We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast!”
Review of Cafe This Way

Cafe This Way
Ranked #4 of 144 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Titusville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I were on a mission to eat lobster at every meal while we were in Bar Harbor. So when we asked locals where to go for great Lobster Benedict they told us "Cafe This Way." We were not mislead. We found the food to be delightful, the service extremely fast and friendly. Definitely the place to go for a great breakfast!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynne v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,089 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,318
    565
    150
    46
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful for breakfast and dinner”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I had breakfast at the Cafe This Way one morning in mid September and then had dinner there a couple of days later. We found both meals excellent. For breakfast we had their egg-ham-homefries-blueberry pancake special ("The country breakfast"). The pancakes were more like crepes than like the typical fluffy sour-cream pancakes. They were filled with tasty blueberries and were delicious, as was the rest of the meal. Our server was friendly, professional, attentive and conveyed a welcoming, relaxed demeanor. He and the other staff circulated frequently with coffee, so our cups seldom got below half full. We got to the restaurant right when it opened at 7:00 AM, before the crowds arrived.
For dinner we started with a lobster tempura appetizer. The tempura was perfectly light and crisp, and we could taste the fresh lobster. Our main course was the pecan encrusted halibut. The fish was thick, fresh-tasting, and cooked perfectly. The sides of mashed potatoes and fall squash were excellent as well. We finished with a slice of very tasty blueberry pie with vanilla ice cream. Really, my wife and I agreed that this was one of the best meals that we've had in a long time. Our server, Erin, was helpful, friendly, and attentive. In all, we found this to be a first-rate restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frugal_senior1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“best breakfast in town”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

great place for breakfast. friendly staff, fast service, hugh portions and very tasty dishes. Whoever is looking for a breakfast place in Bar Harbor: go to Cafe This Way

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christoph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlsbad
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Not sure where to go with this”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Good solid food. It is tough, as there are only a few good Bfast places. You just have to go and see.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank CarlsbadJohn_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Quirky and Fabulous!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Cafe This Way is situated on a side street, but don't miss it. We had a hard time choosing from all the unique dishes, but decided upon the halibut and an amazing appetizer of fried brussels sprouts with pumpkin seeds, duck confit, mushrooms, sriracha, lime, and honey. The server was attentive and friendly, and the atmosphere is low key. Dress casually and enjoy menu items you won't find anywhere else.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank bethchr21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe This Way also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Cafe This Way? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing