We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Food and Unique Menu”
Review of Cafe This Way

Cafe This Way
Ranked #3 of 143 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
NJ
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome Food and Unique Menu”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I ended up eating here three times last week (and I am the type of person that prefers not to repeat). The vegan omelette was so good I had to have it again. The room is warm and cozy and Erin provided excellent service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JerseyDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,042 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,288
    551
    147
    46
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northern VA
Level Contributor
151 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast in a quirky setting.”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Great place for breakfast. Reasonable prices. The place fills up, so go early.

We had the following:

Drinks:
Hot Chocolate
Selection of teas

Main Courses:
Granola with yogurt with fruit - fresh and crunchy
Blueberry pancakes - the local favorite done well
Vegetable eggs benedict with home fries - the best eggs benedicts in the area. The sauce is done well

$27.00 without tip

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank buffgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Vegan-friendly!”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We found this place through my Happy Cow app which tells me where I can find vegan food. I was nervous that with the name "cafe" in its name, it was going to be really casual and not a good place for a nice dinner with my husband - but it was a totally cute restaurant! There's cool artwork on the walls, bookshelves with old books, and a variety of different style tables (the first night we went there the table had glitter embedded into its design; the second night we went back we had a table with cartoons about Cafe This Way embedded into it!). The first night I got a dish with chickpeas, quinoa, butternut squash and tofu (tasty); the second night I got the Asian salad as a starter (it was huge - and so delicious) and the Bento plate (every bit of it was fantastic)! I also had sorbet for dessert the first night and that was very good.

We went back for breakfast our last morning in town and I got the tofu scramble. It was very similar in flavor to the flavors of the Bento plate - soy sauce flavored veggies mixed with the tofu. It was good but the only thing that made it feel breakfasty was that they mixed in some potatoes with it.

Vegan-friendly options are slim in Bar Harbor so if you're vegan or just looking for healthier food - check out Cafe This Way!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NickiPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma city
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Big Surprise”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This restaurant is conveniently located within a block or so from the main drag, but relatively hidden. Nevertheless, I have been told the the breakfast line is huge. Looks like a little house with a porch, much like a roadside lobster place, but is a big surprise inside with vaulted ceilings. Wonderful omelets. It is not open for lunch. At night, decor is subtly dressed up. Varied traditional menu- but refined. Small bar. I had excellent lamb. Reservations recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank willoscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmith, NH
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent breakfast”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We only ate breakfast here but is was great. Mant\y different options and all were excellent. I especially liked the omlets but the waffels and pancakes were also fabulous.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank April s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe This Way also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Cafe This Way? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing