We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place!”
Review of Galyn's

Galyn's
Ranked #14 of 146 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great little place!”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Nice place with great food. We eat early, and so we were among the first to wander in for dinner. We took a seat at the front of the restaurant on the second floor, overlooking the street outside - the window afforded us a view of the foot traffic on the street and in the park across the street - always changing, always interesting. Dinner was excellent, and our waitress was excellent! Try their blueberry desert - I'm not big on blueberries, but this was outstanding! My wife and I always like to try new places, but we would come back here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whitelinefever47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,849 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    936
    564
    241
    69
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great place for lobster.”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

A beautifully appointed restaurant whose walls are lined with paintings by local artists or local subjects. The owners are on site to oversee the smooth running of things. The lobster bisque and lobster wrap were superb! Service was fast and accommodating. The view from the upstairs dining room was very nice of the harbor. Try to get a seat by the window. This restaurant was recommended by many shopkeepers so we knew it would be good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lpmenache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

My wife says Galyn's blueberry cosmo is something special and she has been trying to replicate it since we got home.

The quality and selection of items on the menu is outstanding.

We could have eaten there every night and not been disappointed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NPSQuality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very good food and service in a quiet setting”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

On my visit to Bar Harbor, I ate at Galyns twice, meaning I liked it well enough and considered it reliable enough that I passed up dozens of other choices. My meals there--sauteed lobster and scallops--were very tasty, and cooked just right. The vegetables, broccoli and beans, were almost as good as the seafood, perfectly fresh and perfectly cooked, There was nothing elaborate or unusual about the dishes--I could have used a bit more inventiveness, perhaps--and the accompanying lobster bisque was a bit bland, but there's much to be said for doing straightforward dishes well. Diners around me were also very happy with their meat entrees, including the specialty prime rib. Service was efficient, friendly, and helpful, if a bit on the slow side. Perhaps its best feature is that it is a quiet, calm, place--most of its neighbors are loud and crowded, and if you're looking for a peaceful dinner, or a conversation with friends, this is the place to come. It's a very tasteful place in every way, more formal than most places in Bar Harbor, but not at all stuffy or haughty--and despite the quality of the food and the charm of the atmosphere, it is no more expensive than its neighbors with much less to offer. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hillretiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Well prepared seafood a block from the wharf”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

After a morning whale watching tour, we walked a block up Main Street for lunch at Galyn's. Galyn's is a two story tavern style restaurant that is bright and airy with a lot of hard woods and brass fixtures. We sat at a window table on the second floor with a very pleasant view of a park next to the wharfs.

The primary emphasis of the menu is traditional seafood that is both freash and skillfully prepared. Galyn's is a must for people seeking traditionally prepared seafood. Several restaurants in Bar Harbor may be a better fit for those seeking more inventive gourmet food. We both had lobster rolls that were excellent and nicely presented.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galyn's also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Galyn's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing