We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New and huuuuge!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Paddy's Irish Pub

Paddy's Irish Pub
Ranked #18 of 143 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“New and huuuuge!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife and I were married at Bar Harbor in September, and many times found ourselves, along with our wedding guests, eating and drinking at Paddy's. Everything we tried was delicious and we cant wait til next summer to sit on the street and people watch! Great service and great drinks, too! A little pricey, but you get what you pay for, and, after all, it IS Bar Harbor!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    550
    382
    164
    58
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awesome.... Location, food, service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Great find. New June 2012. Service great on one of the last days they're open (Marco rocked). Had two sales and chowder. Amazing. Pic is of our blueberry pie. Amazing. View is of water w outdoor seating. Well done. Hope to be back next year.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mainecowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
Level Contributor
151 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Great Gaelic Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We sat in the bar area various times and at a table in the front room.

Over a few visits we ate/drank the following:

Drinks:
Blueberry Ale - refreshing crisp ale with crunchy blueberries in the glass
Guinness (on tap) - great pour with the right amount of head
Hard Cider - sharp juicy flavor with no aftertaste

Appetizers:
Beer battered onion rings - Great! Very crunchy with great dipping sauces
Cheese plate - Variety of cheeses with raisin toast was a nice break from heavy meals

Main Courses:
Steak salad with avocados - tender seasoned steak with crisp lettuce was a nice contrast
Wedge salad with bacon – more than enough bacon for one person with a light dressing

I would recommend Paddy’s to anyone. The bar area is not very large and fills up quickly. The bar area is great for pre dinner drinks and after dinner drinks. They are closing in November for the season and reopening next year.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank buffgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun n food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Fun environment and good classic pub food which was awesome. Miss that. Awesome environment
, a little more pricey but if there are just two o you this is a fun place to go and central to other locations

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Morgan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly Upscale Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Paddy's is a very pretty upscale pub with a variety of menu items. The beer battered onions rings were the best ever! Burgers were delicious. Good beer selection and really enjoyed the Angry Orchard hard cider. Our waiter, Ben, was delightful. I wish we had time for a second visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Debra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paddy's Irish Pub also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Paddy's Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing