We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast in Bar Harbor and Beyond”
Review of 2 cats

2 cats
Ranked #10 of 146 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $38
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in Bar Harbor and Beyond”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I am not going to say anything that hasn't been said already. Very popular and very busy so if you are there in the summer get there early or wait until lunch. Biscuits - best ever. Breakfast Burrito, am I in Maine or Mexico....too hard to tell. Fresh squeezed oj is what they should give to every person who arrives in Florida to remind everyone how awesome oranges can be if they want to be. Never had a bad meal here. Waitstaff tends to be on the hipster side without the hipster attitude...so I don't know if they can be called hipsters!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NHIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    799
    400
    117
    44
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
ak
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Well, we don't really know how the other food was, but we drove to this place for our daily am coffee when we woke up because our motel coffee was lacking. it's somewhat pricey but strong and that's how we like it :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank NHhenlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very good food, service a bit slow”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Had breakfast here. Food was superb, service attentive, but don't go if you're in a hurry. Everything made to order, I suppose all good things take time. Also, stay away if you're allergic to cats; there's a reason it's called Two Cats.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank rotharch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“2 Cats is 2 Cool!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

2 Cats uses fresh ingredients and prepares breakfast in a remarkable way. Enjoyed the sweet potatoes with my eggs benedict and my husband thought the blueberry pancakes were phenomenal. The orange juice was memorable too!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethTy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tabby8517
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome breakfast in Bar Harbor!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My friend, her daughter, and I went here on a Thursday morning around 9:30am and didn't have to wait for a table though the hostess was not the friendliest person I've even met and almost sounded annoyed that a table was actually available for us. But we were seated and served promptly. The ambiance was good with tables spread out in different rooms and our server was very good.

I ordered an omelette with vegetables, my friend's daughter ordered the Ho Hum, and my friend got the lobster omelette. The omelettes were fabulous! There was an amazing amount of lobster and the flavor was decadent and out of this world - I guess lobster really will go on anything! We also all loved the tasty biscuits with strawberry butter. We all agree that 2 Cats is one of the best breakfast places we've ever eaten.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tabby8517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 2 cats also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to 2 cats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing