We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh, terrific decor, spectacular views”
Review of West Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
West Street Hotel
Ranked #17 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We spent 3 days at this new hotel in mid October. It just opened in late June so of course it was sparkling. We loved the contemporary nautical decor and found the linens to be luxurious.The lobby is welcoming with several cozy seating areas, a crackling fireplace and a library of lovely books of photographs of Maine. The bathrooms (we were upgraded to a 2 bedroom, 2 bath suite) were some of the best we have seen in a hotel and certatinly the best we saw in Maine. I happily recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janet514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (734)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

619 - 625 of 734 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

We had never been to Bar Harbor and were looking forward to it. Spent a lot of time researching hotels/inns and things to do for our anniversary trip which we typically take in different locales each year.

After reviewing all we saw about the West Street Hotel we decided on it, and I am so glad we did! It is as described a newly-built hotel but in a nautical style so has some character befitting the location.

It literally - I mean literally - smells new, even though we were there a couple months after it opened.

Room: quite large, well appointed in every way from furniture to bath to electronics. We were there the last week of September and did not ask for a room with a view, but we got one nevertheless. I was expecting as we walked up from the rear parking lot that our room would be one of the ones facing the lot but upon checking in was pleasantly surprised we got one facing the bay out front. Nice! I believe if we were there during the high summer season that would not have happened though. It had a larger deck than other rooms with comfortable rocking deck chairs facing the bay and porcupine islands.

Spotlessly clean, to the point where I wondered if we were the first people to stay in the room. But based on the attitude and performance of the housekeeping staff the 4 days we were there I think the credit needs to go to them not the fact that it is a newer property.

All bath needs well provided, good quality products (I don't remember the brand but equivalent to lancome) including 2 bathrobes which we did not use. The TV and remote were very user-friendly and they provided a channel list easy to find which is so frustrating at some hotels. The mini fridge was larger and cooler than most - nice!

Coffee/Water hospitality station on our floor: nuff said, this is a terrific amenity that is complimentary. They provide chilled bottled water as well as nice Keurig coffees & teas with a good selection all day and night. Daytime they put out apples, and early evening they put out 3 kinds of home baked warm cookies.

Fitness room: there is a decent workout room onsite with a view of the main street (i.e. west street) with a peek of the bay and shops across the street. There were 3 elliptical machines and I think 4 treadmills, each with its own TV screen. NOTE: if you want to use these make sure you bring your own earphones to plug in because they do not provide them or even have them available to buy or rent. Also provided were ample free weights, pilates balls, mats, personal towels etc and bottled water in a fridge. My husband and I both made good use of the room in the few days we were there.

In addition to the onsite fitness room the hotel has complimentary access to the Bar Harbor Club just a few steps down the street which has pools, courts etc. We meant to check it out and use it but never got around to it.

Breakfast at Paddy's: our room rate came with breakfast included so we went there each morning. It is a la carte ordering from the standard breakfast menu so you can try something different each day which we did. Coffee and juices included. Everything we ordered was quite good: eggs benedict, bubble&squeak, pan boxty all came with a different homemade rustic bread each day, potatoes and a small amount of fruit garnish (truly just garnish, not enough where they should note it on the menu). The coffee was excellent, rich and smoky not at all watery or weak. Best of all was the service - really nice servers who timed everything perfectly and were very aware of needs without being intrusive. Big thumbs up!

It has been a while since we were there so do not remember our specific room number, but recommend asking for a room as far away from the elevator, hospitality station, and especially the rear (northernmost) stairwell as possible only because I can imagine those would be noisy with traffic.

The only improvement I would suggest - and it is a minor one - would be for the front desk not to "push" the restaurant Stewman's across the street for lobster. We went there with eager anticipation and were disappointed with way overcooked lobster and way high prices for what you get. We had hoped it could be our "go-to" place for lunch or dinner and never went back after our first dinner there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denverryans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The West Hotel is beautiful. Amenities are very euro...we have been fortunate enough to stay in some lovely hotels in both the U.S. and Europe and The West Hotel compared well. Well-trained and helpful staff watch over a contemporary, vaguely nautical lobby. The room was very well-appointed...the shower offered a blissful amount of hot water and good pressure. The pantry on every floor was a nice touch, though we never had the opportunity to enjoy the warm cookies or fruit other reviewers comment on. When we can in from hiking at seven, there were only crumbs!

However...our room was situated overlooking the harbor. Great view, but we were awoken our first morning at six am by garbage trucks clattering below. The clamor continued for the rest of the morning...the taxi stand was directly beneath our balcony and a constant stream of tour buses inching up West Street created lots of noise and dispel fumes. (Though it was interesting to see if they could make the turn.) There were also crowds of folks disembarking from the cruise ships and boat tours. It was not the quiet, relaxing experience we have always enjoyed when visiting Mt. Desert Island. After two nights, we located lodging in a locale that offered a greater respite from the hustle and bustle.

On a side note, we have been visiting BH for almost thirty years...our last vist was in 2009. I am sure The West Hotel has been a boon to the local economy, but it was a shock (we had booked it online when the spontanieity of our trip meant our favorite guest cottage was booked up) to see a behemoth of a hotel looming where once there had been an eclectic collection of shops and eateries. I think perhaps whoever designed it---and the interior is very tasteful--- might have made an effort to make the exterior more harmonious with the BH ethic. The bright colors are almost jarring and "South Beach" in their garishness. I understand the same developer was responsible for the Bar Harbor Club...I wish the designer of The West Hotel had shared the same design esthetic. But that's personal preference. If a visitor wants top-of-the line accommodation amidst the excitement of downtown Bar Harbor, you can't go wrong with The West Hotel. If you seeking an escape to peace and introspection, you might want to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbsohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Would stay here again! We got here mid October, and everything was on sale!!!! Next year, we would probably come back sept or early oct. note that everything basically shuts down nov 1 until April- may:

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrissykirkwood7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

In a word: fantastic. Passed by this hotel on the day they opened in July during our first trip to Bar Harbor...followed them on Trip advisor and was gratified to see their awesome (now verified) and well deserved reviews. This property shows that the Ocean Group can do it right when they start from scratch....hopefully they can turn around their other properties which dont fare as well on Trip Advisor. The decor, views, bathroom and lobby were outstanding. Keep up the great work! We will be back to this hotel, adorable town, and one of the world's most beautiful parks as soon as we can!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChestnutHillCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Right down the street from "downtown" Bar Harbor. Plenty of dining choices in easy strolling distance. We are here in mid October. The rooms are VERY nice. Beds are comfy, the shower is spectacular, refrig and safe in the room. We liked it so much we extended for a day.

Nice little run/walk is available along the water, then up into the quiet neighborhoods. Secure parking and a VERY nice lobby.

It is priced like a motel for the non view rooms. Amazing for what you get.

Now for the minor issue. They don't have in room coffee but they do have an area with Keurig coffee/tea/hot chocolate on each floor. Bottled water and snacks too. Great idea but it causes a lot of early morning hall traffic. The doors here are very heavy and they have loud clicks when they close. So it is a bit noisy early. Woke us up around 6.

Other than the hall noise, I would have rated it an easy 5. View rooms are about $90 more than non view. All have a nice balcony with a couple of chairs and a table.

Free guest laundry.

Great place.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms ending in 23. We are on the third floor and I'll assume it is the same on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zigzagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I was very impressed. The rooms are so nicely decorated and the bed was perfect, and not to mention the bathroom- gorgeous. Each floor has a kitchenette with fresh water, fruit, glasses and plates and there is free laundry there too.

The lobby is warm and nautical and I really enjoyed sitting by the fireplace. I would actually love to come back to Bar Harbor to specifically stay at West Street Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, of course. Enjoy the roof deck if weather permits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AniWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#6 of 42 in Bar Harbor
1,777 reviews
0.3 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 42 in Bar Harbor
390 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#5 of 42 in Bar Harbor
1,387 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 42 in Bar Harbor
488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#19 of 42 in Bar Harbor
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Street Hotel

Address: 50 West St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1858
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $244 - $480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your West Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Street Hotel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing