We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Sunday Brunch in Downtown Bar Harbor”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe This Way

Cafe This Way
Ranked #4 of 143 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mid Coast Maine, Maine
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious Sunday Brunch in Downtown Bar Harbor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

We were looking for a place to eat last Sunday in downtown Bar Harbor. While there are many restaurants on the street, we followed a sign into parking for Cafe This Way down a side street. We had a delicious, cooked to order Sunday brunch--I had a special omelet with bacon, portobello mushrooms and grilled fennel bulbs--my wife had McThisWay sandwich in an Engliss muffin. The porch is dog friendly, which Riley appreciated, and the service is pleasant and quick. We chatted with the interesting people at the next table--they were locals who confirmed that Cafe This Way is one of the very best places in town. Highly recommended. They ordinarily serve breakfast and dinner.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harpswell67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,030 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,281
    547
    146
    46
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Paris, ME
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Glad we went "this way"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

While vacationing in Bar Harbor with my granddaughters, and being a rainy morning, we wanted a good, warm feeling breakfast. We found it at Café This Way. GREAT service, excellent eggs "over easy" and French Toast to die for. The atmosphere was uplifting and friendly. Definitely a do again

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank weeza65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
105 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Delightful Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

My blueberry pancakes were more blueberries than pancake. Just delicious. Wide menu and great for pre-hike loading.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nick141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, cute setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

I like how there is a nice patio to wait on while waiting for a table. You can get coffee and muffins while waiting (I didn't take advantage of that.)
My husband and I each got an omelette and potatoes. All was amazing including the toast. Coffee was great too! Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day and this was a hit!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lpanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nacogdoches, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic breakfasts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

This little cafe hidden down a lane offers great food at reasonable prices. The waitstaff are very friendly and make you feel at home instantly. The decor is fun and a little funky - definitely not a chain!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank zaphoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe This Way also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Cafe This Way? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing