We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Thai place, good service”
Review of SIAM Orchid

SIAM Orchid
Ranked #73 of 144 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average Thai place, good service”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The place serves average Thai food, but the service is attentive and fast (considering the laidback attitude I experienced at most places). Also, since most of the island is eager to feed you Lobster, this was a tasty change. Moreover, in our group of 6, 3 friends were vegetarian and Lobster places definitely have very little to serve them except fries and onion rings!
I went here for Lunch on a hot afternoon, and it was equally warm inside. There are fans, but are ineffective as this place is open towards the entrance and does not have ACs.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TrotTripTip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    49
    25
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Food was excellent. Will be back on our next visit. Service was great. Waiter was knowledgeable about the menu and helpful. Drunken noodle was great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adaigle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Laid back, friendly and fast”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Owner was friendly and very casual. Only a few people there when we started and the place started to fill up though and still everything was fine. Could see though if there was a big rush , they didn't seem to have the staff to accommodate. Food was alright, a little too much oil and noodles a bit mushy. Basic and fast and the price was average.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarthalemewL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, Maine
1 review
“Thai, Thai, Thai!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Excellent food and great service. The Pad Thai scallops were amazing and my spouse's Cashew Nut Chicken was delectable.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank GPB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Food is excellent”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is the only place in this area that i will eat sushi! It's the first place i ever ate Sushi! And the owner is the bomb!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crazyladie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SIAM Orchid also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to SIAM Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing