We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unbelievable breakfast”
Review of 2 cats

2 cats
Ranked #8 of 143 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rockaway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“unbelievable breakfast”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

If you like good, all natural food and aren't afraid to pay for it...this is your place. Freshly squeezed orange juice...thats actually freshly squeezed, not Tropicana fresh OJ!! Same for the grapefruit juice too!! Fresh fruit on the french toast was incredible, and even my organic tea was amazing. We also had pancakes and the most amazing bacon!!! Great place, we ate here 1 time in the week we stayed. Well worth it, just bring your wallet!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Indiggonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    771
    384
    111
    43
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Naugatuck, Connecticut
Level Contributor
174 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Spot”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Fantastic food and coffee. Great staff. Since they do not take reservations I do note that some have been frustrated by the wait. We go in the off seasons (spring & fall) so lines are non existent. Our breakfasts are always first rate.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A favorite”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

2 Cats is one of our favorite breakfast spots when we're on Mt. Desert Is. We always try to get here at least once a visit. Great atmosphere especially out on the deck, attentive and friendly staff, and consistently good food make for a delightful experience each time we dine here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nickanath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Why eat anywhere else? Diversity of menu makes it easy”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Our friend suggested she could eat her every day---& we did! Three days in a row & not one of the four of us was disappointed. You can put together sides to have a small meal of your favorites which is good if you only want one blueberry pan ale. Loved the eggs Benedict on potato instead of muffin & they did my medium well poached egg perfectly. Split with my husband & they did each egg to our liking. Loved the special cat muffin thing-- reminded me of crumb coffe cake disguised as muffin. Wish they had recipe! We got there about 8. , so didn't have to wait. One complaint-- my latte in glass mug chilled down quickly when we sat outside

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great breakfast place”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

ate there twice and found the food both times was better then good it was great. missed the live cats both times but they have a sculpture of 2 cats by the entrance. gave us real maple syrup at NC with blueberry pancakes ( which were great ) and based on size of container and prices some other restaurants charge extra for the syrup it was about $100.00 worth of syrup
well worth a try and the wait was not that bad - not to busy first visit and crowded the 2nd time
Lulu gave us great service. I saw her run out of the place to catch up with a family whose little girl had left something at their table - nice job on her part

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 2 cats also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to 2 cats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing