We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and great food!”
Review of Poor Boy's Gourmet

Poor Boy's Gourmet
Ranked #48 of 143 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Italian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun and great food!”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Think blueberries and daiquiri amazing! The drink is one of their specialities. So blue and delicious. We enjoyed Poor Boys so much we ate there 2 nights. The Solomon was delicious.
I love sweets and they have something like 52 different desserts. The German chocolate cake was fabulous and so was the whiskey chocolate pecan pie.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynnette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    266
    121
    56
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Food and service were slightly above average. Not bad, but nothing spectacular. Atmosphere was excellent. We sat on the porch next to open windows and the beautiful garden. So very peaceful. The art in the building was very fun and refreshing. Made by a local artist.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Outstanding Alfredo”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

What's not to like about Alfredo? A lot of restaurants do it well. Poor Boy's just happens to do it amazingly well. I had the Scallop and Shrimp Alfredo. My wife had the Lobster and Shrimp Alfredo. We were both extremely happy with our meal. The service was incredibly prompt and the food was delicious.
We ordered two deserts to go: the flourless chocolate cake and a cheese cake sweetened with monk fruit. The flourless chocolate cake was fantastic. The monk fruit cheese cake was not very good; but I suppose it could be a good option for someone who needed to avoid sugar.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BestofMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food, great prices”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

This dining spot hit the spot for lunch while in Bar Harbor! Nice (and tasty) menu variety and great service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Valerie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, PA
Level Contributor
158 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice!”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Very good food & service, many menu choices, reasonable prices (for a resort area). Nice atmosphere. Lots of parking available in the area. Reservations accepted (and recommended).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MusicManfromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poor Boy's Gourmet also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Poor Boy's Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing