We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Edmundston
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice stay!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

As we walked in without a reservation, the front desk clerk, who was already on the phone, acknowledged us by asking if we had a reservation and quoting us a rate. He then switched us over to another clerk who had walked in. This young gentleman (without a name tag) was polite, checked us in professionally, he did not mention our room number as we were asking how to get to our room because there was another couple standing behind us. When we asked about dining facilities, no mention of any restaurants on premises were given. Directions to nearby restaurants were given. We asked about the pub across the street and were told that there were mixed reviews on the place and that we maybe should pick something else. The room itself was very nice and clean. The view standing on the balcony was great, not so great looking down from the balcony though. The exterior of the building does not reflect the interior (interior way nicer). The breakfast nook is great, lots of good food and the seating place is large. So overall, physical appearance, amenities, food and service, we give a note of 4. We would return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frontdesk2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    436
    122
    52
    24
See reviews for
413
516
17
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stowe, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Nicely updated hotel. Oceanfront location, comfortable rooms. The complimentary breakfast is excellent, way more options than the usual continental breakfast. On the Eden St bus line or 15 minute walk to town.

Room Tip: If in main building try and get a room above the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BVSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Our room was exceptional! Our room was very spacious for 3 people and very clean. We liked having the continential breakfast before starting our day. Our room had a great view of the water. We loved having a balcony to watch the sunrise and sunset. Very peaceful. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I am extremely pleased with the location and service of this hotel.

It is close to the downtown area of Bar Harbor without being in it. That means that you can visit the busy summer streets of downtown whenever you want without being caught in it constantly. You can spend quiet relax time at the hotel and go to the "city" whenever the mode strikes.

My husband and I stayed in the new Atlantic View section. It was great. All rooms have a full balcony with wide views of Frenchman Bay. You can watch the tides come, the tides go, the sun rise, the sun set, and the people and animal movements. This is all quiet and restful. There is the occasional neighbor who is a little loud, but that is very infrequent.

The rooms are clean, comfortable and large enough for several-day stays. The bathroom is great because it has a walk-in shower instead of those dumb tubs that I doubt anyone uses very often. The beds are very comfortable also.

The breakfast is great with a large dining area, many food options including many breads, pastries, cereals, fruits, coffee, eggs, and juices. The service is fast and helpful.

Two Acadia National Park entrances are within a mile. This makes visiting the park a breeze. It is a delightful national park that is extremely people friendly. Cadillac Mountain has walks designed so that even people in wheelchairs can get to the very top. This is highly unusual. Hiking, biking, boating, and swimming are all easy to do here. Be sure to have a great time in this park!

My husband indicated that there were some children making noise above us and that we needed a TV listing. The management responded fast and positively to both situations. This is what all hotels should be like. Go here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its close location to town but not too close. Very friendly staff, clean rooms and great views of the harbor. The nature cruise boat docks right at the hotel, so its convenient for those who want that. Restaurant on site for dinner is a little pricey but if you dont want to go to town its great. Breakfast every morning has a great selection of baked goods, cereals and fruit. If you want to order more, there is a menu option for a price. Very quiet at night and guests are friendly too

Room Tip: Higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redsfan_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madbury, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My Husband and I stayed here this past weekend for two days. Our room overlooked the Bay, it had a nice balcony with chairs and a table to relax. The Hotel is not super fancy, but it had all of the amenities we were looking for. You can also take the nature cruise, which leaves from the hotel and is inexpensive. Very worth it. We really enjoyed our time there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kris10381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Connecticut, United States
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We spent 4 nights in this hotel, June 16-20 2013. The room was excellent! We stayed in the newest building, it had everything you needed to make your stay enjoyable. It was great to be able to make coffee and sit out on the balcony overlooking the bay watching the sunrise in the morning. The staff was great, very kind and courteous. We took the Nature Cruise that left the dock right off the back of the hotel....it was amazing! The hotel is close to downtown Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Our package came with a full breakfast, but they also had a wonderful continental breakfast too. We had a wonderful and relaxing vacation. The only thing if there was anything negative to say was the wifi was a little lacking, but it didn't really matter as we were there to relax. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,326 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
654 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,135 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#27 of 41 in Bar Harbor
412 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center

Property: Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Address: 119 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1137
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#2 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#10 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 12 beautiful acres just one mile from downtown Bar Harbor and the main entrance to Acadia National Park, the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel offers an ocean view from every room. Our brand new Atlantic View building offers everything you would expect from a modern hotel with fantastic views. Close enough to all the action of town, but just far enough away so you can relax. Our new rooms, friendly staff, and seasonal packages are the perfect combination of quality and value. Let us show you how beautiful the Maine coast can be.The AO is proud to announce the Grand Opening of its all new Bistro on Eden, a full service restaurant and bar.And with a great location comes great responsibility. The Bistro on Eden is a warm, lively restaurant and bar where people can be themselves and meet others in a friendly, comfortable setting. Overlooking Frenchman's Bay it offers smashing views and intimate outdoor seating, where every seat faces the Atlantic Ocean. We feature great tasting fresh, seasonal comfort cooking with ingredients that are primarily sourced from local, small scale vendors. Above all you can expect warm, genuine service. That is something upon which we pride ourselves.We are located inside the lobby of the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel, 119 Eden St. Bar Harbor, and Maine 04609. Open Wed. ~ Sat. 5Pm ~ 9pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Oakes Resort
Atlantic Oakes Hotel
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel And Event Center Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing