We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time and we'll be back”
Review of Cleftstone Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cleftstone Manor
Ranked #24 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Second time and we'll be back”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I spent four fabulous days here. Ann and her staff are wonderful. We had booked the two-room suite on the first floor, but there was a problem with that room before we arrived, so we were upgraded to a fabulous room on the second floor. I'd have to say that was the only negative of our stay, as we were looking forward to having the sun room. No regrets though. The room we were given had recently been refurbished and was beautiful. We expressed a liking for a dip served on one of the nights at social hour. Ann didn't have the recipe on hand, but emailed it to use within a few days, so she isn't afraid of sharing. All in all we had a truly wonderful time here, and in Bar Harbor. We're hoping to head back up next year.

Room Tip: If you have a problem with stairs choose a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    40
    18
    7
    2
See reviews for
15
102
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sodus
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We found the common areas agreeable and arrived just after a shrimp pate had been put out and enjoyed some refreshing lemonade. Anne, the owner, showed us the common rooms and to our room but neglected to show us where breakfast was served which caused a delay in our departure the following morning. We found the room to be much smaller and less comfortable than advertised with a toilet seat that was loose. The whole place seemed a bit tired. We would definitely not return nor recommend these accommodations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nyneve5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampden, Maine, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is a beautiful, charming inn with many, varied, cozy and generous sized rooms. The complimentary 3 course breakfast was wonderful, as were the light appetizers enjoyed in one of the pretty common sitting areas. Very pleasant walk to town and restaurants. We have stayed in many hotels and inns in Bar Harbor, and have now discovered a new favorite in this inn. We stayed in the Woodbuy Park room (I believe was the name). Very comfortable. Next time, we're anxious to try out the Cleftstone Room. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValPete2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed here 3 nights in the Laura Blair room in June 2013. We came to Maine for a birthday trip and were looking to do some hiking in Acadia National Park. It is located approximately one half mile outside of the main part of Bar Harbor.

The pictures on their website are accurate. However, the lovely dining room they show on the website is not where you'll be having breakfast - they have a separate kitchen / dining area.

The Laura Blair room is just off the porch where they have the afternoon social. It had a large closet, luggage rack, dresser, 2 comfy chairs, beautiful antique bed. Large windows with heavy curtains so the sun does not come in early.

The only problem with the room was the mattress - it sloped down into the middle on both sides with the left side having a significant slope.

Bathroom was a large size and nicely decorated - flooring is vinyl and the tub / shower is one of those bath fitter things if that matters to you. Nice towels. There are not any hooks on the door and when you hang the towels on the towel rack they drape over the toilet paper holder, making it damp. So we hung the towels on the curtain rod instead to dry them out. Has a hair dryer.

The room is on the back side of the hotel facing the main road; however, we did not have any problems with traffic noise.

Internet - there is WiFi in the room and they give you a password to use to access it. Worked fine but occasionally it was slow and I assume too many people were using it at the time.

TV - there is a small flat screen tv with cable. They provide a listing of channels.

Porch - Around 5pm Anne puts out some appetizers for the social. We did not attend as we had other plans but quite a few people did. This area also has copies of local restaurant menus and a buffet with coffee / hot water for tea available early and throughout the day.

Breakfast - out of three mornings we ate there for 2.
* Day 1 - choice of Bacon & Cheese Strata or Pecan Waffle
* Day 2 - choice of Eggs Benedict or Pancakes
* All Days - light breakfast choices include oatmeal or cereal
* Fruit cup - fresh fruit prepared with some cream. My husband said this was excellent.
* Drinks - Coffee / selection of teas, juice
I am a vegan so I had the oatmeal both days (no milk). My husband had the Pecan Waffles the first day (he could only find 1 pecan and said although cooked fine they were bland). The second day he had the Eggs Benedict which he said was good.

Security - no in room safe (not common in B&Bs anyways). In addition to the doorknob lock there is a deadbolt you can use when you are in the room.

Parking - Parking at the hotel is available and is free. We always found free parking in Bar Harbor on side streets or they have 2 hour free parking on the main streets.

Staff - there are some staff for breakfast / room cleanings. Their information book in the room suggests a $3 tip daily for them which we left every day. Staff were nice and efficient. Anne, the owner, was helpful providing my husband with a running route and when we came back in at 8:30 pm one night she turned the main gas fireplace back on for me so we could sit there a few minutes. Fires are a treat for apartment dwellers.

The info book tells you that Laura Blair and her husband used to own the Manor and in their time the Laura Blair room was actually part of the ballroom. The area was quiet and when coming back one night we saw a deer in the grass just outside the Cleftstone Manor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYC-Canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford NY
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Cleftstone Manor is so beautiful, we are so happy that we were able to stay here. We stayed in the Charles How room, recently renovated, and so gorgeous. I could have lounged in the bed all day, but after all we were there to sightsee!! Wonderful place to stay, such great breakfasts, interesting history and very attentive staff!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanem56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed at this great B&B in Bar Harbor and were pleasantly surprised that the establishment met all of our expectations! The room was fabulous and had a very old world feel about it and the location was fantastic! the breakfast the next day was superb - can't say enough good things about this place!

Room Tip: I would recommend spending the extra money for an upgrade room - they are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachBecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallston, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We visited Bar Harbor for 2 nights during our 2-week NE/Canada motorcycle tour. I choose Cleftstone Manor due to its proximity to town, availability of indoor pool at its neighbor hotel, and being included in BedandBreakfast.com’s Gift Certificate program. During a 2-week trip it is particularly nice to enjoy the “comforts of home” in a local B&B and Cleftstone did not disappoint. We booked the … room which was decorated in a Victorian-style theme with rose wall paper, red & white bed linens, and a small collection of antique teapots. But what drew us to this room was the attached sun porch. The sun porch was the perfect respite after 2 weeks of motorcycle riding to relax with a cup of tea or a glass of wine while finishing my ragged paperback book that had traveled about 2300 miles in the saddlebag of our Yamaha FJR thus far. Cleftsone is a mansion, perched on a small cliff, and replicating the slower life of years ago. It is a great place to unwind and meet other guests over evening snacks served in the drawing room or the main sun porch and gourmet breakfasts in the country kitchen. They even go so far as making you feel at home by providing a small fridge in the reception area where guests can store left-overs from dinner or half-drunk bottles of wine that they intend to finish off the next day. I would definitely suggest Cleftstone for guests who like the more intimate, B&B feel, which is a perfect choice when visiting the quaintness of Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBJBride0520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.6 mi away
The Elmhurst Inn
The Elmhurst Inn
#29 of 30 in Bar Harbor
5 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anne's White Columns Inn
Anne's White Columns Inn
#27 of 30 in Bar Harbor
131 reviews
0.7 mi away
Primrose Inn
Primrose Inn
#8 of 30 in Bar Harbor
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mira Monte Inn
Mira Monte Inn
#12 of 30 in Bar Harbor
614 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thornhedge Inn
Thornhedge Inn
#20 of 30 in Bar Harbor
126 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bar Harbor Castlemaine Inn B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleftstone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleftstone Manor

Property: Cleftstone Manor
Address: 92 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1123
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cleftstone Manor, built in 1884 on "Millionaire's Row", is one of the few Victorian mansions to escape the fire of 1947. The sixteen guestrooms, each have private bath, many have TV, AC, phone, fireplace and whirlpools. The magnificent common rooms are furnished with Victorian antiques and period pieces, creating an atmosphere reminiscent of turn of the century Bar Harbor. Enjoy a gourmet breakfast each morning and afternoon refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cleftstone Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleftstone Manor Hotel Bar Harbor
Cleftstone Manor Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing