We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Gathering”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Raynham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family Gathering”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Flew my on and his family in from San Diego and rented two rooms. Rooms were comfortable, spacious and had balconies overlooking the ocean. While not in downtown Bar Harbor, very convenient to it and very convenient to Acadia National Park.
Staff could not be friendlier. Indoor pool could be better lit and a little warmer but hot tub was great. Highly recommend this and will stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms in main building do not have to walk outside to get to the pool or restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YNCS_Ret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    420
    115
    52
    24
See reviews for
392
497
16
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
paris
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Was there during low season of Acadia national park so it was very quiet. I had a room directly at garden (and sea) level: I would really recommend it because you can rest outside in front of the room enjoying the view and sound of waves. Hotel is very clean, rooms almost new. Wifi excellent. Microwave oven and fridge. Breakfast is excellent and of course in front of the sea. Staff is completely at your service. Only 2min by car from bar harbor city center.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solarios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our first stay at the Atlantic but by no means our first trip to Bar Harbor. Fantastic Ocean views from all rooms and extensive complimentary breakfast. The rooms were clean and well appointed and the staff very accommodating.
The tile floors in the pet friendly rooms were appreciated as it rained all weekend. Would highly recommend the Atlantic and plan to come back.

Room Tip: Building 6 has a stream running by it for those that appreciate running water. Pet rooms are closes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arth42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patchogue, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our stay was very nice. the staff was friendly and our room was very clean. we had a water view room with a lovely outdoor space. A great continental breakfast greeted us each morning and a lovely lounge overlooking the water was available for food or drinks. My only issue is that the hotel advertises free wireless service. They do have free wireless but it doesn't work from the room 90% of the time. When it did work it was very weak and cut off quickly the front desk needed to reset the router a few times to no avail. The response from the person at the desk at 11 o'clock at night was "well you can come here to the lobby and use it". That was unacceptable to me and unfortunately I missed a deadline for a project that needed to be submitted. All in all it was a very nice place to stay and I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghackett3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AOH, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write about our hotel and staff, we are happy you enjoyed the hotel and found our staff courteous and helpful. Let me apologize on behalf of all of us, as you know we had rain during your stay and it knocked out our wireless system, but there should be no exceptions and we are sorry that we let you down in that area, we are working to fix it immediately, so that it will not happen again. I have sent you an email with a coupon so that the next time you are in Bar Harbor you can try us again and be my guest for one night. Again thanks for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Darby, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2013

From the moment we arrived the staff was attentive and welcoming. Our room was very clean and most accommodating. Spacious balcony added to the warm atmosphere and we were pleased with the decor. Our two day stay was enjoyable and memorable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 555Debra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houlton,maine
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

had another great stay, rooms are spacious, clean and the place has all the amenities. Definately will probably say here again when in the area.And the complimetary breakfast was plentiful with everything you need to start the day. Can sit inside or out.And it is true every room does have an oceanview.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leswin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Nice and clean, comfortable bed, great view from the Main Building. We skipped breakfast cause we wanted to try some local breakfast places but it is continental breakfast with plenty of choices. We took a boat tour ( there is a discount for nature tours if you are staying at this hotel). we had rough waters but still was great experience after all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anya141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,240 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,642 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
586 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#14 of 41 in Bar Harbor
605 reviews
1.4 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center

Property: Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Address: 119 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1137
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#2 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#10 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 12 beautiful acres just one mile from downtown Bar Harbor and the main entrance to Acadia National Park, the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel offers an ocean view from every room. Our brand new Atlantic View building offers everything you would expect from a modern hotel with fantastic views. Close enough to all the action of town, but just far enough away so you can relax. Our new rooms, friendly staff, and seasonal packages are the perfect combination of quality and value. Let us show you how beautiful the Maine coast can be.The AO is proud to announce the Grand Opening of its all new Bistro on Eden, a full service restaurant and bar.And with a great location comes great responsibility. The Bistro on Eden is a warm, lively restaurant and bar where people can be themselves and meet others in a friendly, comfortable setting. Overlooking Frenchman's Bay it offers smashing views and intimate outdoor seating, where every seat faces the Atlantic Ocean. We feature great tasting fresh, seasonal comfort cooking with ingredients that are primarily sourced from local, small scale vendors. Above all you can expect warm, genuine service. That is something upon which we pride ourselves.We are located inside the lobby of the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel, 119 Eden St. Bar Harbor, and Maine 04609. Open Wed. ~ Sat. 5Pm ~ 9pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Oakes Resort
Atlantic Oakes Hotel
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel And Event Center Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing