a private po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NancyStoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

If you want to feel like you are at a "home away from home", this is the place. Barry and Susan do everything to accommodate and make you feel comfortable. Their B&B is comfortable and perfectly located to walk to area sights. The breakfast is plentiful and delicious as are the lemonade and cookies in the afternoon. The other guests were interesting, too.

We stayed in Queen Victoria, which was lovely, though as they state is small.

If ever in the area again, this is where we will head.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbwhitehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#31 of 41 in Bar Harbor
375 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.2 mi away
Stone Throw Cottage
Stone Throw Cottage
#5 of 30 in Bar Harbor
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Primrose Inn
Primrose Inn
#8 of 30 in Bar Harbor
504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mira Monte Inn
Mira Monte Inn
#12 of 30 in Bar Harbor
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hearthside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hearthside B&B

Address: 7 High St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1816
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $70 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hearthside Inn is a nine room B&B built at the turn of the century in 1907 and located on a quiet side street in town Bar Harbor. All rooms are decorated in victorian and traditional furnishings and offer private baths. Three rooms offer whirlpool tubs, three offer fireplaces for a chilly night and two offer private porches. Two rooms offer "detached private" baths and we provide soft cushy robes for your use during your stay with us. We include a fantastic full breakfast to start your day and home made afternoon treats with refreshments. Brian is a native to the island so he can help you with all the hiking and biking questions you may have to help you enjoy your visit while in beautiful Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Catherine is a native to Maine and make sure you check out her hand made soaps....they're very nice. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hearthside B&B Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing