We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Based ourselves here for 4 days to explore Arcadia national park. Stayed in the atlantic view building had a lovely spacious room with a big walk in shower. The continental breakfast was good with a wide selection, only criticism would be the disposable plates & cutlery used at breakfast. It seemed contradictory to have a protect the planet sign in the bathroom & then throw all the plates etc away

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AOH, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thanks for your great comment's. I just wanted to let you know that our plates and flatware used at the continental breakfast are made out of corn starch and are completely bio-degradable.

Again thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    431
    119
    52
    24
See reviews for
404
510
17
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

A perfectly acceptable option for reasonable price with Bar Harbor, but so many mis-steps kept it from really being an exceptional stay. While none of them major by themselves, added together it just meant missed opportunities.

We stayed in the Maine Building. While the room was spacious and had great ocean views, it felt outdated and slightly dirty. One of the chairs in the room had an obvious stain on it. Wireless was spotty for those who care. Fitness room consisted of four cardio machines, one of which was out of order, but all had seen better days. The exterior on the stairwell to our fourth floor room was rusted, dirty to the point of being really noticeable.

Atlantic seems to try and sit between budget and more premium locations around Bar Harbor. And while they may aim for the former, they are slipping to the latter.

It appears that they have added new buildings and if you stay in those places, you may get an entirely different experience. Not horrible stay but just not that memorable. Would definitely try some other places before going back.

Room Tip: The rooms with a water view are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BThomasC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AOH, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thanks for taking time out of your busy stay to let us know the things we need to work on. It is our goal to be come the Number 1 service hotel in Bar Harbor and without guests like you letting us now what we need to work on, we cannot achieve that goal. For us cleanliness is at the top of the list, so we have discarded the chair you mentioned.

The building you stayed in has outside corridor's and with the harsh Maine winter's it is sometimes hard to cover up all of Mother Natures damage, but we are looking into your reports.

Because we have so many families and children, we only have cardio machines in our fitness center, and are hoping to upgrade them this off-season.

You will find hopefully when you arrive back home, a gift certificate from me offering you and your family a complimentary 2-nights stay and I hope you will give us another try and see that your comments really do make a difference.

Again thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knoxville
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed here on June 18th and we love it! We were on the lower level and the water was just feet from our porch! Breakfast was included and it was awesome as well! Brad at the front desk was very helpful to us! Praying for his wife's MS!!! We will be back!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debclowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My wife and I checked into the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel & Event Center in Bar Harbor, Maine for a planned two day stop on our 23 day self-directed tour of Nova Scotia and the coast of New England. As soon as we entered the room, we were drawn to the balcony and the incredible view across the water. Within a few minutes, we agreed to call the front desk and extend our say by two days. Julius Wilson, General Manager, has an outstanding staff. We hated to leave and will return for another visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 259jrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had a great time at this hotel. The rooms were spacious and very clean . Location to the city of Bar Harbor and Acadia National park were the reason we chose this hotel. It was nice to have an indoor pool for the days that the weather was on the cool side.

Room Tip: We stayed in the new section facing the water. Beautiful view and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catthy1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Room was clean, staff was friendly. Stayed in the Alantic View room. The pools were clean and warm. The Jacuzzi inside was dirty. Or seemed to be... Breakfast was ok; breads, fruit, cereal. Close to downtown but not downtown. Grounds were nice. Main building looks nice. Ceilings I noticed need work. on the water. Nice views

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This place was perfect. The people were very helpful and our room was one of the nicest we have stayed in. We wanted to be close to downtown but not in town. Every room had a view of the ocean. It was quiet and peaceful. They have a indoor and outdoor pool. Close to food and the park.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,275 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,665 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,105 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#31 of 41 in Bar Harbor
390 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center

Property: Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Address: 119 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1137
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#10 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 12 beautiful acres just one mile from downtown Bar Harbor and the main entrance to Acadia National Park, the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel offers an ocean view from every room. Our brand new Atlantic View building offers everything you would expect from a modern hotel with fantastic views. Close enough to all the action of town, but just far enough away so you can relax. Our new rooms, friendly staff, and seasonal packages are the perfect combination of quality and value. Let us show you how beautiful the Maine coast can be.The AO is proud to announce the Grand Opening of its all new Bistro on Eden, a full service restaurant and bar.And with a great location comes great responsibility. The Bistro on Eden is a warm, lively restaurant and bar where people can be themselves and meet others in a friendly, comfortable setting. Overlooking Frenchman's Bay it offers smashing views and intimate outdoor seating, where every seat faces the Atlantic Ocean. We feature great tasting fresh, seasonal comfort cooking with ingredients that are primarily sourced from local, small scale vendors. Above all you can expect warm, genuine service. That is something upon which we pride ourselves.We are located inside the lobby of the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel, 119 Eden St. Bar Harbor, and Maine 04609. Open Wed. ~ Sat. 5Pm ~ 9pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Oakes Resort
Atlantic Oakes Hotel
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel And Event Center Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing