We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for loud families, not for romance” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good for loud families, not for romance”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

Basic accommodations, good for budget focused family not interested in frills or quiet. We had been told the hotel was one of the nicest & most romantic in town (I sure hope there are nicer options) with lovely balcony overlooking harbor. Well, the ocean view is limited to a thin beach of rocks and a ferry pier, and the stretch of grass where guests walk their dogs.
Room was spacious, clean and comfortable, with nice fridge and extra sink, and very nice toiletries, good heat and ventilation. Light sleepers should bring sleep mask and ear plugs – the property is VERY well lit, so you cannot leave any curtains open, and the light comes in window on front door (no curtain). No danger of sleeping late, as the morning light intrudes REALLY early, waking the people upstairs who were apparently training for a marathon by running laps in their room. I wish the builders had reallocated the cost of granite sinks to soundproofing between floors. We also heard too many conversations of kids playing, nature tour, and guests taking photos of themselves with the sea.
Parking can be a challenge if you get back late when the hotel is busy. A good choice for a family that is accustomed to noise.

Room Tip: book early to get a more quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysPacked2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    414
    109
    52
    24
See reviews for
382
483
16
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2011

This was a very nice option for my family. Clean room, nice pool and a beautiful view.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank heidi060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne, Pa.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2011

The Atlantic Oceanside Hotel in Bar Harbor accepts pets, and that's the main reason we
chose it, though the reviews we had read were mixed. Once we got there,
we were very happy with our choice. It was good for us and great for our
poodle. The hotel has been undergoing renovations. The building where pets
were formerly allowed has been torn down and is being replaced. So guests
and their pets are now housed on the lower floor of a building right near the ocean.
The views were absolutely gorgeous. And there was a long grassy area where
we could easily walk the dog.
Our room seemed newly renovated: new tile floors, new ceiling with ceiling fan, new paint, new firm mattresses on two queen beds, a flat screen TV, two new sinks and counters. The furniture was pretty standard, but the room was very comfortable and met all of our needs.
Because it was the off-season, the price of the room included a complimentary
continental breakfast with coffee, bagels, sweet rolls, yogurt, fresh fruit, etc.
in the main building. As of June, the hotel goes to a $9.95 hot buffet breakfast,
which still seems reasonable given prices in Bar Harbor. But there are so many
places to eat in town that visitors can pick and choose.
We had very good interaction with the staff. Everyone was pleasant and helpful,
from the desk clerk who went through the files to find me a map of Acadia National
Park, to the cleaning people, to the workman who was fixing something in the
next room and offered to stop if it bothered us, to the cheerful young woman
who oversaw the breakfast.
We have stayed at many places in Bar Harbor over the years, and my husband
and I agreed that the Atlantic Oceanside was the most pleasant, with the
exception of the Bar Harbor Inn, which, unfortunately does not allow pets.
Now, I can't speak for the hotel in the high season when it is more crowded,
but when we were there, it was a calm and restful place to be.
And, as for location, it's wonderful: a mile from Bar Harbor and a mile
from the park.
We will definitely stay at this hotel again on our next trip to Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patraveler060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, CT
Level Contributor
328 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

Old, tired, and basic. Most of the staff tries to help. Great views from 3rdand 4th floors. Pool, hot tub, and exercise room also old, tired, and basic. Wireless internet worked. Excellent restaurant across the road, closed on Tuesday. Great place to stay while visiting Acadia National Park off season.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Bill_Corcoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndeborough, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for one reason, it was pet friendly. I would describe the hotel as a once much more grand seaside hotel that has had some modest improvements over the years, but nothing that would make you believe a major renovation had taken place since 1979.
Initially, we booked it online, explained we had a small dog, and then called the day before to confirm the room we had selected. When we arrived, we were told that room was "not" pet friendly and that an employee made a mistake. We were told we would have a harbor view room and we did eventually get a decent location, but since we talked with the manager and called about 12 hours earlier, I felt sort of a bait and switch had occurred. The manager was kind of rude and had a take it or leave it attitude. In any event, the room was much better than I had expected. A good room with a kitchenette, clean and there was a nice area for the dog to run around just outside. I would stay here again if I had a dog with me. There is good restaurant just across the street, I would say a small steakhouse/bar type of restaurant. We went there because the Hotel was still on some winter restaurant hours, so we did not get to eat there.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattballou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2010

We spent our 2 nights at the hotel on Nov 22/23. All pet friendly rooms were being renovated so the staff was nice enough to offer a Superior room in the main building. Room was on the first floor with balcony and view of the Frenchman bay. Great location for Acadia, a little outside of the downtown. Continental breakfast was just that. King bed was comfortable, flat screen tv with working cable!
There are probably better options during the season, but overall a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAZAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manahawkin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
117 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2010

We always look for an indoor pool, and some sort of kitchen when we visit with our grandchildren in Bar Harbor. We got both at this hotel with a good price as well. The pool is very large and it is heated. The hot tub is a plus. Our review refers mainly to an off-season stay only. Breakfast was an ample "continental" breakfast with good pastries, yogurt, fruit juices, cereals and fruit. Lovely breakfast room with a view of Frenchman's bay. The room we booked had two queen beds and a full kitchen set up. Pots, utensils,and dishes supplied. A little erratic stocking of things to cook with but adequate, and the staff was helpful in getting us what we needed to prepare a good beef stew. Best to ask for housekeeping to come while you are out since we seemed to run into the maid each time we returned from an outing, so I knew finally to request serivce when we going out. The rooms have balconys with small tables and chairs and lovely views of the bay. It appears that the hotel has recently changed ownership. Lots of renovations appear to be in the works in building other than the one we stayed in, and the main building is the only one open in the fall and winter I think. Also great access to two computers in the lobby was very much appreciated.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarlanneNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
1.2 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center

Property: Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Address: 119 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#10 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 12 beautiful acres just one mile from downtown Bar Harbor and the main entrance to Acadia National Park, the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel offers an ocean view from every room. Our brand new Atlantic View building offers everything you would expect from a modern hotel with fantastic views. Close enough to all the action of town, but just far enough away so you can relax. Our new rooms, friendly staff, and seasonal packages are the perfect combination of quality and value. Let us show you how beautiful the Maine coast can be.The AO is proud to announce the Grand Opening of its all new Bistro on Eden, a full service restaurant and bar.And with a great location comes great responsibility. The Bistro on Eden is a warm, lively restaurant and bar where people can be themselves and meet others in a friendly, comfortable setting. Overlooking Frenchman's Bay it offers smashing views and intimate outdoor seating, where every seat faces the Atlantic Ocean. We feature great tasting fresh, seasonal comfort cooking with ingredients that are primarily sourced from local, small scale vendors. Above all you can expect warm, genuine service. That is something upon which we pride ourselves.We are located inside the lobby of the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel, 119 Eden St. Bar Harbor, and Maine 04609. Open Wed. ~ Sat. 5Pm ~ 9pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Oakes Resort
Atlantic Oakes Hotel
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel And Event Center Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing