We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Reel Pizza & Reel Movies” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reel Pizza Cinerama

Reel Pizza Cinerama
Ranked #27 of 143 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Reel Pizza & Reel Movies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Being a resident of Bar Harbor, one of the highlights of living in town is being able to visit "Reel Pizza" and often having an unforgettable experience. I'm hard-of-hearing, so I'm always grateful that they show many foreign films and they do have listening devices. My favorite pizza is the "Moonstruck", an Italian four-cheese pizza.

Each pizza named after a movie and the admission price is only six dollars. They do show rare films that come from Sundance and Cannes, along with Hollywood blockbusters. They have couches and armchairs as their seats along with small tables. They even have an intermission too, to get more pizza or another drink without missing the movie. If you get stuck between the moon and Bar Harbor, the best thing you can do is visit Reel Pizza. I've been moonstrucked to have the pizza again!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    51
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Such a fun, original concept!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

If you are expecting a clean, classy, non-shabby establishment, this is not the place for you.

If you like quirky, local, fun and memorable experiences, then you should consider spending an evening here.

Basically the concept is this: you pay $6 (insanely cheap - we are used to paying $13 a movie) to watch a new release movie (in our case, Frankenweenie) in an old room that feels agesssssss away from the megaplexes that most of us are used to watching movies at. You can choose to sit on old, ratty couches, and bring a foldable TV dinner style tray-thing to put your snacks on, or in movie theatre style seats (that are obviously not in the 'best' shape ever), where you have a sort of counter in front of you where you can place your food, beverages and snacks. And beyond having the usual popcorn, candy, nachos and chips (all at cheaper prices than the big movie theatres) at the concession counter, you can also order a full-on PIZZA, available with a huge array of toppings, including a number of more "exotic" ones. The toppings and choices of pizza are amazing, and the pizza itself is quite good. When your pizza is ready, a bingo board in the theatre lights up your number, and you pop out to get it. Really fun!

So if you are able to overlook the fact that this place could indeed use some housekeeping, it is such a fabulous and fun activity, totally original, not that expensive, with some pretty good pizza. We had dinner there AND saw a movie for less than any of our meals in Bar Harbor.

Really a fun evening! I'm sure if you had kids they would love it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MTLbears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good pizza,”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Needs some housekeeping.
Pizzza was good, wine was allright.
Sofas were fun.
Staff had a birthday party, patrons did not.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JUdyrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a great concept!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Who wouldn't rather have a slice of awesome pizza and a beer while watching a movie.

Great staff great food and entertainment.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Melbarsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iheartadam
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A must do with family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

We took my 16 year old sister and 7 year old son. They thought it was so neat to eat pizza and watch a movie. The 2 min intermission was a nice touch. And so far even with the ticket price it was our cheapest dinner in Bar Harbor. I liked the taste of the pizza, but my husband thought it was mediocre.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank iheartadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reel Pizza Cinerama also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Reel Pizza Cinerama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing