We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view, reasonably priced.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We decided to get the room right close up next to the water. The rooms are spacious, have their own patios with french doors, and very comfy beds. Granted there wasn't solid walls between the patios so you could see your neighbors, but no big deal. The pools and jacuzzi's closed at 9, so we couldn't try them out. It was slightly far away from town, but there is a lovely diner close to the hotel for some yummy breakfast! I didn't have any problems with thin walls, but then again we traveled in September 2010, in the off season. I thought for the price this is an amazing hotel. I would not hesitate to go back here again. The only thing that was stinky was when we got the munchies at 10pm, the vending machines were our only choice unless we wanted to trek into town. But, that can be planned for and food can be bought before hand. Loved it!

Room Tip: Definitly splurge and choose the room closest to the shore!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,081 - 1,087 of 1,251 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2012

The positives: Beautiful view, balcony, plenty of parking (was winter however), open in the winter and very clean and fairly updated room.

The negatives: Not right in town, super thin walls (heard the guy next to me snoring all night long), the lobby looks like a cheap gift shop, and the door to my room had a window in it (with curtain at least).

Overall it was fine for what it was, a one-night business trip and if I go back in the winter, I think it's the only choice. At least McKay's Pub was open in town which has great food and drinks!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gem6181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Stayed one night on the 4 th floor. I could hear the woman in the room next to us cough not to mention I could hear the tv in the next room over the one in my own.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lau7776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

During a visit to Acadia National Park, my goal in finding a nearby hotel was to have a direct view onto the water - Atlantic Oceanside was ideal in this regard. In one of the side buildings, my room on the second floor had full-length windows and french doors opening onto a small balcony just a few meters from the water's edge. The staff I encountered were very friendly and professional. My room was clean and huge, with a king-size bed and plenty of floor space. Off-season rates seemed very reasonable for the location and quality of room furnishings. The breakfast (at least during late autumn, when I visited) is nothing to write home about - cold cereal, packaged pastries, apples and oranges, coffee and juice from machines - but provided a decent start to the day. I would stay here again primarily for the excellent views.

Room Tip: Rooms in the side buildings immediately by the water have lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fortunatetraveler71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed at the Atlantic over the Christmas holiday. Our rooms were very clean, beds comfortable. Continental breakfast ( hot breakfast not available in the winter season) was ok, not great. Cereal, bagels, doughnuts - that was about it. It was nice that they had turned the heat on in our rooms prior to arrival.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

The people at the front desk treated us like family. They were very friendly and helpful, taking time to help us get familiar with the area, find good restaurants, and the grocery store, and making sure we could get some breakfast before our day started (very early). Right on the water, so the view is wonderful, access is easy, lots of rooms in several buildings, hot coffee, tea, hot chocolate always ready in the lobby.

Room Tip: The end rooms of the main building have a window facing the ocean and a window on the side too. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MouseDance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

We spent three days at the Atlantic Oceanside. The room was great and the view gorgeous. We loved being in a separate building, where we could walk from the car into our room. Staff was helpful. And breakfast (extra) was a bargain! I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GloucesterGirl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,377 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
716 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#20 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,191 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
444 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center

Address: 119 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1137
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#10 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $133 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 12 beautiful acres just one mile from downtown Bar Harbor and the main entrance to Acadia National Park, the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel offers an ocean view from every room. Our brand new Atlantic View building offers everything you would expect from a modern hotel with fantastic views. Close enough to all the action of town, but just far enough away so you can relax. Our new rooms, friendly staff, and seasonal packages are the perfect combination of quality and value. Let us show you how beautiful the Maine coast can be.The AO is proud to announce the Grand Opening of its all new Bistro on Eden, a full service restaurant and bar.And with a great location comes great responsibility. The Bistro on Eden is a warm, lively restaurant and bar where people can be themselves and meet others in a friendly, comfortable setting. Overlooking Frenchman's Bay it offers smashing views and intimate outdoor seating, where every seat faces the Atlantic Ocean. We feature great tasting fresh, seasonal comfort cooking with ingredients that are primarily sourced from local, small scale vendors. Above all you can expect warm, genuine service. That is something upon which we pride ourselves.We are located inside the lobby of the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel, 119 Eden St. Bar Harbor, and Maine 04609. Open Wed. ~ Sat. 5Pm ~ 9pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Oakes Resort
Atlantic Oakes Hotel
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel And Event Center Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing