We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of West Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
West Street Hotel
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. I would argue this is one of the most luxurious accommodations available on the island. We enjoyed the amenities, particularly the unlimited cookie/snacks/water/coffee bar, and the adult only rooftop pool. The staff was very polite, friendly and helpful. The location can't be beat. Great view of the harbor, convenient to lots of shops and restaurants. Would definitely return!!!!

Room Tip: request a room on the 4th floor for unobstructed harbor views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    128
    34
    8
    12
See reviews for
161
374
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

We had a great time at this hotel. The location is central and you can walk anywhere. The rooftop, adults-only pool was amazing. We much preferred that pool compared to the one across the street at the Bar Harbor Club - although loved having access to that facility. I would highly recommend this place to a couple looking for a little luxury who also like to be in the downtown area. The service was impeccable and the hotel is well-decorated, modern and clean.

Room Tip: Spring for the ocean front rooms, worth the extra spend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elised16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

My husband and I decided to splurge for the last night of our honeymoon and stay at this incredible hotel. The service was on point. Soon after our arrival a complimentary bottle of champagne was delivered to our room in celebration of our recent marriage. The complimentary bottles of water and laundry were very much appreciated. The room was exactly as it appeared online. We had a king size room with a view of the ocean, which was just remarkable. We enjoyed sitting out on the balcony and watching the sunset and sunrise over the water. The bed was comfortable and the shower was amazing. The affinity pool on the roof is perfect and a truly unique experience; I didn't want to leave. The location couldn't be better, with lots to do within walking distance. We hope to be back during our next trip to Maine.

Room Tip: Rooms with an ocean view are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ac2163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

We had been to Bar Harbor once before, so we kinda new the lay of the city and where the good locations where to stay at. This was our last stop on our 3 city vacation tour, so we knew that we wanted to stay somewhere pretty nice. We opted for the West Street Hotel...it was AMAZING in nearly every possible way. Rooms were equipped with high end fixtures, furniture, decor, even the bath room was custom.

If I had ANY complaints, it would be that the roof top pool should NOT be for adults only ALL THE TIME (we were REALLY bummed out that we could not let our 9 and 12 year old boys experience the pool deck.) I would suggest that they at least allow kids to use the pool, if even for a limited time (12-4pm?). We partially used that roof top pool to "sell" our kids on this hotel.

That being said, we DID get to use the property across the street (a country club of sorts) that had a large pool, tennis courts and some grassy area (my boys couldn't go a week without running around and throwing the baseball).

The staff was REALLY friendly and besides my gripe about the top deck pool, we had a GREAT stay. This is one of the few hotels that I could actually LIVE in full time! Loved it!

Room Tip: Gotta look out at the sea! On Friday's and Saturday's, there is a live band down at Paddy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jcsmith007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Having stayed at high end B&B's in town on all our past trips, we decided to try West Street Hotel based upon the various recommendations online. The hotel, however, is not the upscale "boutique hotel" it wants to market itself to be. Yes, there are food pantry areas on each floor with coffee/tea, water and fruit or cookies each day. Yes there was a pool on the roof, but the front desk informed us on check-in that the heater was broken and would be cold water the entire 5 days we were there. Yes, the lobby is pretty with a nice coastal decor. However, what you are paying for is a room and the ocean view room we booked (reserved months in advance, requesting high floor) was a routine hotel room. Not particularly spacious, nothing special about the furniture, and no real character to the room. It could be a Holiday Inn or any other chain hotel for the feel you get from the place. On check in, staff also wanted to slot us into a 2nd floor room (despite our request), and took some stubbornness on our part to make them move us up a bit higher. We also had to complain about the noise as one of the restaurants downstairs (which the hotel parent corporation also owns) blasted its music throughout the entire night -- hours after it closed for the evening. And there is a $25 daily resort fee, which covers activities most guests will never use. Tip: stay at one of the nice B&Bs in town for the same price as these expensive, overpriced hotel rooms (and, when you stay at a B&B, breakfast is included). I don't mind paying a lot (!!) for nice hotel rooms, but this would not be what I would describe as a luxury hotel room.

Room Tip: The higher the better, to avoid the street noise and loud music from the restaurants below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasantville, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Great location, beautiful room overlooking the harbor. Clean, new surroundings. Convenient coffee bar in each hall. One draw back: very expensive and the staff we met were not particularly helpful or welcoming. Specifically, room not ready on time and no air conditioning the first night.

Room Tip: Definitely harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzyr147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette IL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

My family and I stayed for three nights in July. The hotel is in the best location and overlooks the harbor. It is a new hotel. The rooms are very clean, and the design and finishes are world class. The staff is courteous and hard working.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mwittil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.3 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Street Hotel

Property: West Street Hotel
Address: 50 West St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1858
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#9 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — West Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your West Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Street Hotel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing