We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2008

Website portrays hotel in much better condition than it really is. Rooms were old and in need of update. Smelled of mold and mildew; later masked by housekeeping with too much Lysol.

Trash from prior occupants was around beds and nightstands; assumed housekeeping would clean up, but needed to request special service to get it done.

Rooms overlooked the ocean! This would have been great, except the lawn area between the rooms and the ocean was a pet walking area. Hotel should advise guests without pets that they are staying in one of the pet friendlly sections of the hotel. Barking dogs and pet waste were problematic.

Buffet breakfast was on a par with grammar school pancake breakfast offerings; powdered, scrambled eggs, greasy bacon and sausage, average bread offerings. "Diningroom" was at par with a school cafeteria.

Indoor pool and exercise areas were overheated. Too hot to work out and exercise equipment was in disrepair.

Checkout was not pleasant. AAA rate had not been applied and desk attendant was unpleasant as she corrected our bills, with attitude. She didn't bother to ask about our stay.

This hotel was definitely not worth the $184 per night charge. There are many nicer hotels available for comparable or lower prices.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ks15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,165 - 1,171 of 1,266 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2008

We were looking for an ocean-front hotel for a two night stay in Bar Harbor and we couldn't pass up the Atlantic Oakes deal for 2 night stays. Location of this hotel is great! Close to Bar Harbor, close to the ocea, great views. But the pictures on the website should have warned me....the rooms are old and in need of a decor update. I love staying at a hotel with a duvet and newer decor and I wish this one had it. The rooms had VERY thin walls and you could hear neighbors upstairs. Overall, we enjoyed our stay but wished there would be some updating to the decor. Next time in Bar Harbor we will try something new....

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Skywalker05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2008

Stayed there for 7 nights in September and the room was great (Building 3, 2nd floor). Incredibly clean, everything worked and an amazing view of the ocean. And the staff was great too. The breakfast buffet was so-so but we ate in town most of the time. The free shuttle stops right outside the main building for trips to town or Acadia National Park.

The only problem was an occasional motor sound/vibration from 2 floors below...water pump?

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NYCClimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2008

The website makes this place sound wonderful. We were very excited about staying here. Balcony, Ocean front, great breakfast, etc. Then we checked in. We could see the ocean, the balcony had no chairs, but lots of moss growing on it. Really, really outdated. The shower was pathetic. The place smelled old, looked tired, and really needed a lot of work. We checked out the next morning and went to the Harborside which was wonderful. There is also the Nova Scotia Ferry right outside our room that had it generators running all night. Not a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marylandgirl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2008

My wife and our 2 golden retrievers went to The Atlantic Oaks for a week. It was exactly as described here on trip advisor we had a really good experience. The place could not have been more perfect for our vacation. It was a great place if you have pets. We stayed in one of the buildings that stands away from the main hotel. We had our own entrance with a great view of the water. The room was quiet and clean. There were many great places on the property to walk your dog. They provided dog waste clean up stations which made things easy. Access to the many awesome things to do on Mt. Desert Island was quick and easy. I would go back tomorrow if I could.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RickParham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2008

After spending a long weekend in Bar Harbor and seeing some of the other hotels and motels, this is out of many, the best for not only the value, but for being cosest to the ocean and having the best uninterrupted views!! This hotel consists of 6 buildings which from the outside look like a cluster of different styles and not that impressive. But on the inside, the rooms are all brand new and very spacious. So much that you could fit an entire family in and still have plenty of room. The property is large and has two pools, one indoor and one outdoor and both salt water and heated! The staff is friendly from check to check out and there is a conference center as well and continental breakfast. If you stay here you will be blown away by te views. Ask to stay in building 5 or 6 because the views are unobstructed and every room has a private deck with chairs. The view is so good and peaceful you forget you are in a hotel. The location is right along route 3, 5 minutes from Acadia main entrance and a short 2 mintue drive to town where there is plenty of parking all the time, or you can take the free shuttles that pick up right in the hotel lot. In all this was worth every penny and you still save money compared to the other nearby hotels that cost over hundred bucks more! Do yourself a favor, well visiting Bar Habor, stay here!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lip89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2008

We had a wonderful, peaceful two-night stay at The Willows, Suite 825. Beautifully decorated with gorgeous views of Frenchman Bay. This is a home built in 1913 and you are invited to explore to your heart's content! The provided robes were extremely comfortable, the bathroom was updated. (Caution: Turn on the shower BEFORE you step in, if you don't want to get your hair soaked! Water comes out of shower head instantly!!) The grounds at Atlantic Oakes offer some beautiful scenery, particularly around The Willows property.
The staff was friendly and helpful and although you are "on your own" at The Willows, they sent someone over from the main hotel immediately when we called. It was actually nice to be there with no staff in the house and made it seem that we were just visiting family. We never saw or heard any other guests.
The breakfast passes were a wonderful touch and the food was very good. We would definitely stay at The Willows again. It truly was like staying with family!
Just FYI, we had a bad experience at The Fish House Grill, which overlooks the wharf in Bar Harbor. The waiter was incredibly rude, argued with my mother about what she had ordered after learning he had brought the wrong salad, and just ruined our whole dining experience that night. Then, when the bills came, my parents were still charged for the wrong item (which just happened to cost double what the item ordered cost!). When my husband talked to the manager about it, the charge then showed up on our bill!! We're still waiting to see how they charged it to our credit card and how it will be resolved as the manager told my husband that we "might" have been charged TWICE. Also, we were automatically charged for a 15 % tip when the waiter actually did not deserve half that amount. Anyway, I would certainly never go there again, nor recommend the Fish House Grill to anyone!
We would highly recommend eating at Testa's. I'd love to go there again for the Lobster Fettucine. Service, food, atmosphere, view, all magnificent! Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Doretta67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
389 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,775 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#5 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#33 of 41 in Bar Harbor
375 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
728 reviews
1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center

Address: 119 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1137
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#8 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $133 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 12 beautiful acres just one mile from downtown Bar Harbor and the main entrance to Acadia National Park, the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel offers an ocean view from every room. Our brand new Atlantic View building offers everything you would expect from a modern hotel with fantastic views. Close enough to all the action of town, but just far enough away so you can relax. Our new rooms, friendly staff, and seasonal packages are the perfect combination of quality and value. Let us show you how beautiful the Maine coast can be.The AO is proud to announce the Grand Opening of its all new Bistro on Eden, a full service restaurant and bar.And with a great location comes great responsibility. The Bistro on Eden is a warm, lively restaurant and bar where people can be themselves and meet others in a friendly, comfortable setting. Overlooking Frenchman's Bay it offers smashing views and intimate outdoor seating, where every seat faces the Atlantic Ocean. We feature great tasting fresh, seasonal comfort cooking with ingredients that are primarily sourced from local, small scale vendors. Above all you can expect warm, genuine service. That is something upon which we pride ourselves.We are located inside the lobby of the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel, 119 Eden St. Bar Harbor, and Maine 04609. Open Wed. ~ Sat. 5Pm ~ 9pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Oakes Resort
Atlantic Oakes Hotel
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel And Event Center Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing