We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great trails”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bar Island Trails

Bar Island Trails
Ranked #24 of 69 things to do in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great trails”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

Bar Island and Acadia National Park have great trails to explore. My husband and I did the Beehive trail today and were amazed. It was extremely challenging and required us to ascend up the rocks using metal rungs embedded in the rock face. The carriage trails are less adventurous but also beautiful. The stone bridges and ponds are very picturesque....the only issue we had was with the signs... they can be a bit confusing

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tabatha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    34
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Make sure you check the tidal schedule before going over. We loved walking to the bar and skipping rocks as the water slowly moved towards us. It was fun to hike the trails and see the sand bar from the summit top.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
133 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Trail to top is worth the walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Some parts of the trail were rustic and rocky, but people were doing the trail in flip flops. From the top of bar island you can see the harbor & Cadillac mountain. We say on a rock for a few minutes and just looked. A little side trail from top provides a great view of the sandbar you had walked across.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank JerseyJosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville
Level Contributor
1,614 reviews
1,088 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,305 helpful votes
“Plenty of time between tides”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

There is a tide schedule at the entrance and an easy hike up the hill for the best views. Many people rush through this visit, but if you utilize the entire time available, you will have plenty of time for the hike and time to enjoy the scenery. Very solid sand bar surface at low tide. Come back and check it out at high tide and see what you crossed over.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Easy hike, good view of Bar Harbor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

After crossing the land bridge near low tide, plan to spend about an hour exploring Bar Island which is part of Acadia National Park. I had been reading Finding Moosewood, Finding God which tells the story of Jack Perkins and his wife living on Bar Island when they owned part of it -- so I was interested to see it. It is an easy walk to the "top" of the island and provides a nice view of the town of Bar Harbor. There were not many people there either which also made for a pleasant hike.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LilyPeony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Island Trails also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Bar Island Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing