We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bar Harbor Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bar Harbor Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Though not a luxury facility, the accommodations were very nice and had a view that was absolutely beautiful. The rooms overlook the water where you could hear the sound of sea gulls in the mornings and evenings. View of the sunrise was quite nice and would have been breath-taking if the weather had been more sunny.

I negotiated a lower rate than was originally quoted which was a plus. Thus, from the beginning of my contact with Atlantic Oceanside to the time I left, the visit was very pleasant. Personnel were very pleasant at the hotel ~ clearly there to serve the guests which is a major plus for me.

Room Tip: There are rooms with a patio that walks out to the pier or upper levels with balconies. Be sure to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sonia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    414
    109
    52
    24
See reviews for
382
483
16
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

We called about an hour before we showed up and got some good rates. I got quotes from al the neighboring hotels and they had the best with the great view. The room he wanted us to go in wasnt checked by the maide yet, so they upgraded us to one floor above and gave us the AAA rates. It turned out to be a balcony room with 2 beds and a sofa. My friend actually slept on the balcony and loved it. The service was great and the breakfast was so good. We asked about the indoor pool and he kept it open an extra hour due to the fact that we came so late. Great stay wonderful people and Amazing view.

Room Tip: Dont forget to ask for the AAA discount prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

I wouldn't call this a "pet-friendly" hotel, more "pet-tolerant". Yes, you can bring your four-legged friend(s), but you will pay a $35 PER NIGHT(!) pet fee and they won't clean your room during your stay. They do leave a bag of goodies outside your door every morning (towels, shampoo, etc), with a note saying if you need anything else to call the front desk. I understand that it is a safety issue to have hotel staff going into rooms with pets, especially if the pet owner is not present. But what is the $35/night pet fee for, then? They've already got my credit card number to pay for any damages. The hotel has nifty magnets instead of the traditional "Do Not Disturb" door hangers; couldn't they have some sort of sign to put on the door indicating it's OK to go in (ie, that both pet and owner are out for a few hours)? Most people traveling with pets tend to take their pets with them to do things; it's a good bet that at some point during the day it's safe to go in to clean.

Aside from that, the hotel was perfectly adequate. Lots of hot water, a solid door with a lock on it, a nice view of the water, and a comfortable bed to sleep in. If you are in Bar Harbor with pets it's as good a place as any to stay so long as you don't mind the dog hair building up on the carpet and a growing pile of used towels the longer you stay. I didn't do the breakfast because I heard it was an extra fee. Depending on the time of year it may be complimentary.

Room Tip: Pet friendly rooms are all on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JJandAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic_Oceanside, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel. We are pleased to hear that your hotel accommodations were satisfactory.

We are disappointed to hear that your hotel service was not up to par. Full housekeeping service is provided in each room daily, including pet friendly rooms. Rooms designated as pet friendly have do not disturb signs in addition to door hangers that let the housekeeping staff know if a pet is in the room or not. Housekeepers do not enter a room with a pet inside without an owner present. When the sign indicates that a pet is in the room, our procedure is to check several times until 3:00pm to try to get into the room to clean. If we are still unable to get into the room, then a towel pack is left at the door. It appears that your room did not have a door hanger with pet instructions on it, as you mentioned the do not disturb magnet only. We regret this and have added a step during our check in process. Going forward, we will hand each guest traveling with a pet a door hanger at check in and explain our housekeeping procedure to them.

Continental breakfast is complimentary at all times, however we offer full hot breakfast (in season) off a menu that is at an additional fee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We lucked out in getting into the new building of this resort - beautiful! Brand new rooms looking out over the ocean, with a little porch/balcony - lovely. Service was great - Emma (student) at the front desk was terrific. Price was good (especially with hotelcoupons.com). About 3 km drive into town and just down the street from Acadia National Park (also beautiful - recommend the driving the loop around the park - gorgeous). Had a fun dinner at Geddy's in town. Great time!

Room Tip: Free breakfast is continental - hot breakfast is extra. Room is a bit tired, but breakfast is fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary-Lou F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

The manager has a heart as big as the ocean ! The staff from the booking ( Wade ) the front staff are so kind and helpful. The house keeping staff is marvelous . Help, understanding and genuine care and concern that your stay is the best of the best. We took my sister 58 years young with handicaps on her first vacation. Everyone helped to make this a memory for us that is as close to perfection as is possible. Thank you all !

Room Tip: Just ask and the staff will help you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Williesmuckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel with our dog while visiting Acadia. The room was clean, comfortable and had a lovely view. Not a luxury property, but nice amenities and excellent for the price. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel is a short drive from Acadia and a very short drive from the shops/restaurants of Bar Harbor.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building, but building 6 is also pet friendly with an unobstructed ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cwm1350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed at the Atlantic Oceanside to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. Rooms were beautiful and everything was brand new! Nice selection for breakfast and good choices of DVD's to use. The oceanside view was just perfect! Staff VERY helpful on where to eat and what to do.....thanks!!!

Room Tip: Oceanfront!!! Need I say more!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cincinnati_OhioSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
1.2 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center

Property: Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Address: 119 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#2 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#10 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 12 beautiful acres just one mile from downtown Bar Harbor and the main entrance to Acadia National Park, the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel offers an ocean view from every room. Our brand new Atlantic View building offers everything you would expect from a modern hotel with fantastic views. Close enough to all the action of town, but just far enough away so you can relax. Our new rooms, friendly staff, and seasonal packages are the perfect combination of quality and value. Let us show you how beautiful the Maine coast can be.The AO is proud to announce the Grand Opening of its all new Bistro on Eden, a full service restaurant and bar.And with a great location comes great responsibility. The Bistro on Eden is a warm, lively restaurant and bar where people can be themselves and meet others in a friendly, comfortable setting. Overlooking Frenchman's Bay it offers smashing views and intimate outdoor seating, where every seat faces the Atlantic Ocean. We feature great tasting fresh, seasonal comfort cooking with ingredients that are primarily sourced from local, small scale vendors. Above all you can expect warm, genuine service. That is something upon which we pride ourselves.We are located inside the lobby of the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel, 119 Eden St. Bar Harbor, and Maine 04609. Open Wed. ~ Sat. 5Pm ~ 9pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Oakes Resort
Atlantic Oakes Hotel
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel And Event Center Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing