We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food with an Italian flair”
Review of Mama DiMatteo's

Mama DiMatteo's
Ranked #57 of 143 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Saint Marys, GA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food with an Italian flair”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The food here is good, with lots of pasta options, using uncommon seafood twists. It might be nice to add a few with Arborio rice instead of pasta for those who cannot eat gluten.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Antoinette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    83
    35
    11
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
74 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“So-so...”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We ate here on a Friday night, and reservations are a must! Ours were honored immediately upon our arrival.We had the crab-stuffed mushrooms as an appetizer, and found them very average and very small. I had the tomato basil soup and a salad and found it good. A member of our party had pasta with vodka sauce and said it was good. Another had a steak and said it was "okay," and yet another had the spaghetti carbonara and said it was the worst he had ever eaten. There is nothing that really sets this restaurant apart...service was nothing to write home about, and prices were in line with comparable restaurants in Bar Harbor. We will likely not return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
1 review
“Mama DiMatteo's The Best in Bar Harbor”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My wife and I have been vacationing in Bar Harbor for decades and patronizing Mama's since it opened 26 years ago. With a multitude of restaurants to choice from, we have tried them all but always wind up back at Mama's several times during our ten day vacations. Eric has a diverse menu and a flare for combining ingredients to produce an outstanding flavor. During our last visit last week, we had the last two orders of their special spinach and lobster lasagna...wow!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Food good, service good atmosphere so-so.”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

A very nice find on our trip to MDI. The host and waiter were both super friendly and helpful. We both enjoyed or meals. Our mussels appetizer was quite excellent. As others have noted the decor is a little off putting but not not enough for me to not recommend Mama DeMatteos. I think you will be pleased if you try it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank streepoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We left before we ordered”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The menu looked fantastic and we were excited about the restaurant until we walked in at 5'ish and realized we were the only people there. When looking over the menu we noticed a very odd - not so nice - smell. We chose to leave. However the waiter was very nice and friendly - sorry he didn't get a chance for a tip.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ccubed42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama DiMatteo's also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Mama DiMatteo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing