We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect combo!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Route 66

Route 66
Ranked #40 of 143 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Route 66 Restaurant offers one of the largest menus in Bar Harbor. Stop in for lunch and try one of our signature Cadillac Burger's or get your fill of Fresh Maine Lobster with our Lobster Trap, a traditional Fresh Maine Lobster Roll served with a cup of Maine Lobster Bisque.Our Dinner menu offers something for everyone from Burger's and Salads to Hand Cut Steaks, Homemade Slow Roasted BBQ Ribs to a Fresh Maine Seafood Pasta. We also offer a bar area with nine-draft lines specializing in locally brewed beer. For your sweet tooth try one of our famous 50's style Milkshakes.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
125 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Perfect combo!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Lobster bisque, buttered lobster roll, and fresh cut fries. This was just right! And my partner was well pleased with her old fashioned patty melt as well. Plus its a fun place visually - so much nostalgia decor to keep you entertained!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Irishlazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    213
    127
    38
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great food and fun decor!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

Adorable spot tucked in away from the hustle taking you back in time to another era. Loved all the memories that quickly returned while eating a wonderful array of appetizers and fresh seafood. Crystal was an amazing server with wonderful suggestions....wish I lived in Bar Harbor as I would be a regular!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lighthouse7374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, VA
Level Contributor
178 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“fast meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Food was good, atmosphere was great really liked looking at all the memorabilia, like others by the time we looked around are food was their, we just had burgers but a good meal, would go back servicealso was good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WVUFanNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fun little place with lots of interesting decor, food was ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Route 66 catches your eye with lots of fun stuff to look at from gas pumps to pedal cars. Overall, the atmosphere was fun but image how they keep that stuff clean? They don't.

Food was a bit pricy and mediocre. Service was good. I'd skip this restaurant and look for something more local with better food and better prices.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChainExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurelville, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best value in town !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Food was delicious, atmosphere was unreal. Alyssa, our server was very friendly and helpful. Good seafood selection and the pizzas and sandwiches were awesome ! Overall the best value we found in Bar Harbor. Sixties style diner with lots of memorabilia.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Route 66 also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Route 66? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing