We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Nice hotel for the money. Stayed at the portion called Atlantic Oceanview, which is the newest building. Room and bathroom were nice. Had a harbor view although was disappointed that a huge parking lot (not too sure what it really was but it looked like a parking lot) was to my left side. The hotel planted trees to try to obstruct the view of the parking lot, which left only a portion of the harbor view. If you plan on staying in this particular building, ask for a balcony room towards the middle facing the harbor. They have a shuttle up until 10:00 p.m. to the main section of Bar Harbor, which is great, especially if you don't want to take your car.

Room Tip: Ask for the Atlantic Oceanview building, balcony room facing the harbor, and make sure it's in t...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PATravelGal08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,234)
There are newer reviews for Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,036 - 1,042 of 1,234 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

This hotel is a short distance from the Bar Harbor stores and restaurants, but the free shuttle bus stops at this location. The hotel was clean and spacious (2 sinks which was nice getting ready) and the staff were helpful and pleasant. Very nice complimentary breakfast. I would recommend a top floor room, as we could hear the people above us, but it did not disturb sleeping.
The nature cruise recommended by the hotel staff that leaves from their nearby dock was wonderful!

Room Tip: If you don't have pets or children, try the top floor. The bottom floor oceanside rooms are ni...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Enjoyed every moment of our stay! We were on the fourth floor of new building. The room was spectacular; spacious, clean and inviting- with a balcony to sit out and relax and enjoy the view. The pool looked clean and a continental breakfast was included, but needed to go to the adjacent building for it. Was about a mile from the center shops, so needed to drive. Definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: Definitely request the new building when reserving.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cdb_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

My three sisters and I recently stayed at the Oceanside in a spacious suite with 2 rooms and 3 queen sized beds. We also ordered a cot and there was still plenty of room for all of us. The hotel was beautifully decorated, very comfortable and appeared to be brand new. The balcony provided a spectacular view of the bay. The complimentary breakfast included cereals and breads with beverages. We all agreed that this was a bargain and was more than we had expected. The fact that it was so close to Acadia was a bonus! The people there were pleasant and helpful. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqueline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

we stayed here, in the new building, on the top floor. Our son had appointments at the College of The Atlantic next door, plus we wanted to explore Acadia National Park. We reserved a two bedroom suite so everyone would have plenty of room and privacy.

We found the room to be immaculate upon entering it, and the second day after housekeeping had been in.

The room was very spacious. The furniture in the sitting area and the second bedroom was comfortable and in terrific condition. The beds were very comfortable. The two tvs are great. The weather was hot and the air conditioning was effective and amazingly efficient.

The complimentary breakfast was very good with a variety of cereals including a crockpot full of hot oatmeal. The fruitbowl full of a variety of fruits was wonderful. There is also a menu for specialty items cooked in the adjacent kitchen.

The view from the spacious deck is postcard. There are two excursion and fishing boats that depart from right in front of the hotel, throughout the day for scenic, and nature, and mackeral fishing trips. Our only comment, a minor one, is we were wondering why the decks aren't constructed to be more private? A full piece of wall material rather than the angular cut piece would have totally blocked the neighboring deck. But that's all.

Room Tip: dog rooms available on ground floor which also have the same beautiful view and open onto a lawn are...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishnut5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I just got back from 3 nights at this hotel and can highly recommend it! Very clean, spacious, great location and wonderful view.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darlata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This Hotel is beautiful, clean, relaxing, staff is friendly, and just what the doctor ordered after loss of my parents last year. The beds are so comfortable and you can see a view of the ocean from them. I actualy took a nap for two hours and slept so deep thought it was the next day.

My husband and I needed to stay at place like this, the view is beautiful from your balcaney room. This Hotel is waking distance from town, and the area around it is beautiful. We would reccomend this hotel to anyone and we will be back.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balconey
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SherBear7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,369 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
690 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#20 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,166 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
429 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center

Address: 119 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1137
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#10 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $135 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 12 beautiful acres just one mile from downtown Bar Harbor and the main entrance to Acadia National Park, the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel offers an ocean view from every room. Our brand new Atlantic View building offers everything you would expect from a modern hotel with fantastic views. Close enough to all the action of town, but just far enough away so you can relax. Our new rooms, friendly staff, and seasonal packages are the perfect combination of quality and value. Let us show you how beautiful the Maine coast can be.The AO is proud to announce the Grand Opening of its all new Bistro on Eden, a full service restaurant and bar.And with a great location comes great responsibility. The Bistro on Eden is a warm, lively restaurant and bar where people can be themselves and meet others in a friendly, comfortable setting. Overlooking Frenchman's Bay it offers smashing views and intimate outdoor seating, where every seat faces the Atlantic Ocean. We feature great tasting fresh, seasonal comfort cooking with ingredients that are primarily sourced from local, small scale vendors. Above all you can expect warm, genuine service. That is something upon which we pride ourselves.We are located inside the lobby of the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel, 119 Eden St. Bar Harbor, and Maine 04609. Open Wed. ~ Sat. 5Pm ~ 9pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Oakes Resort
Atlantic Oakes Hotel
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel And Event Center Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing