We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit to Bar Harbor, October 2012”
Review of West Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
West Street Hotel
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Absolutely incredible, beautiful, outstanding hotel. There is not one thing that was missed to make our stay fantastic. The Hotel is new, the decorator should receive an award for the work that they did on this property. The Hotel is a Green Property with energy efficiency exuding everywhere while keeping the comfort of the guest a high priority. I wish we had a property like this in South Florida.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chefiapichino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (715)
There are newer reviews for West Street Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

591 - 597 of 715 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We were impressed from the moment we walked in. This newly built hotel is a must if you are planning a trip to Bar Harbor. Beautiful rooms which are quite contemporary and very comfortable. Gorgeous view, prime location. Walk to everything from dining to shopping to points of interest. Minutes from Acadia park... So much to see and do! Lots of delicious dining options. Take a sunset sail, whale watch and explore nature in the bay. Access to The Bar Harbor Club's facilities is a plus.. Beautiful pool and fitness center, great spa! Highly recommend stating at West Street... We look forward to returning :)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SummerSun_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I wish we could rate 4 1/2 stars. Our only objections were: a personal preference for in room coffee service rather than a coffee bar on each floor and bathroom lighting was inadequate.
Location, wonderful, bath and shower A+, staff A+, bedding A+, views A.

Room Tip: Choose a room closer to the corner for better harbor views.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JandD65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The location on the harbor can’t be beat. The location is central to just about anything a tourist would want/need access to. The harbor is right across West Street with the majority of tours (boat, trolley, bus, walking) originating from the location.

We stayed in a harbor view king room (411) in early October 2012.

Room
Room 411 is a corner room facing the harbor. The reason to get this room is the two balconies. The sunsets and the stars in the evenings are worth the price.
King size bed was very comfortable (firm), pillows were very soft (not firm)
Television was about 50 inches sitting on a credenza.
There is one ceiling fan with variable speeds.
There is a chest of drawers and a credenza for items put in drawers.
A digital safe and refrigerator are provided in each room in the snack bar area.
There was one small closet in the room with eight hangers
The drapery on the windows was thick and does a good job of blocking out light in the evenings.
The thermostat in the room was digital and the AC/heat worked well.
The walls between rooms are not soundproof. The doors of rooms slamming could be heard many rooms away.
The wifi in the room was good, but the password had to be reentered various times in the day.
The bathroom has a clawfoot bathtub, separate large shower and toilet area with some counter space.
The clawfoot bathtub is not large enough for two adults comfortably
There is a weak exhaust fan in the bathroom.
The water pressure in the shower is average. Shampoo, conditioner, and body soap bottles are provided.
The maid services does an excellent job every day. They are cognizant of the “Privacy” door hangers.

The pantry area is a nice option to pickup bottled water and coffee. Cookies are the nightly treat if you time it right (after 7:00PM). The cookies disappear quickly.

Reception
The front desk is helpful. They are easy to deal with. They were happy to talk about things to do and make dinner reservations. They were forward thinking and a step ahead. The best we have experienced in Bar Harbor.

There are two elevators in the main building and they are slow moving. There is another elevator in the building at the far end of the hallway.
The pool area on the roof top is no longer heated. We were told it was broken and would not be repaired.

The gym is well equipped for cardio lovers. The majority of machines are wired vs. free weight. The gym looks right out onto West Street on the main level so there is plenty of people watching while running and biking.

It is nice to have Paddy’s Irish Pub onsite downstairs, but some other recommended restaurants include Morning Glory Bakery(breakfast) Two Cats (breakfast), Café This Way (breakfast), Mache Bistro (dinner), and Fathom (dinner). All are within 1 mile walking distance.

Note:
-Guest parking on the property is an issue. There are not enough parking spots for 1/2 of the guests when the hotel is fully booked. Reception will tell you to park across the street at Harbor Side (a sister resort). The guest parking lot in the rear of the building is not the only places to park for guests. There are roughly 8-10 spots behind the building up a small hill and to the left of the guest parking lot that also have signs for West Street Hotel parking that guests can park in. This was shared by a helpful bell hop.

Room Tip: Room 411 is a corner room facing the harbor. The reason to get this room is the two balconies. The...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank buffgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We found this hotel on the internet and was so glad that we did! The room was excellent and the location was perfect. The staff went out of their way to help with anything we needed! We would definiately stay here again and recommend it highly!

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the water are fantastic and worth the upgrade!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband booked this hotel for us on a surprise trip for me and I was thrilled with it.

There's a fireplace in the lobby that smells so great when you return from a day of exploring Bar Harbor and Acadia. The hallways smell amazing because there's a lovely little beverage station in the hall for making coffee, tea, and hot chocolate. They provide full-size glass wine glasses and ceramic coffee mugs for the guests in that spot, along with board games (first come, first served). They serve chocolate chip cookies from 7-9pm which pleased my husband (I'm vegan so I didn't have any -- suggestion for the hotel: make them vegan! They'll be healthier and just as delicious, I promise!)

The room was lovely with modern furniture and a modern bathroom (with a super cool sliding wooden barn door that my husband is now obsessed with recreating in our house). The view from the balcony was of the harbor - so beautiful! The beds were really comfortable.

The location was also great. You can walk across the street to book a tour, you are right near lots of shops and restaurants, and in a second you can drive out of town and be in Acadia within minutes.

The rooftop pool was nice and very modern (and the view was awesome!) - but we were there at the end of the season in October and we were the only people up there. If it were peak season, I can imagine that the pool would not be that fun because it's not that big and who wants to be in a small shallow (4 ft) pool with lots of strangers? The pool also closes at sundown. I think they should have put a hot tub (or two!) up there and leave the pool area open until 11pm.

My only "complaint" about the property is that the elevators are slow... but that's just me being nitpicky. As I titled this review, I LOVED this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a view of the bay - it's gorgeous and otherwise you'll be looking at the parking lot!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickiPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The decor in this hotel is fabulous. We got an excellent rate for the last night of the season the property was open. Two negatives: the beds are too hard, and the rooms overlooking the parking lot do not have a nice view. The entire back of the hotel overlooks the parking lot.

Looking at the parking lot aside, the rooms are terrific. The toiletries are first class. The bathrooms are very roomy with good showers.

The check-in staff was not particularly friendly, nor did she make any recommendations for us. The housekeeping staff was very nice.

Regardless, if we got a good rate we would stay here again. It really is lovely.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ResearcherMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#21 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,163 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
690 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,731 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.7 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Street Hotel

Address: 50 West St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1858
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#9 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $276 - $754 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your West Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Street Hotel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing