We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So so....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
170 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“So so....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

THis place was nothing special....priced like something special but really just a peanut butter and jelly...in other words, its not great but it got the job done...room was ok....breakfast was ok....location was ok....place was ok....for $200 I'd hope for more than ok....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hiplain1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    417
    111
    52
    24
See reviews for
387
484
16
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

New, clean, and great water front rooms. Bathroom was roomy and the shower was great. Comfortable beds. Great price for water view 2 queen bed rooms. Don't miss the Acadia boat tour that leaves from the dock. Great boat tour and you can't beat the convenience. You get a discount if you are a guest at the hotel.We will be back.

Room Tip: The new building had great accommodations and great water views. Next to the pool and small beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed two nights and were able to get the new building which offered a view of the cove, which added a nice ambiance for the morning and evening when we were actually in our room. The room and decor were nice and felt it was equivalent to a Radisson. I did alot of checking and many of the motels are getting almost as much as this hotel was asking, and for a little bit more we had a real nice room with a view. The bathroom was nice and offered a large shower area. Added bonus was the breakfast, which was adequate to start our day. The only con was that the bed was hard and not all that comfortable. The hotel is walking distance to town, which we did the first day and then took the free Islander bus on the way back. It is perfect to catch the bus and leave your car behind so as to not deal with all the traffic in town. This hotel is the second stop on the way back so a nice quick ride and you are back to the hotel. Good location for a quick stay in Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank GEMS21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed at the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel in Bar Harbor in July. There are many positives at this hotel. There are several buildings on the property to meet different needs/tastes. Our room, in building seven, had a balcony that overlooked the harbor.
The hotel offered free continental breakfasts and an opportunity to order from the menu for a fee.
Free shuttle bus service several times daily was available to take guests into town or to the National Park.
I would have rated this hotel very good or excellent except for the following things:
The room was designed so that a guest could either close the drapes OR use the air conditioning. The whole air conditioner was behind the drapes! We chose to leave the drapes open and use the AC. While that was a little odd, the real problem was the internet service.
The hotel does not have broadband. The internet hardly worked at all. In this day and age, we did not feel it was acceptable to have no/poor internet service at a hotel.
If this hotel got appropriate internet service, I would stay there again, but I'd bring a clothespin to try to clip the bottom of the drapes closed for privacy.

Room Tip: There is a separate building for those with pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Lou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AOH, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding the positives of our hotel. We have enjoyed great comments regarding our complimentary continental breakfast, which is new in 2012. Our guests continue to enjoy the convenience of the Island Explorer Shuttle stop on our property.

We also appreciate your comments regarding needed improvements to the hotel. Just this week a new chiller arrived and was installed on the roof of the Maine Building where you stayed. Due to an inability to get a replacement chiller during the summer last year, individual room AC units were installed, unfortunately in a very inconvenient location. We recognized this issue and corrected it.

Internet service at the hotel is high speed wireless broadband. Occasionally our internet service provider has problems and we have limited or no connectivity. We find that they are always very prompt when called for repair and we are rarely without service for long periods of time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
143 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

My heart sank when we walked into our room 6201. Downright depressing. At almost $200/night I expected more. The room was dark and grim. The room safe and several lights didn't work. Ours was one of the only oceanview rooms with a view obstructed by trees. The room seemed thrown together. I should have complained but we had already unpacked. I learned later that some of the rooms has been renovated why we drew the short straw i do not know, since we were here for 3 nights and has reservations long in advance, but will not take a chance here again Breakfast was fine with a variety of bready and cereal choices. Nature Cruise tour boat leaves from here. This was convenient and the tour guide was very good. The island explorer free shuttle also stops right at the property which is convenient.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miamispike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AOH, Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the convenience of our property, breakfast and amenities. Our guests have been very pleased with the addition of the Acadian Nature Cruise activity this year and continue to enjoy the convenience of the free Island Explorer shuttle.

I am sorry that you were not satisfied with the ocean view from your guest room. I went to the room today to refresh my memory of the view and noticed the tree to the left of view from the balcony. While the tree is positioned nicely to block the view of a neighboring pier, there is a limb that will be trimmed to allow for the best possible view of Frenchman Bay.

We appreciate your comments and hope that you will consider staying with us on your next visit to Bar Harbor. If you do decide to give us another chance to serve you, please contact us so we may review all the room types on the property. We have 5 buildings and a large variety of options to choose from. The choices range from our brand new Atlantic View building to our traditional Inn style building “The Willows”. I am sure that we will be able to find something that we be more in keeping with your preferences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Nice hotel for the money. Stayed at the portion called Atlantic Oceanview, which is the newest building. Room and bathroom were nice. Had a harbor view although was disappointed that a huge parking lot (not too sure what it really was but it looked like a parking lot) was to my left side. The hotel planted trees to try to obstruct the view of the parking lot, which left only a portion of the harbor view. If you plan on staying in this particular building, ask for a balcony room towards the middle facing the harbor. They have a shuttle up until 10:00 p.m. to the main section of Bar Harbor, which is great, especially if you don't want to take your car.

Room Tip: Ask for the Atlantic Oceanview building, balcony room facing the harbor, and make sure it's in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PATravelGal08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio City, Ohio
Level Contributor
139 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

This hotel is a short distance from the Bar Harbor stores and restaurants, but the free shuttle bus stops at this location. The hotel was clean and spacious (2 sinks which was nice getting ready) and the staff were helpful and pleasant. Very nice complimentary breakfast. I would recommend a top floor room, as we could hear the people above us, but it did not disturb sleeping.
The nature cruise recommended by the hotel staff that leaves from their nearby dock was wonderful!

Room Tip: If you don't have pets or children, try the top floor. The bottom floor oceanside rooms are ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
1.2 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center

Property: Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Address: 119 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#10 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 12 beautiful acres just one mile from downtown Bar Harbor and the main entrance to Acadia National Park, the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel offers an ocean view from every room. Our brand new Atlantic View building offers everything you would expect from a modern hotel with fantastic views. Close enough to all the action of town, but just far enough away so you can relax. Our new rooms, friendly staff, and seasonal packages are the perfect combination of quality and value. Let us show you how beautiful the Maine coast can be.The AO is proud to announce the Grand Opening of its all new Bistro on Eden, a full service restaurant and bar.And with a great location comes great responsibility. The Bistro on Eden is a warm, lively restaurant and bar where people can be themselves and meet others in a friendly, comfortable setting. Overlooking Frenchman's Bay it offers smashing views and intimate outdoor seating, where every seat faces the Atlantic Ocean. We feature great tasting fresh, seasonal comfort cooking with ingredients that are primarily sourced from local, small scale vendors. Above all you can expect warm, genuine service. That is something upon which we pride ourselves.We are located inside the lobby of the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel, 119 Eden St. Bar Harbor, and Maine 04609. Open Wed. ~ Sat. 5Pm ~ 9pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Oakes Resort
Atlantic Oakes Hotel
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel And Event Center Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing