We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“What a way to end 2 weeks in Maine!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
West Street Hotel
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a way to end 2 weeks in Maine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

Beautifully decorated rooms, great harbor views, friendly and helpful staff AND a gorgeous roof top, adult only pool. We did not want our trip to end! Looking forward to trying out their other properties. Did not use facilities at sister property - had no need with the roof top pool almost all to ourselves!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kristin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris torrey t, General Manager at West Street Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Dear Kristin A,

Your review was a pleasure to read, and I am happy to hear that we were able to end your time here in Maine on such a positive note! We have many great properties within the OPAL collection- all just as beautiful as the West Street Hotel. I am pleased that we were able to provide a true Maine, hospitality experience!

We would love to welcome you back to property, and welcome you to some of our other OPAL properties!

With Hospitality,
Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    125
    34
    8
    12
See reviews for
158
360
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

We loved our stay at the West Street Hotel. The hotel was recently renovated and the rooms feel fresh and bright. We stayed in a king-sized room with the view of the harbor and it was perfect. There's a sweet little pantry on each floors with an endless supply of bottled water and fruit as well as coffee, tea and cookies in the evening.

The association the hotel has with the Bar Harbor Club is great -- we played tennis and used the club's pool. But the best thing about the hotel has to be the adults-only rooftop infinity pool. Perfect place to unwind after a day of hiking and sight-seeing.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Satenig82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris torrey t, General Manager at West Street Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Dear Satenig82,

I was pleased to hear about your perfect mini vacation. It seems like you were able to enjoy both the park and the many amenities on property. You review best describes our roof-top pool “the perfect place to unwind after a day of hiking and sight-seeing,” catching a sunset by the roof-top pool in my eyes- there is nothing better.

We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to property!

With Hospitality,
Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Illinois
Level Contributor
108 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

We had a king suite with a balcony and beautiful view of the harbor. Even though we were on the main street, we didn't have any street noise. The room was a nice size, clean, and updated with a nautical decor. The bathroom was also a nice size with a large shower (no tub). The location was perfect for exploring the town, and of course enjoying a great lobster dinner. The rooftop with the infinity pool was perfect for watching the sunset. Our room was expensive, but sometimes you get what you pay for. Service was good.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieAp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014 via mobile

This was a great experience this hotel was in a great location and had an amazing view from the rooftop pool the beds are comfortable and there are many little details that make this a great hotel experience it have no complaints this hotel was great for a reasonable price as well

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

My wife and I made a reservation but when we arrived we were told that there were no rooms available, even though we were given a confirmation number. We were "compensated" for our inconvenience by being sent to their sister property one mile outside of town and were lucky enough to be given a room next to the vending and ice machines. After checking into the sister property and driving back into town we had the unfortunate pleasure of seeing other people checking into the hotel, an hour later. These are some of the reasons why I'm a Hilton Honors member and would rather stay a national chain hotel.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
17 Thank Richie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Fantastic place. We had a really hard time finding a hotel late in the summer and we happened to end up here. LOVED it. Beautiful, well kept rooms. Fair price. Friendly staff. The adults only infinity pool on the roof was beyond relaxing and had a gorgeous view. Location was perfect. If we go back to Bar Harbor, we will be staying here.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BenH05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris torrey t, General Manager at West Street Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear BenH05,

Your review summarizes many of the great amenities that we offer for our guests and I am pleased to hear you were able to enjoy all these amenities- we have had a great summer for the rooftop, adult only pool and many of our guests have been able to experience a great, Maine summer.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to property!

Warm Regards,
Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We arrived a day ahead of our reservation in mid-June, and the desk manager still honored the "3 Days/ 30% Off" deal. Our "Premium King Harbor View" is a large spacious room with a king bed, loveseat, small table/chairs, large dresser, large closet with a safe. The bathroom is large with a big shower.The balcony overlooking the harbor has 2 chairs and a small table. Each floor has a a "pantry" with a coffee, tea, bottled water, fruit and evening cookies available. The décor is subdued modern nautical, very comfortable. Restaurants and shops are within the building, and parking is just behind. Warning: the downtown area with more shops and restaurants is just two blocks away, but the two blocks are uphill, if that is an issue. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gypsy33117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 482 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,531 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 437 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Street Hotel

Property: West Street Hotel
Address: 50 West St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1858
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#9 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — West Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jetsetter and Hotwire so you can book your West Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Street Hotel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing