We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Galyn's Bar Harbor, Lunch Aug 23, 2014”
Review of Galyn's

Galyn's
Ranked #12 of 144 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Hudson, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Galyn's Bar Harbor, Lunch Aug 23, 2014”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

I looked at the menu of several downtown places in Bar Harbor for lunch. Galyn's was appealing but I had a lot to choose from. In the end, it was quiet when I went in and was able to sit out on the poarch overlooking lower Main St and the harbor. Service was attentive and friendly. I ordered a cup of the lobster bisque. It was quite good, but not the best I had in Bar Harbor. A TripAdvisor review reccomended the lobster enchilada. I was sceptical but the waiter assured me it was a top seller. I was not dissapointed. The enchiladas were a whole new twist of flavor for the standard Maine lobster. Lobster flavor with a hint of spice and lime. Very very good. It was served over multi grain wild rice and broccoli. Galyn's delivered for certain. Good service, excellent lunch entre (at a reasonable price) and nice view. The poarch sits up about five feet from the curb so you have a good view of the park, harbor and lower Main. I would certainly dine there again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaptSteve42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,791 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    907
    548
    231
    67
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
308 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Blueberry Apple Crisp”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

I stopped into Galyn's because a local told me they had a fabulous dessert --- a blueberry/apple crisp with vanilla ice cream. I ordered the dessert and coffee. The bill was $11 and change. The dessert was okay ... but the coffee was terrific! The view of the Harbor was delightful. My waitress was A+.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Coffeecup1390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland, Maine
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Bouchard Wedding party”
Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

My son and his fiance got married tonight on the boardwalk next to the harbor in beautiful Bar Harbor, Maine this evening. After the ceremony we had reservations for 7 at Galyn's. We were greeted like celebrities. We had a huge room upstairs to ourselves for most of the evening. The food was fantastic and so was the service. It was a wonderful fine dining experience after a very special day. Thank you to the staff and owners of Galyn's. I would recommend this restaurant for any occasion.

Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Delaware
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“late lunch”
Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

Friendly professional service.
After having lobstah for previous 3 days I wanted a burger. I was not disappointed, it turned out to be one of the best I have had. It was cooked to perfection, piled high with toppings and served on a French bun.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank catman435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Lovely restaurant and very accommodating. They were able to squeeze us in when they were super busy. The staff was gracious and knowledgable. They had a nice selection of gluten free and were designated on the menu. They even had GF desserts. The meal was very good. Would definitely return.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mjrrnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galyn's also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Galyn's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing