We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Propety/Reccomend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2006

My family and I stayed at The Atlantic Oakes last weekend (July 14-16). The resort is beautiful; The grounds are widespread, adorned with annuals everywhere. (They must spend a fortune on flowers). We spent alot of time walking around the property and stopped at the front desk each time to get complimentary coffee & hot chocolate. The facilities are maintained well and the rooms are clean. The pools (indoor and outdoor) were clean & there were plenty of chairs. The staff is friendly & accommodating.
Our room was located on the 2nd floor w/balcony- We woke up looking at the ocean view each morning. We were struck by how quiet and serene the property was given how many other people were there and the fact that this must be one of their peak seasons.
We caught a comedy show at their conference center on Saturday night-It was excellent! hope they do this again next summer, we would definitely book our vacation around it.

By far, there are two things I loved about staying here. The first is the "Island Explorer" shuttle buses that transport you all over Bar Harbor for free (donations accepted). They stop at a handful of hotels, one of which was ours, thankfully. It runs early a.m. until late evening aprox. every half hour and from what I understand, this is during the summer/peak season only. The buses are clean & seem family oriented/ there were alot of other families using them. It was nice to be able to go to dinner & have a drink or two and to not worry about driving but instead be dropped off at the hotel.
The other part we absolutely loved was the breakfast buffet.
They have a nice variety of food: French toast, waffles, lobster quiche, scrambled eggs, homefries,toast/bagels, cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt/granola, pastries and more. NO ONE in my family complained about this meal,we all loved it, there was something for everyone. Although the indoor dining room is not luxurious, if the weather is good, you must sit on the outdoor deck for breakfast. The patio has tables with umbrellas and you eat breakfast looking out over the ocean, there is nothing quite like it.
My entire family enjoyed the weekend, we'll definitely be back.

Stayed: July 2006
5  Thank VisitingMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,200 - 1,206 of 1,268 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Maynard, MA
15
Reviewed July 16, 2006

My fiance and I just returned from a long weekend in Bar Harbor at the Atlantic Oakes. Our vacation was great with the exception of our hotel. The online description of the hotel is very misleading - there is no private beach (however you are on the water), and breakfast is not included. The staff was extremely unhelpful when it came to suggestions as well. They could not offer up restaurant suggestions, and when we asked what there was to do on a rainy day they came up with nothing (however we ended up finding plenty to do). Our room was also infested with ants! When we told the front desk, they made a note of it but did not apologize or take any immediate action. We saw lots of other places we wished we had stayed at, so I would recommend that its worth it to stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Atlantic Oakes this past weekend, Friday, 5/5--Sun, 5/7 for an anniversary weekend. We had never been to Bar Harbour before and I researched reviews for hotels before booking this one. We were looking for a reasonably priced hotel with an indoor pool for this time of year and preferably ocean-front. We booked a superior ocean front room according to the reviews we read. If you are looking off-season for a reasonably priced, very clean hotel on the water with all the amenities of an indoor pool, gym, breakfast for $8.50 per person (which, by the way, was just fine). It is set up as a buffet, continental style but the waitstaff let us know that they also cook to order. They made my husband eggbeaters and also had french toast, waffles, pancakes and eggs. This is not the Ritz but it is probably the best kept secret in Bar Harbour. Immaculate, view is breathtaking, front desk staff and waitstaff very nice and helpful. You can walk into town (about 1 mile) and they have a shuttle bus in season. Also 1 mile from Acadia National Park (also a must see). We were not looking for the Ritz and not willing to pay a fortune. We were very, very pleased. If you are looking for a 5 star hotel with all the pampering this is not for you but if you are looking for a comfortable, clean, friendly, breathtaking views, in a perfect location you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank vacation0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2006

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hleahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2006

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank maritimer_lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Boston, MA
14
Reviewed February 21, 2006

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2006

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maineisgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 42 in Bar Harbor
389 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 42 in Bar Harbor
1,777 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#5 of 42 in Bar Harbor
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#32 of 42 in Bar Harbor
376 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 42 in Bar Harbor
728 reviews
1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 42 in Bar Harbor
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center

Address: 119 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1137
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#2 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#8 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $132 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 12 beautiful acres just one mile from downtown Bar Harbor and the main entrance to Acadia National Park, the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel offers an ocean view from every room. Our brand new Atlantic View building offers everything you would expect from a modern hotel with fantastic views. Close enough to all the action of town, but just far enough away so you can relax. Our new rooms, friendly staff, and seasonal packages are the perfect combination of quality and value. Let us show you how beautiful the Maine coast can be.The AO is proud to announce the Grand Opening of its all new Bistro on Eden, a full service restaurant and bar.And with a great location comes great responsibility. The Bistro on Eden is a warm, lively restaurant and bar where people can be themselves and meet others in a friendly, comfortable setting. Overlooking Frenchman's Bay it offers smashing views and intimate outdoor seating, where every seat faces the Atlantic Ocean. We feature great tasting fresh, seasonal comfort cooking with ingredients that are primarily sourced from local, small scale vendors. Above all you can expect warm, genuine service. That is something upon which we pride ourselves.We are located inside the lobby of the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel, 119 Eden St. Bar Harbor, and Maine 04609. Open Wed. ~ Sat. 5Pm ~ 9pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Oakes Resort
Atlantic Oakes Hotel
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel And Event Center Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing