We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
West Street Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Acadia Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$104
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Acadia Park Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$122
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quimby House Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bar Harbor Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belle Isle Motel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$500
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acadia Hotel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (734)
Filter reviews
734 results
Traveler rating
510
150
45
14
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
510
150
45
14
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolbar harbor clubnautical themebottled watercookiesirish pubfree laundryresort feeguest pantryhot chocolatesister hotelin townkeurig machinewest stfresh fruitview roomgreat amenities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
560 - 565 of 734 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is a very nice hotel that is very reasonably priced. On top of all that, it is located right in the downtown section of Bar Harbor so you are within walking distance of tons of shops plus all the ships that can take you whale watching, etc. The rooms are spacious and there is a good, high speed wireless Internet service in your rooms. Each room has a nice sized bathroom and the bedroom is very spacious with a sitting area and a desk. I am not sure the "ocean view" rooms are worth the extra money since even if the weather is nice there simply isn't much of a view to see. One thing that is great is that on every floor you will find a coffee/tea/hot chocolate station about midway in the hallway. You can go there 24 x 7 and get a beverage plus some fresh fruit or ice. Also, they have unlimited bottles of water FOR FREE! I highly recommend this place. The only reason that it isn't a 5 Star is because I save that for places like the Bonaventure in LA or other real high-end hotels. But you will not be disappointed with this place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We just returned from a weekend stay (6/28-6/30). Let me start by mentioning anyone traveling from New Jersey be ready for a long ride to Bar Harbor. It took us about 9.5 hours to get to the hotel. As we were traveling up north, weather was changing to rain, thick fog and was very cool. When we arrived in Bar Harbor it was 58 degrees, super foggy and raining. We were very surprised and cold and end up purchasing sweater and jacket we only packed summer clothing who knew it would feel like fall in the summer. Checking in to the West Street was very pleasant and the parking behind the hotel was good. The Hotel is beautiful, Nordic décor, modern, just stunning. Our room was amazing; we had a huge corner suite room, very clean, wonderful décor and breathtaking views. The bathroom was also very clean and modern with ample room, great shower and a lovely claw bathtub. Every floor had a very nice set up of complimentary various flavor coffee &, teas along with bottle waters and fresh fruits and in the evening yummy cookies and brownies a very thoughtful touch. The Staff was great. The Clubhouse is lovely very nice heated pool and hot tub, Friendly Staff. The rooftop pool is very nice too just for Adults. Hotel is centrally located with walking distance to most of downtown Bar Harbor.

Excursions- Whale Watching sound like fun and we had it reserved but due to the weather we didn’t take the chance to freeze on the boat for 3.5 hours and not see any whales, beside it was extremely foggy and the water was very choppy. We took a Trolley Tour around the Harbor and Acadia State Park wasn’t bad.

Restaurants- We had breakfast twice and dinner at Paddy’s (adjoining restaurant) Excellent! On our second day we were recommended Stewman’s Downtown Lobster Pound. Location was nice with good view of the harbor. As for the food we ordered the “The Down East Lobster Experience” What an experience we had. NOT GOOD AT ALL!! It started out good; the chowder was good and the blueberry margaritas were great but OMG, the lobsters we had were not good. When we finally cracked it opened my lobster was black inside and my husband lobster seems good but when he started to eat it was very slimy so both were returned, Waiter bought us out another lobster but after seeing that your appetite goes away. Very disappointed will never return to Stewman’s. So after that horrible experience we did not want to leave Maine without enjoying a great Lobster, so on our way back home we decided to make a slight detour and try Mabel’s in Kennebunkport, Maine. Was mentioned in the travel channel as the BEST lobster you can eat. OMG! OMG!, it was the most AMAZING lobster you will ever eat in your life. We were so happy we made the slight detour. We highly recommended!!

Overall Bar Harbor is amazing and relaxing. The West Street Hotel is wonderful! Was all that we had hoped and more. We hope to return on day.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have awesome views!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jayde715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Beautiful hotel and ideal location in downtown Bar Harbor, park your car and walk to everything. Staff was very service oriented and rooms are spacious and top rate. They offer complimentary water, ice bags, fruit, cookies, coffee in the pantry. The rooftop pool offers fantastic views if the weather is good.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, those with no view look out onto parking lot, which is ok if you are not spending a lot of time in your room.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bendavid4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Great new hotel right at the end West Street. Rooms and facilities were clean and new. There is plenty of parking on site behind the hotel. In addition to the rooftop pool with a beautiful view of the harbor, guests have use of the facilities of the Bar Harbor Club down the street. You don't really need you car here as you can walk to everything in town and take the shuttle buses to Acadia National Park destinations. Keep in mind that there is a $25/ day per room resort fee on top of the room charge. It seemed pretty well documented and publicized, but I heard that some guests were taken aback by it.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bondguy1824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Just got back from our stay at this hotel. We booked 2 Adjoining king rooms but were given the 2 king suite. What an amazing room. lots of space inside and a balcony that seemed to go on forever. The view from the balcony was super, the only con was the noise of all the people walking around at night. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view, it's worth it. We enjoyed sunset from our balcony.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denisee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews