We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful locally owned hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Atlantic Oceanside was lovely. We stayed in the new building. I went for business and brought the family.

The staff is amazing. Tim, Deedee, and Taylor at the front desk were thoughtful, kind, considerate and resourceful.

The room was spotless! The bed was soft with plenty of pillows and the sheets were great. I like rooms that have a safe and a small fridge. And the view - oh the view was divine! Hubby and I had a nice cold local brew on the balcony enjoyed the view a perfect end to a lot of hard work.

The pool where my little one spent several hours was also clean and heated to a just right temperature. There were also plenty of clean towels and the wifi at the pool and a lounger did the trick for me to catch up on news and email.

I had to also arrange travel for several other people to stay at the Atlantic Oceanside and they thought is was great too.

Thank you Atlantic Oceanside! You all did a great job and our family will be coming back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CamdenLuvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,086 - 1,092 of 1,263 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2012

Have loved his place for years but not so much of a fan of all the trees and buildings they removed. They used to be the perfect place to go with your dog but those buildings were removed. We stayed last June during construction of the new building. It really does not blend well and care was not taken to preserve the trees and secluded atmosphere. We have been staying here for 22 years about I-2 times per year. We enjoyed the view, atmosphere and balcony. Good beds, pool, breakfast, and friendly. Their reservations are a bit of a hassle when staying with dogs. We were told no dog rooms then there were dog rooms. I know they now accept pets on a limited basis.

The staff is great but I really liked the old hotel without the new building. We have even stayed off season( December). I guess if you did not see and know the before, the after is a good reliable bet in BarHarbor.

Room Tip: Trythemainbuilding for wifi but waters edge is very secluded and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We were looking for a winter getaway that was economical but still nice and we found it at the Atlantic Oceanside! Our 4th floor king room was very nice and the view was amazing. This alone was worth the cost of our Wine and Dine special. The seawater pool was fun and the hot tub had great jets. The facility was exceptionally clean and the people were very friendly. We were equally impressed with Mama Diamateo's for dinner. This was everything we hoped for in our winter getaway and the price was perfect! We will go back again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

March 17, 2012 it felt like spring so up to ME we went. Camden first then Bar Harbor (BH). With no reservations and no plans, a pair of 50+ year olds went on a lark to BH and later to Labec, ME. Off season is off season. We drove to the BH and worked backwards Rt 3 to find a place to stay. Far from the road, close to town was the ocean bay is Atlantic Hotel @ Oceanside. 119 Eden Street, BH, ME. The owners (Cough's?) opened all of their hotels a bit earlier than usual.

The item chosen for complaint will tell you how little there is to complain about : The sheets were too new and krinkly as if starched. Which I liked but my other half found...distracting.

We will be going back and not waste time looking around next time we are there. Why? Because across the street is a great dining restaurant that opened early also. Why? because for those that want that perfect sunrise picture in the morning....just go to your own balcony in your PJ's at 6:25am take that pic and go back to bed. Why? because the ferry is next door should you want to wander further and make their schedule on time. The long walkway to the sailing ship in the picture was just being newly assembled when we arrived. Why? because the staff and help is as cheerful as you'd ever want them to be. Why? because Acadia Nation Park can be accessed to all of its points at the cross roads just a bit down the road towards town. Why? Because it is NOT in town. Why? It is a clean hotel. There is one door (call it for the weather) and then your own private room door. Screened window in each. Keep the key card upright when you swipe it. Why? because the bathroom is large enough as is the room. From the back of the hotel to the front balcony is one apartment/room and appointed in a very non-distracting way. Except for the balcony! The view is distracting! Two chairs and a table with enough room to move.Why? because the beds were "to fall asleep in" soft yet supportive. Why? because it is only four stories high and if we chose any of the (three?) other buildings to stay in we would have been closer to the water and only two stories. This means everyone has a CLEAR view of the ocean. There is one building closer to the road that has less of a view.Why? because breakfast (off season gets continental) is served in the ground floor facing the ocean. The indoor pool is on that level too.

We foraged in town for a lobster roll and were told that it was too early to offer it. But the bar (Blue Whale?) has offerings were fresh and tastey. So few locals in the bar that the waitress didn't show. The bartender wasn't running but never stopped moving quickly either. The gas station at Newton Way and Route 3 has a bunch of natural wood bench seating and good fare.

Room Tip: Stop with the choosing the "good room". This staff will offer you choices and with just a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Stayed here in March, I think only hotel open in Bar Harbor! Very nice, clean room. Private balcony overlooking bay was a nice surprise, able to see beautiful sunrise from balcony. Staff very helpful and full of information.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Having stayed at nearly all of Bar Harbor's pet-friendly hotels, we were pleasantly surprised by the Atlantic Oceanside during our stay in early March. The view was lovely, and the private balcony was a plus. The room was a bit outdated, but very clean and had a flat screen TV with plenty of channels to choose from. No sleeping trouble. No barking neighbors. A continental breakfast was provided; we grabbed a blueberry muffin for the road, satisfied that we got a good deal.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank aandptravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We decided to get the room right close up next to the water. The rooms are spacious, have their own patios with french doors, and very comfy beds. Granted there wasn't solid walls between the patios so you could see your neighbors, but no big deal. The pools and jacuzzi's closed at 9, so we couldn't try them out. It was slightly far away from town, but there is a lovely diner close to the hotel for some yummy breakfast! I didn't have any problems with thin walls, but then again we traveled in September 2010, in the off season. I thought for the price this is an amazing hotel. I would not hesitate to go back here again. The only thing that was stinky was when we got the munchies at 10pm, the vending machines were our only choice unless we wanted to trek into town. But, that can be planned for and food can be bought before hand. Loved it!

Room Tip: Definitly splurge and choose the room closest to the shore!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
388 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,386 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
728 reviews
1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
327 reviews
1 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#20 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center

Address: 119 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1137
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#8 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $133 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 12 beautiful acres just one mile from downtown Bar Harbor and the main entrance to Acadia National Park, the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel offers an ocean view from every room. Our brand new Atlantic View building offers everything you would expect from a modern hotel with fantastic views. Close enough to all the action of town, but just far enough away so you can relax. Our new rooms, friendly staff, and seasonal packages are the perfect combination of quality and value. Let us show you how beautiful the Maine coast can be.The AO is proud to announce the Grand Opening of its all new Bistro on Eden, a full service restaurant and bar.And with a great location comes great responsibility. The Bistro on Eden is a warm, lively restaurant and bar where people can be themselves and meet others in a friendly, comfortable setting. Overlooking Frenchman's Bay it offers smashing views and intimate outdoor seating, where every seat faces the Atlantic Ocean. We feature great tasting fresh, seasonal comfort cooking with ingredients that are primarily sourced from local, small scale vendors. Above all you can expect warm, genuine service. That is something upon which we pride ourselves.We are located inside the lobby of the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel, 119 Eden St. Bar Harbor, and Maine 04609. Open Wed. ~ Sat. 5Pm ~ 9pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Oakes Resort
Atlantic Oakes Hotel
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel And Event Center Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing