We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed in the newly renovated building and it was amazing.
Our room 4406 in the Atlantic building.
First of all, the pictures on their website do not do it any justice. The room was beautiful, especially the bathroom.
The view was beautiful from the deck.
A few things to highlight.
All the staff members I was in contact with were very courteous and helpful.
The room was immaculate. There were little touches all around the room that I loved. Cusions on the deck chairs, (on arrival, they were placed inside the room. No rain on them. :) )
Very high shower head in shower. My husband is very tall and this was the first time he has ever had a shower that was actually above his head. :)
Water pressure in the shower was great.
Bed was super comfy and we had plenty of pillows.
Extra pillows and blanket were in closet if we needed them.
Ceiling fan in room in case you wanted to sleep with the door open on a summer night. :)
Free breakfast in the morning was great!
On check out, I realized that there was a room off of the front desk area to sit and talk or play board games (provided by hotel)
This was in the main building, right next to the Atlantic building.
It looked so relaxing with its windows on the harbor. We just had to sit down there for a minute while my husband looked up some things on the computer (provided by hotel).
Overall, I would definately recommend this hotel. The website just does not show the true beauty of it.
Also, there is a playground out front for the kids (didnt realize this till we were leaving)

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are best I think for views of the harbor. We stayed in 4406
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,019 - 1,025 of 1,266 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

My family and I stayed at the hotel for the Mount Desert Island Marathon. The room was excellent and tastefully decorated, the view of the Frenchman's Bay beautiful. We found all the staff to be wonderful.

On the day of the marathon several participants showed up for breakfast before the official opening at 6:30 a.m.. Staff welcomed and fed us, even as they tried to finish readying the restaurant for opening (I highly recommend their homemade jams and peanut butter.).

We will definitely stay here again, if we make it back to Bar Harbor.

Room Tip: We stayed in the new building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Our room was in a building approximately 50 feet from the waters edge. The room was gorgeous and the view of Frenchman's Bay was beautiful. We sat on the patio and watched the lobster boats. You can have a free continental breakfast or order from the menu. The hotel is close to town and Acadia National Park. The Nature Cruise docks at the pier by the hotel, and as a guest of the hotel, you get a percentage off the ticket price. Loved our stay at here and intend to come back again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had to cancel our trip, due to an illness. Although the hotel was notified by their specified 7 days in advance; they kept $20.00 for a processing fee? My grandchild was taken to hospital and we had to return from our 14 day vacation earlier than expected. We sent an e-mail to the Atlantic 7 days ahead of time. They answered our e-mail at 7:23 am the following day and said we were too late, and they were keeping our paid in advance room rate. I told them we sent the e-mail the day before they read it. Then they refunded my credit card, but kept $20.00 for processing. Who does this; not any other hotel that I've used throughout the world. Also note, there are a multitude of good hotels in Bar Harbor.
BEWARE!

Beware!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank DiannaWatchung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed in a cottage for a week. We were two families so it worked out very well. It was reasonably priced and the rooms were clean. The property is minutes away from Acadia national park and downtown shopping. Kids had fun in their outdoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi. Loved our stay there. My daughter wants to go back there again. Recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank sri1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My mother and I travelled to Maine at the beginning of October. Being our first visit to the state, we wanted a beautiful room. We got it. We booked a two bedroom suite on a top floor of the new building. It was so clean and pristine, we actually wondered if we were the first to stay in it. The room had two queen beds in the main room and a king bed in a separate bedroom. There was a decent size bathroom in between. The bathroom was lovely. It did not, however, have a bathtub. It only had a large shower.

The breakfast was lovely as well. They had oatmeal, fresh fruit, cold cereal, toast, pastries, donuts and scones. They even had homemade blueberry jam and peanut butter. We were stuffed each morning when we left.

There is a nature cruise that leaves from the dock right behind the hotel. We took it. It was very misty the day we went, so many things were obscured. Also, the seas were rough and we were thrown around quite a bit on parts of the cruise. It was borderline frightening. The information presented was very interesting.

We would absolutely stay here again. Everyone was very nice and the room and breakfast were fabulous.

Room Tip: Ask for the new building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dizneylvr1971_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This hotel is located on the coastal with the rooms facing the water. The staff was friendly and the rooms were immaculate and reasonably priced! Located just minutes from the national park, delicious dining and downtown-ish shipping. We enjoyed the location so much, they accommodated us for a second night - even with a wedding party coming in.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheryl_811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
389 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,775 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#5 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#33 of 41 in Bar Harbor
375 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
728 reviews
1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center

Address: 119 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1137
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#8 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $133 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 12 beautiful acres just one mile from downtown Bar Harbor and the main entrance to Acadia National Park, the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel offers an ocean view from every room. Our brand new Atlantic View building offers everything you would expect from a modern hotel with fantastic views. Close enough to all the action of town, but just far enough away so you can relax. Our new rooms, friendly staff, and seasonal packages are the perfect combination of quality and value. Let us show you how beautiful the Maine coast can be.The AO is proud to announce the Grand Opening of its all new Bistro on Eden, a full service restaurant and bar.And with a great location comes great responsibility. The Bistro on Eden is a warm, lively restaurant and bar where people can be themselves and meet others in a friendly, comfortable setting. Overlooking Frenchman's Bay it offers smashing views and intimate outdoor seating, where every seat faces the Atlantic Ocean. We feature great tasting fresh, seasonal comfort cooking with ingredients that are primarily sourced from local, small scale vendors. Above all you can expect warm, genuine service. That is something upon which we pride ourselves.We are located inside the lobby of the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel, 119 Eden St. Bar Harbor, and Maine 04609. Open Wed. ~ Sat. 5Pm ~ 9pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Oakes Resort
Atlantic Oakes Hotel
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel And Event Center Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing