We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed 5 nights in new building. Large room with balcony looking over harbor. Very friendly and helpful staff. Slightly outside of town, but free bus stops at property. Also offers (thru a different company) both fishing and nature cruises right at your door step. Great and easy way to tour the area from the Harbor Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

852 - 858 of 1,266 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

Room. - Nice, big enough for 5, beautiful view.

Staff- ok, pleasant enough, didn't have a ton of interaction.

Location - ehhh, it's on the water in a beautiful spot, but it's a mile to town where all the action is. Could walk I suppose(no sidewalks though), but we drove. It's convenient to the park, and there's a nature cruise that leaves from the premises(worth doing).

Food- only ate breakfast (continental) it's included. Was ok, decent variety, room where they offer it was not particularly attractive or opulent, felt a little crowded and like a free for all.

Value- relative to the other options we looked at, I feel like it's a good value. If you are looking for a nice place to take your family that's relatively moderately priced , this is a good option.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We paid for 4 nights in advance months ago. Upon arrival we were given the worst room possible! Our deck stared at the people eating outside in their new restaurant/ feet away. Filthy roof and decking! Toilet seat jerked off to the side when I sat on it wrenching my back. We tried to purchase coffee or a cup of soup because I had back spasms and they said "sorry, we do not have any to go cups!!! " SERIOUSLY? GO BUY SOME! When we checked in, the man refused to switch our room right next to the lobby claiming no other room available. Two days later after several attempts, J agreed to switch us to a nicer room. We then were finally waterfront which is what we paid for but stuck with an old window air conditioner.,.,loud and lousy! Better room but we will never stay there again! ONE HORRIBLE STAY and we travel often! Worst experience yet!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cruizerdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AOH, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

I am sorry that after demanding a refund or else you would write a bad review on trip advisor, you decided to follow thru with your threat. The truth of the matter is you booked your reservation online and requested 7110 which is a king room with a kitchen ocean view.Because you requested this room, we put a don not move on your reservation and during the busy season we sell out fast. Becuause this room has a kitchen it comes with plates, glasses, coffee cups, silverware, coffee maker, etc. It is located 100 feet from our restaurant patio and we do serve soup and would have been glad to deliver it to your room.

Besides the fact that you had coffee and coffee cups in your guest room that was replenshed daily by housekeeping, we have complimentary coffee available in our lobby 24 hours a day in to go cups.

I checked all of our maintenance logs during your stay and found no calls to the front desk concerning the a loose toilet seat. We have maintenance on-call 8am until 10pm at night to make sure any maintenance issues get repaired immediately. As soon as another room came available we honored your request and moved you.

I am not in the habit of responding to guest in this manner but once you threatened the hotel, you crossed the line. I believe that once future guest read all the reviews aroiund yours they will see this review for what it is. I am sorry tat you decided to take this route and wish you all the best in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this property beginning August 7, 2013. The room and view were very nice. The staff was exceptional from the front desk to housekeeping. Very friendly and courteous. The breakfast which was included offered a lot of different food selections. And the free shuttle bus was a huge benefit. We hiked 4 days at Acadia, which was the highlight of our 2 week East Coast trip. The Atlantic Oceanside Hotel was so convenient to the park. We will stay there again. Pat M.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor in the main building and facing the view. We have zero complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pemAlexandria_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Atlantic Oceanside is located on Route 3, the main thoroughfare in to town, but somehow it feels off the beaten path. Ride your bike into the park right from your room...walk into town and take the bus back (it's right on the bus route) and enjoy easy access to all things MDI. Or sit on your deck/patio and read or stare at the ocean. Coffee's available in the main lobby at 5 am and the continental breakfast is substantial.
Had a quick bite at the bar/bistro one evening and was happy to find the bartender (Eric?) knowledgeable about micro brews. We had a great conversation about Oxbow Brewery, Maine's latest craft sensation (located in Newcastle.)
Consider Atlantic Oceanside as you make your MDI/BH plans.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lm26Weare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Atlantic building on the fourth floor with a balcony offering an incredible view on the Ocean. We enjoyed the size of the room and more practically, the bathroom. Acadia National Park is near by and offer great adventures.

Room Tip: Higher level floors offered better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Our family of four (spouse plus two teenage boys and myself) just spent 5 glorious nights at Atlantic Oceanside. The room was lovely the beds and linens were outstanding, the porch was gorgeous but only two chairs, both the outdoor and indoor pools were lovely- we swam in both on most days before we set out in the am or before dinner, the breakfast was nothing special but certainly adequate and the staff was helpful and friendly. It was a lot of money for us to spend but we were in desperate need of a nice getaway all together and we are very happy with our choice. We would certainly recommend this place to our friends who can afford it. The location was also terrific.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
389 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,775 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#5 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#33 of 41 in Bar Harbor
375 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
728 reviews
1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center

Address: 119 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1137
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#8 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $133 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 12 beautiful acres just one mile from downtown Bar Harbor and the main entrance to Acadia National Park, the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel offers an ocean view from every room. Our brand new Atlantic View building offers everything you would expect from a modern hotel with fantastic views. Close enough to all the action of town, but just far enough away so you can relax. Our new rooms, friendly staff, and seasonal packages are the perfect combination of quality and value. Let us show you how beautiful the Maine coast can be.The AO is proud to announce the Grand Opening of its all new Bistro on Eden, a full service restaurant and bar.And with a great location comes great responsibility. The Bistro on Eden is a warm, lively restaurant and bar where people can be themselves and meet others in a friendly, comfortable setting. Overlooking Frenchman's Bay it offers smashing views and intimate outdoor seating, where every seat faces the Atlantic Ocean. We feature great tasting fresh, seasonal comfort cooking with ingredients that are primarily sourced from local, small scale vendors. Above all you can expect warm, genuine service. That is something upon which we pride ourselves.We are located inside the lobby of the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel, 119 Eden St. Bar Harbor, and Maine 04609. Open Wed. ~ Sat. 5Pm ~ 9pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Oakes Resort
Atlantic Oakes Hotel
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel And Event Center Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing