We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time at Stone Throw Cottage”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stone Throw Cottage
Ranked #2 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Great time at Stone Throw Cottage”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Had a great time; rooms and food were great. Hospitality was outstanding. What a joy it was to learn about the area from the owners who are truly on top of their game! We'd recommend and would definitely return to Stone Throw Cottage.

Room Tip: The innkeepers and their daughter were delightful! Their recommendations were spot-on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
203
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Torino di Sangro, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2014

The cottage was very clean and comfortable. When we arrived owners welcomed us so kindly thay we soon felt us at home. I definitely recommend it!
Rooms have different colors and floreal themes. Bathroom has hydromassage

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonicaMua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2014

My husband and I were visiting a relative in Maine and planned a drive through of Bar Harbor. However, once we got there, we decided we needed more time and looked for a place to stay. We were driving down the street and noticed this adorable little inn. We stopped and found out they had a room available. I mentioned that I have celiac disease and wondered if they could accommodate me for breakfast. As it turns out, they are very familiar with the gluten-free diet and prepared a sumptious breakfast for me. Kim and Jerry couldn't have been nicer. I only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My son and I were on a road trip last August. Our B&B previously booked was disappointing so we were desperate to find alternative arrangements. We found Stone Throw in Bar Harbor, Maine and ended up being absolutely delighted. The decor of the B&B is like something out of the pages of Laura Ashley. The amenities...pillows, comforters, soaps, etc. that making staying somewhere so enjoyable were top notch. The location was perfect for strolling up the street and being right in the middle of the harbor area where all of the shops, restaurants, and harbor are located. The owners, Jerry and Kim, were delightful, warm-hearted, and so interesting to talk to. I couldn't believe when they said they were new to the B&B industry because they seemed so calm and knowledgable. The B&B is immaculate, the breakfast was delicious, the front porch as well as backyard are sweet and relaxing, and the family dog is adorable. I would definitely stay at this B&B again. In fact, I have a complete write up and photos available for viewing on my award-winning blog, "Thyme" at rileymadel(dot)blogspot(dot)com Just go under "thymes of travel" and click on Stone Throw Cottage

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahofThyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeeland, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed at the Stone Throw Cottage last Aug. and had a fantastic experience. Nice, clean, and friendly. The service was the best! My husband even received a special made breakfast entree when it was discovered that he did not care for blueberries. The grounds were beautiful with porches overlooking the gardens. It was an easy walk into town, which helped us avoid the traffic and parking hassles. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed two nights of a two week vacation in New England at Stone Throw Cottage, and I can honestly say it was the best place we stayed at. Highlights were the breakfasts, which were wonderfully inventive, and the afternoon chats with Kim and Jerry and other guests over tea and cake. A welcoming break from the bustle of Bar Harbour. If we return to these parts we will undoubtedly try to stay again. Our room was cosy and the bathroom lovely. The location is great, a short walk from downtown Bar Harbour.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We spent a long weekend in Bar Harbor and were very happy with Stone Throw Cottage. Our beautiful room and the nice breakfast area, the awesome home-cooked breakfast and afternoon snacks and welcoming and very helpful hosts made our stay perfect!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fuega09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,324 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
652 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#27 of 41 in Bar Harbor
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,691 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#11 of 41 in Bar Harbor
361 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Throw Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Throw Cottage

Property: Stone Throw Cottage
Address: 67 Mount Desert St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1327
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Bar Harbor, the Stone Throw Cottage Inn provides a peaceful, welcoming sanctuary for you to enjoy during your stay here on Mt. Desert Island. Enjoy the classic elegance of one of our seven comfortable guest rooms. Each with a queen or king size bed, attached bath with whirlpool tub and shower, AC and a delicious, full breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Stone Throw Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Throw Cottage Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing