We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food; creative beers”
Review of Rupununi American Bar and Grill - CLOSED

Rupununi American Bar and Grill
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Firefly Lane
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Average food; creative beers”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Many vegetarian options ... on the menu only.
I had to change my choice many times as some veggie entrées/sandwich were not available.

Food is good, nothing special.
Convenient location

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MooseJoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    78
    73
    43
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Delicious!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We ate outside, and their clam chowder and blueberry pie were so good that we made time later in our trip to go back and get some more!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 463Kim463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coopersburg
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice location, good food”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This restaurant is located right in the middle of Bar Harbor. Both outside and inside seating available. Food was good, bit pricey, but typical for location. Service was a bit slow, our server seemed to forget about us. Lots of seafood dishes, great salads.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElaineB6509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Connecticut, USA
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location, average food and service.”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Ate there July 5th because it was the first restaurant we walked by after parking. Sat on the patio which was a great setting. Service was on the slow side and the food we ate was average. They probably can get away with it because of their location but I would not eat there again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Nice cafe setting in downtown BH”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Visited for lunch and sat outside. Lots of people walking by during July 4th holiday making for a fun atmosphere.

Ordered the buffalo chicken sandwich and the haddock sandwich. Both tasted decent. No complaints, but nothing special. A good number of micro brews were offered and the beer we ordered was cold.

Waitstaff was friendly and fast. Pricing was reasonable considering the location of the restaurant (right smack downtown). Parking is downtown Bar Harbor parking which can be either very easy or very hard depending on when you go.

We would go again, but there are so many good restaurants in BH, if you want something a little off the beaten path, I'd look elsewhere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NHAnimator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rupununi American Bar and Grill also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing