We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Love the food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Street Cafe

West Street Cafe
Ranked #14 of 144 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hudson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love the food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We always eat here. Scallops are wonderful. Love the Cafe Delight. Service is good. Blueberry pie is wonderful.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ellen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    570
    399
    143
    28
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“We went twice in a row”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had a great time at the West Street Café. The lobster tails and broiled fish we ordered were excellent, the wait staff was very friendly and the atmosphere was very relaxed. We tried our very first Maine blueberry pie here and loved it. The local blueberry beer was special, too.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Essanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good lobster and lobster rolls!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My family and I enjoyed lunch at the West Street Cafe. My husband ordered a lobster and need a tutorial on how to eat it. The server was so nice to show him. My son and I enjoyed their lobster rolls. Nice atmosphere and good service!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bamasattic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“possibly my favorite meal ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Took a week long road trip through the US, as we do every summer, and the meal that we ate at the West Street Cafe was the highlight of the trip. The staff were great - enthusiastic, helpful, polite. The decor is so warm and relaxing. And the food... dear God... it is the stuff that dreams are made of. So inexpensive and so delicious... had the lobster & clam chowder meal with blueberry pie, and the husband had the lobster & mussels. Couldn't have asked for better.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank listophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My husband and I stopped in for the early bird down east special. We were not disappointed. Everything was fantastic. Loved their clam chowder and blueberry pie and of course the lobster was great. The service was quick and everyone was super friendly. This place is nothing to look at, but for a cheap delicious seafood meal I highly recommend it. Sit outside if you can – it’s a great area to people watch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Inferno2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Street Cafe also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to West Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing