We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will try again”
Review of West Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
West Street Hotel
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Will try again”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We'll have to come back, because it was raining hard all day the one day we were there. We waited 5 minutes several times! The location is perfect... Right across from the marina and right in front of where the bars and pubs are. Jeff at Paddy's was great- sociable and genuine. Malakin was awesome, too. He was clearly done his shift as we got there late the day of our arrival, but still stayed around to make sure we were comfortable.
The only negative is that we had our "do not disturb" sign up and housekeeping parked their cart right outside our door at 8am. Asked them to move it and explained we drove from Lake Placid the day before and had gotten in after midnight... They moved it a couple feet. There's a lot of noise that comes in through the hallways- so if you're a light sleeper, go to bed early!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fuzzlenuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    130
    35
    9
    12
See reviews for
163
377
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
148 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Ok, so it isn't cheap to stay here, but it is worth every penny! Rooms are well appointed and spacious. The nautical theme is not overdone. We loved the big shower and the bathroom is bigger than the normal hotel bath. The staff was very accommodating. They checked on our room and we checked in at noon! That was nice. Fireplace in the lobby is always lit. Paddy's restaurant has excellent food and very reasonable price. But, the best thing is the infinity edge pool on the roof! It is heaven. You are right in the middle of everything but one step on the door and you are a world away. Perfection.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genece M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersy
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

The good: Nicely decorated lobby with warm and inviting fireplace. The parking area is also very nice. Our room had a very nice terrace overlooking the town and harbor. The room was well insulated from any outside noise. The coffee bar and complimentary waters provided all day is a nice touch. Breakfast at Paddy's is excellent. The food is outstanding and generous portions are provided. The exceptional staff which includes Rebecca, James, Beth and Sophia made the morning brighter even in poor weather conditions. Hint: Ask for a breakfast package when you book this hotel. Now the bad: There is no dedicated concierge. Very poor maid service that do not change the sheets for three days unless requested. Apparently, they don't vacuum or replace bathroom amenities for 3 days either. The nightly "bedtime treats" are a nice touch, but please put a cover over them! We stayed here for 6 nights and there were flies over them every single night. The room AC units do not provide enough coolness to the room. The lowest setting is 69 degrees, but the room never felt comfortable. Although the shower is large and both a shower head and shower wand is provided, this design is very poor for families. Only 1 family member can go into the bathroom area at a time since the shower is completely glass. Also the bathroom lighting is inadequate.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank H2Yellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Everything we were looking for. Great downtown location on the water. Awesome choice of two pools, one for adults without children. Stayed July 17 (Wed) to July 21 (Sun) and they upgraded us to a Harborview without asking. Also honored my AAA card and gave us a discount. The Pantry was amazing, free water bottles and coffee. Nice clean rooms. Wouldn't stay anywhere else!!!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a Harborview. Worth the price. Also, might be a little loud on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmb1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stumbled upon this hotel while driving through town and decided to stay the night. Our spacious room was immaculate, and the nautical decor is a perfect fit. The water view is definitely worth it. A nice touch was the open, common pantry on each floor for coffee, water, board games, etc. The location was perfect - walkable to everywhere. A particularly nice surprise was the next door establishment Paddy's which is connected to the hotel. Had a great time their listening to Amber Leigh and her dad live - the music was incredible and the place was packed including the outdoor dining and adjacent sidewalk. This was our first visit to Bar Harbor, and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skegwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Maine
Level Contributor
106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

From check in to check out - was a wonderful experience! Loved the balcony with rocking chairs/ walk in shower/ lovely decor and comfy bed!
Roof top pool was incredible! Celebrated our 25 th anniversary here.
A bit expensive but a great hotel.

Room Tip: Great Oceanside room w. balcony over Paddys restaraunt /good entertainment..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiMath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a romantic, peaceful getaway. This hotel was perfectly located in the center of everything. The restaurants recommended by the staff were very nice. The staff was also extremely friendly and helpful. This is a beautiful, new hotel...in almost every way possible, except is is lacking a tub, mini bar, and on demand TV. I will be sure to ask those questions next time in booking such a pricey room. Overall, I would stay here again, they also said they are working on the TV issue at least.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.3 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Street Hotel

Property: West Street Hotel
Address: 50 West St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1858
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#9 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — West Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your West Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Street Hotel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing