We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and clean place, wonderful view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2007

Very nice place. We had a very big, comfortable and clean room with a great view.
The staff was helpful. The swimming pool was really worth it.
I recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank darkrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,189 - 1,195 of 1,266 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2007

We always go to this hotel, and the Atlantic Eyrie Lodge. Both are some of the best hotels in all of Bar Harbor. The Atlantic Oaks has the most beautiful views, in almost every room. I reccomend staying in the main building. The indoor heated pool is amazing, and great for all ages. It has a spot to sit and be blasted with water jets. The hot-tub is wonderful, and big.

The rooms are amazing, with comfortable beds, great, clean rooms, bathrooms, and a wonderful view of the Frenchmen bay. Every morning, we love watching the CAT ferry depart from the bay. The balconys are fantastic, and we love sitting outside in the morning and watching the water.

The lobby is beautiful, and has a great decor. The lounge is great, and breakfests are amazing. The breakfest is a full buffet, with everything you can think of. You can walk down into the dining area with your food, and sit at a table, enjoying the WONDERFULL view of the bay from the giant glass window around, above, and to the sides of the beautiful breakfest area.

If you stay in the warmer months, the outdoor saltwater pool is a great place to spend a few hours. The hotel also has a fitness center overlooking the indoor pool. The suites in the Willows are great too, and is a great destination for older guests. The two lighted tennis courts are a blast, along with the great service of the laundry centers. The rooms are handicap access, golf carts are avalible, it is close to Bar Harbor, and the Acadia Natinial Park. There is free coffee and Hot Coaco, a romantic dock, the free shuttle bus lets you keep your car parked at the hotel while you explore the island. The Oaks also does weddings, meetings, and confrences. It is a great resort for all ages, all familys, all people, and everyone that wants to stay at one of the best resorts in all of Bar Harbor. I reccomend it 100%, and dont see why anyone would say ANYTHING bad about it. The service is fantastic, staff freindly, and grounds and rooms clean. See their website @ ---

This is the best hotel ever.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank barharborlover123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2007

We stayed at the Atlantic Oakes By the Sea very briefly (15 minutes) last June. After walking into the room, seeing the "garage sale" decor, and trying the bed (which slanted head downward). After complaining to the front desk about the sloping bed, and being told they had no more rooms, we made a quick escape to the Holiday Inn next door! The HI was lovely, and the price was somewhat less expensive, BUT we had to pay for our room at Atlantic Oakes (one night), since we had been in the room for 15 minutes.

AWFUL accomodations!!! Truly, we tried to find something that we could live with at Atlantic Oakes, but the sloping bed was the last straw....

These folks definitely mislead "out of towners", with their online description and photos. We've never been so overcharged for accomodations!!!

We will continue to return to beautiful Bar Harbor, but will definitely not be staying here. The Bar Harbor Inn is a wonderful alternative, for about the same money!!! And, there are so many other choices, both in town and out!

Stayed: February 2007
6  Thank RedBubbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2006

The place was average. The room was a typical motel room. Nothing special. The pool is small but nice. It has a place to sit with jets in it. Plus the hot tub was nice. THe place put my room fee and another couples room on my credit card and gave me a hard time about getting the money back. That was the only thing really bad about this place. It is a ways out of town. Only 5 min drive. I would not stay here again. There are nicer places and friendlier staffers else where.

  • Stayed: October 2005, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank makgambit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strawberry2769, manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2007

I am sorry you felt you were double charged. I do not understand all the background of this incident but I am sure if it would of been brought to our attention I see no reason for it not to be taken care of ASAP. Again I am sorry for all this, maybe someday you will give us a chance to make it right.

Thank you
The Atlantic Oakes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2006

We spent 3 days at the Atlantic Oakes in August. I chose it because it was in Bar Harbor (not in Ellsworth which is too far away from Acadia), mid-priced, and cause I got a deal that included the full breakfast every day ($150 a night including there $8.50 buffet for all of us for our 3 days). The property consists of several buildings. Upon arriving at the hotel, it was raining and they were set to give us a room at one of the buildings other than the main one. I asked for an upgrade. The manager asked how long we were staying. When I told her 3 nights she changed our room and gave us one in the main building with an amazing view of the water. The room was a good size for a family of 4 and had a refrigerator. The mattresses were comfortable. The hotel had 2 pools. It was too cool to use the outside pool, but the kids used the indoor pool and the hottub and were quite happy. The breakfast is a full buffet breakfast (scrambled eggs, pancakes, french toast, bacon, sausages, cold cereal, oatmeal, various juices, and many danishes and muffins) and was a great way to start the day. The thing that turned out to be a family favorite was the free coffee and hot chocolate in the lobby. We had many cups and on a cool morning or a night cap it hit the spot. Also, since I often got up before the rest of the family, I would go down to the lounge by the lobby where they had couches and a television. In all, our stay was a hit and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kodachrome2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Atlantic Oaks July 17th-21st, and we loved it. Our room was very clean, with a balcony overlooking Frenchman Bay. The sunrise over the bay was beautiful, and we also enjoyed watching the "Cat" ferry arrive and depart daily. The staff was very friendly, and the breakfast was excellent. One morning, we even sat on our balcony and watched one of the locals checking lobster traps. Atlantic Oaks is about a mile or so from downtown Bar Harbor, and we quickly discovered the best thing to do is leave your car at the hotel, and ride the free Island Explorer shuttle bus into town. There is a bus stop right there at the hotel, with buses arriving every 20 or 30 minutes or so. We had a wonderful experience, and we definitely plan on returning.


  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank SparkleCracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2006

We just returned from one night's stay and really enjoyed this hotel. The view from our room on the second floor of the main building was wonderful. The room was spotless, no odors and a nice clean bathroom. The staff was knowledgeable and very friendly. The only thing we were disappointed in was the wireless service. We tried to check the internet for a place to eat and couldn't get service though they offered it. Overall, we were very satisfied and will go back!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank lethargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
389 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,775 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#5 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#33 of 41 in Bar Harbor
375 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
728 reviews
1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center

Address: 119 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1137
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#8 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $133 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 12 beautiful acres just one mile from downtown Bar Harbor and the main entrance to Acadia National Park, the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel offers an ocean view from every room. Our brand new Atlantic View building offers everything you would expect from a modern hotel with fantastic views. Close enough to all the action of town, but just far enough away so you can relax. Our new rooms, friendly staff, and seasonal packages are the perfect combination of quality and value. Let us show you how beautiful the Maine coast can be.The AO is proud to announce the Grand Opening of its all new Bistro on Eden, a full service restaurant and bar.And with a great location comes great responsibility. The Bistro on Eden is a warm, lively restaurant and bar where people can be themselves and meet others in a friendly, comfortable setting. Overlooking Frenchman's Bay it offers smashing views and intimate outdoor seating, where every seat faces the Atlantic Ocean. We feature great tasting fresh, seasonal comfort cooking with ingredients that are primarily sourced from local, small scale vendors. Above all you can expect warm, genuine service. That is something upon which we pride ourselves.We are located inside the lobby of the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel, 119 Eden St. Bar Harbor, and Maine 04609. Open Wed. ~ Sat. 5Pm ~ 9pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Oakes Resort
Atlantic Oakes Hotel
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel And Event Center Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing