We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Lobster Lunch”

CherrySTONES Restaurant
Ranked #74 of 143 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Price range: $10 - $32
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, International, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Located in beautiful downtown Bar Harbor, Cherrystones can be found on the corner of Mount Desert and Main Street. Featuring a wide variety of fresh local seafood, hand cut steaks and daily specials. Outdoor seating available on both floors of the restaurant and an outside bar with Happy Hour 4-6pm that is perfect for people watching! Check us out on your next trip to Bar Harbor.
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Lobster Lunch”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Government shutdown didn't allow us a trip to Arcadia Park so we did a short version outside the park and looked for a place for lunch. CherrySTONES was in the center of town and we had a delightful downeast meal with good service and food.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    172
    105
    57
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Very Fresh Seafood!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed a seafood sampler that included Lobster, Clams and Mussels - in drawn butter. Everything was extremely fresh and tasty. The lobster bisque was among the best I've ever had - it was thick and buttery. And the Caesar salad was extremely tasty as well, with excellent dressing.

CherrySTONE's was among the best restaurants I visited all week - although I'll agree that the bathrooms need a little freshening up. We had a great waitress too (the gal going to Sedona in the off season). I would recommend this place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Spiritualized67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Away from crowds ”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Food was good but server was so rude to us the entire time. Don't ask questions about the menu either she won't know. One person in our group has gluten allergy. No options here for you even if you ask. (Except for the salad I guess)

Helpful?
Thank lisauncw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buchanan, Michigan
Level Contributor
324 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Great Food, Poor Service & Filthy Restrooms”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had broiled lobster, shrimp, and Caesar Salad. If the rest of the food is as good, the chef and his team deserve lots of praise. The service was ok when we first went in and rapidly deteriorated as tables filled. In fairness, it should be noted that there were only two servers. This may have been the result of the children in Congress opening the government (and parks) the night before. Management should have limited the number of tables.
Of greater concern were the filthy restrooms which had mold growing around the sinks.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
263 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A Must”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

My husband and I had a late lunch in the outdoor seating. Carolyn was our server and what a nice young lady. My husband ordered the pulled pork sandwich that covered his plate. It was good, he ate every bite! I had a delicious lobster roll and clam chowder. We would certainly go back and hope to get Carolyn!

PS: If you take your receipt to their sister restaurants, The Fish House or Log Cabin, you will receive 10% off.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CherrySTONES Restaurant also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to CherrySTONES Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing