We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place to stay in Bar Harbor”
Review of Snell House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Snell House
Reviewed June 2, 2010

We stayed here for our marriage anniversary. I will strongly recommend this place if you want to stay in a quiet place yet close to the restaurants. You can cook, save your left overs from a meal in the refrigerator and can be a tourist yet have a home like place to crash at night. Lovely place.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelbee15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 40 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2010

We stayed at Snell House for a few days while exploring Bar Harbor and Acadia. It was a great home base with easy parking close to downtown without dealing with all the traffic and congestion. Also, good price during the busy season for 3 friends traveling on a budget. We also would recommend the corner deli nearby with great blueberry pancakes that will pack up your lunch to take to the park for the day.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JS81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Snell House in early September and highly recommend it. It's located about two blocks off the main drag of Bar Harbor, which is a great location. Close enough to easily walk to the shops and restaurants, but quiet at night.

Our accommodations consisted of a large upstairs apartment, with a stove, kitchen appliances, queen bed and cable TV. Very clean, comfortable and convenient. Also has the advantage of being very reasonably priced by Bar Harbor standards. By comparison, the nondescript, cookie-cutter motel on the main drag was $20/night more expensive.

The hosts are extremely helpful. Our plans changed at the last minute, and we needed to extend our stay by one day. They were able to juggle around their reservations to make that possible. We also left a few items behind by mistake, and they mailed them to our home before we even knew they were missing.

The place to stay in Bar Harbor, in my opinion.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank niu72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2009

This is our second time staying at the Snell house and let me tell you it is truly like being home. Mary and Paul, the owners of Snell, are two of the nicest people you will ever meet. They are both very helpful and are always checking to make sure your stay is as pleasant and as comfortable as it can be.

Where the Snell House is located is so quiet and just a short walk from main st. The past two years have been very hectic and chaotic for us, so knowing that we can always come here to unwind and relax is just wonderful.

So if quiet, outdoor sports and friendly people are what you are looking for, then come to the Snell House!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buddymash09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2009

I go to Bar Harbor for a week every June. About five years ago, when the price of an "inexpensive" bed and breakfast topped $100, I started looking for a reasonably-priced alternative and found it in the Snell House. I stay in the Duplex which offers a full kitchen and loft bedroom - perfect for one or two people. Other apartments range from a small studio to a roomy two-bedroom. Paul and Mary, the owners, are helpful and congenial.

The Snell House is on a quiet dead-end street just a few blocks walk from the shops on Main Street and about a five minute drive to Acadia National Park. Save money by cooking in or check out the excellent restaurants in town or elsewhere on the island.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
Thank sarafelines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2008

We go up for Columbus Day weekend every year to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday. Instead of staying at a stuffy hotel, we wanted to rent an efficiency or suite, that way we could cook our meals if we wanted. And cutting our overall costs.

We booked Snell House and it was just perfect. Paul let us check in early, the room was beautiful and clean. Anything we needed was in the apartment. We had our own entrance, a deck and there was a gorgeous garden out back. And best of all, it was nearly silent there all of the time.

And... there rates are soooo reasonable! So much cheaper than any hotel in town and it was so much better.

It is just around the corner from the beautiful Shore Path and within a 2 block walking distance to Main St and Cottage St, which is the main drag where all the shops and restaurants are.

Since we were up for a birthday, the innkeepers surprised us with a bottle of sparkling wine and a card as a gift. How nice and thoughtful!

We will book here from now on, anytime we come up to Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank StellarD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2008

My husband, myself, and our 2 teen boys rented the Boys Room on the second floor for a week. The biggest great thing about Snell House is its location! We were astonished at how close to the downtown this house is. It is pretty much at the end of Atlantic Avenue, so it is about 1 block to Rte. 3. And then one-half to one block to the town square where all the shops are!

The shops are open until very late, so most evenings we ended up walking around there, getting ice cream, whatever. Atlantic Avenue itself has beautiful old homes all along the street, which made it a pleasure to walk home each night.

Snell House is the former house of Dr. George Snell, who won a Nobel Prize for his research at the Jackson Laboratory. There was information in the hallway where we could read about him, which made us feel privileged to be living in his home.

It is also only about 2 blocks to walk to the Shore Path. We felt like we were getting a secret bargain.

It has 2 very large bedrooms. Each has a dresser and a "comfy chair" (that wasn't all that comfy), bedside stands. One room has a built-in closet and double bed; the other has a stand-alone wardrobe, and a queen bed. The beds weren't the most comfortable--a little bony.

The boys decided to have one sleep in the bed while the other made the comfy chair into a bed where he could sleep. (Sheets and a blanket were provided for that purpose)

There is a very large bathroom, a hallway area, and then the kitchen. We considered it all to be very roomy and allowed us to have privacy from each other if we needed it.

The owners were so helpful and friendly, and available at any time--they live in the house behind Snell House. They have a lovely garden with flowers and vegetables, and we were encouraged to take things from the garden any time.

There was a TV in one of the bedrooms, with cable. At home, we have no cable, and so this is one thing we enjoy on vacation, but we all had to sit on the bed and the one comfy chair to do it, which wasn't all that great.

Wi-fi was available, and worked most of the time.

I would recommend this apartment for those who have allergy troubles. There was no mold smell, very little fragrance on the sheets and blankets, no pet smell. We also have food allergies (gluten), and so we did a lot of our own cooking and baking. The kitchen worked extremely well for us: regular-size refrigerator, small stove and oven, sink, pots and pans, etc. are all there. (Being gluten free DID mean that we had to bring a lot of our own pots and utensils, even though these were all provided at the apartment)

One thing we were concerned about: there is no air conditioning, and we were on the second floor. The day we arrived, it was 85, and pretty warm up there. But there are 2 large fans, and we would sit these by the windows or the patio door of the kitchen, and it would cool down fairly well. The weather cooled down soon after we arrived, so we were OK, but I'm not sure I would have been happy if the weather had stayed hot.

I would definitely recommend Snell House!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GayeofPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
3.2 mi away
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
0.2 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,775 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#5 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,387 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#32 of 41 in Bar Harbor
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snell House

Address: 21 Atlantic Ave, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1703
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Bar Harbor
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Snell House Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing