We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charter Fishing on The Islander” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bar Harbor Boat Tours

Bar Harbor Boat Tours
Certificate of Excellence
Roseville, California
1 review
“Charter Fishing on The Islander”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

The Islander had a great crew with Capt. Matt and First Mate Sabrina. The boat was clean and the coffee was hot. Capt found good spots and we caught mostly pollock on our four hour charter. A great experience at a very reasonable rate.

Greg from Roseville Calif.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    17
    1
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
MetroWest Boston
Level Contributor
190 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Perfect ending to our Acadian Adventure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our 3 plus hour VIP tour of Somes Sound. Although we had taken a Somes Sound tour on a prior visit from North East Harbor, this tour started in Bar Harbor. I really enjoyed touring by the Porcupine Islands and all the sites we had seen (or might have seen if we had found a parking place) from land such as Sand Beach and Thunder Hole.

The boat is small but has room to sit either inside or out. I would highly recommend sitting in the front of the boat outside for the best views, but be sure to bring warm clothes. I wore a shirt, a fleece jacket and my winter parka. Ok, maybe it was a bit of overkill, but I was warm and it was windy out there on the ocean. Keep in mind this was Labor Day week, so if you are coming from a warm climate, don't feel silly bringing your winter jacket on a trip to Acadia.

We saw the coastline from Bar Harbor around the east coast of MDI and into Somes Sound. While doing so we were treated to a running commentary of the history of the island and tidbits of who owns which home...if that is of interest. The guide who is a local and a former ranger was very knowledgeable and discussed many aspects about the area including the birds and animals. We were treated to a close up view of many seals and we also rode by a few light houses including the ugliest light house in Maine.

I did get a tiny sunburn, so do not forget your sunscreen even if it is cold and you have your winter parka on! I enjoyed the trip immensely and would recommend it. It was $45 for an adult and $42 for a senior. It leaves from by the Atlantic Hotel and has free parking.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Buttercup92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
263 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Scenic Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We went on the Somes Sound Tour. This runs later in the season. It left around 1:30, and lasted for 3 hours. This goes down the east coast of Mount Desert Isle. In addition to seeing the natural scenery, you see about 4 lighthouses, and the island with the seals. The boat goes into a lot of the bays, all of the way to Somes Sound. You get to see a lot of the summer 'cottages'. Our guide was a retired Acadia ranger, and he was very informative about the park, island, and some of the homes, without talking constantly. Would recommend.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
364 reviews
145 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“very educational tour, great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

we booked the late afternoon tour since we were traveling with 2 small kids and that tour is a little shorter than the other tours they do. The guide was great, very informative on all the rules of lobster fishing and history of the area. On our tour we got to see a lot of houses on the coast, the porcupine islands and egg rock lighthouse. I'd recommend the tour as it's nice to see the area from the water.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mr_hand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hill,MI
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lighthouse Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We enjoyed seeing Acadia National Park from the boat. Another highlight was watching the seals play on the rocks around a lighthouse. Be sure to wear a patch or take Dramamine if you have trouble with motion sickness.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RetiredTeacher33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Harbor Boat Tours also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Bar Harbor Boat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing