We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved out visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe This Way

Cafe This Way
Ranked #4 of 143 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Murrysville, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved out visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

It was a quick trip for lunch and we were very pleased. The food arrived hot and was delicious, so we plan to visit it again on our next visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Coral M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,027 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,279
    546
    146
    46
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

This is a regular stop in Bar Harbor. The blueberry pancakes couldn't be better. They are filled with juicy Maine blueberries.The dinner menu has fresh
lobster and homemade side dishes. The service is excellent, the atmosphere cheerful. A great dining experience.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank 60811Traveler626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Blueberry Pancakes in town!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Many breakfast places in Bar Harbor serve blueberry pancakes, most of them are delicious, but my #1 place to get blueberry pancakes is "Cafe This Way". This small place is run by two former College of Atlantic students, who put their food knowledge and business skills to good use. The menu has a wonderful breakfast selection, but I recommend the blueberry pancakes. The pancakes have all-natural and Maine blueberries and are very thin. They're almost like crepes, which is what makes them stand out from all the other pancakes in town.

The crowd is usually a mix of families and young people, such as College of Atlantic students or young folks who have come to the island to hike or kayak. They have a small bar where you can sit in the morning and enjoy a good selection of coffee drinks, while participating in some good morning conversations.

I love their dinning area with the old antiques books, which customers can look through while eating. If you're alone, you can always enjoy a cup of coffee with Annie of the Green Gables or Moby Dick. Also, the walls are filled with various paintings of flowers and other nature related things.

If it's the summer, go early in the morning, so you can avoid a long wait. I promise your trip will not be a let down with their wonderful food and service. :D

Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
112 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Kid-Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We wanted a nice meal for our first night in Bar Harbor and Cafe This Way was a great choice. The food was outstanding and they had a nice selection of regional beers. They also did really well with kids and had a nice kids menu and even a basket of toys and books to help keep them occupied.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Allison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swarthmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Choice for Breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We've been up to Bar Harbor numerous times, and we always find ourselves back at Cafe this Way. It's hands down the best breakfast in Town! From the killer fresh Baked Blueberry muffins, to awesome pancakes and Burrito's, it's as good as it gets. The only down side? Everyone knows this already, and be prepared for a short wait- they do move things along quickly though!
As for dinner, it's really almost as good. One of the more reasonable places to eat for dinner, and a nice diverse menu that has something for everyone! We always enjoy coming to Cafe this Way, and wish we had one back in Philadelphia!! Should not be missed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dude_and_Dudas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe This Way also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Cafe This Way? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing