We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really impressive - lovely hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of West Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
West Street Hotel
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
NovaScotia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Really impressive - lovely hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

This hotel could be featured in a magazine...it is beautiful, shiny and new, and has a great location. Others have commented on the door noise - this was not at all an issue for us. We stayed 3 nights, ate breakfast at the hotel, used the pool on the roof as well as the one at the BHC.

Location - great, convenient for walking downtown, lots of parking

Room - lovely, great bathroom, balcony with a great view

Staff - everyone was very friendly and tried to be helpful

Breakfast at Paddy's - really good, nice choices - we tried several different things and all were good (especially the stuffed french toast - yummy)

As I said - we used the pool (which was still open in Oct - a little chilly but a nice treat). We also used the hot tub at the bar harbor club which was great. Everyone there was friendly and helpful as well. Would be something even more impressive in the summer....so we will be sure to come back here then.

Room Tip: We had a room on the fourth floor facing the water - great choice.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fishygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    128
    34
    8
    12
See reviews for
162
374
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Beantown
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Not only is this hotel beautiful and centrally located, but it has nice little amenities like a coffee/snack bar on every floor with bottled water as well. Each room has a deck to sit out on also. The furniture in the room is really nice. My only problem was that it seemed like I could hear every little noise from out in the hall and some annoying kid crying from the room next door. But I went down to the desk and requested a fan and shockingly enough, not only did they have one but it was delivered to my door in 5 minutes! I would definitely recommend this place. Oh, and the heated (ADULTS ONLY...sweet) rooftop pool has a view you won't believe.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarky_Griswold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the West Street Hotel for two nights during our annual fall hiking trip. We booked this hotel as the price was right and it was new. We have tried many other hotels/ inns in Bar Harbor and wanted to try something different.

Needless to say, this hotel far surpassed our expectations. It would not be far-reaching to say that this hotel deserves even more than an excellent rating. Everything was perfect! We had booked a non-view room, but we believe we were upgraded (either that or the "non-view" rooms have a great view of the ocean). The location is prime. The rooms are magnificent with beautiful finishes and furnishings, a comfortable bed, and an upscale and modern bathroom. The amenities are wonderful with bottled water, Keurig coffee, and fresh fruit and cookies available on every floor. We didn't swim in the roof top pool (or the other available pool) but they were breathtaking. We did order breakfast one morning to our room and it was divine.

The owners of this hotel did not miss anything. The attention to detail is unmatched. I can only hope that the management can maintain this hotel to its current grandness as opposed to its sister hotel (The Harborside) whose reviews consistently do not meet the mark.

We could not recommend this hotel enough. Clearly, the best hotel for the best value in Bar Harbor. As long as the rates don't skyrocket, this will be our go-to hotel in Bar Harbor whether traveling with our daughter or as a couple. They have no competition. It is the best.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjbeckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

First stop of a 10 day - 2 nation trip! BEST Hotel on this trip and on my list of top Hotels I've ever experienced. Large, beautifully appointed, rooms with sitting area. Ammenties included; robes, coffee/tea/water/cookie/fruit station available 24 hours; fabulous bedding; convenient parking; in house laundry; roof top lounge with infinity pool and panaramic view of the harbor; exercise room that had a view to the harbor; internet; and to top it all off none of the ammenities had additional charges. The front desk even supplied laundry soap. PADDY'S Restruant was a pleasant surprise. The food was great. At breakfast, if you like salmon, try the salmon with toasted bagels and the Scotch Egg. What a treat! If you are in Bar Harbor - stay at the West Street Hotel and definitely eat at PADDY'S! You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The only rooms that I would try to avoid were the ones facing the parking lot. The side street, low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swheless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a brand new hotel right in the center of Bar Harbor. The location is excellent and you can walk to restaurants and shopping. Parking (free) was directly behind the hotel. The rooms were new, clean, comfortable, and stylish. We have stayed in other hotels in Bar Harbor and feel that this is by far the best.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midmichtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Planned a two night stay at West Street Hotel and ended up staying three nights! It is a beautiful facility, with many nice "touches" such as the coffee/water/fruit bar on each floor and robes in room. Rates were reasonable given the season, and there are good deals available. Rooms are large and nicely furnished. We walked all over the downtown area with no problem, and found the staff very helpful. Only problem was with parking; the hotel lot has about 40 spaces, and obviously many more rooms. We were directed to park at the lot behind another hotel - a five to ten minute walk, depending on how full their lot is - this might be a good opportunity for valet service.
Overall, we had an excellent experience!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sheila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Missouri, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

My comments mirror many of the same that are posted here. My husband, oldest son, and I spent a week traveling in New England to see the fall foliage and stayed the evening of October 5 at the West Street Hotel in Bar Harbor. The hotel is new, clean, and accessible to many restaurants and shops in the area. From the hotel it is only a short drive to Acadia National Park, a highlight of our week-long travels. We would love to arrange another trip to New England, particularly Bar Harbor, and include the West Street Hotel in our travel arrangements!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,603 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.3 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Street Hotel

Property: West Street Hotel
Address: 50 West St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1858
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#9 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — West Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your West Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Street Hotel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing