We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Love this place!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cleftstone Manor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cleftstone Manor
Ranked #24 of 31 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, Rhode Island
1 review
“Love this place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

When I browsing here before booked our Bar Harbor trip, I was quite concerned by the comment below about Anne being "unaccommodating". To play safe I decided to split our 4-night stay in Bar Harbor into two, 2 at Cleftstone and the other 2 somewhere else. And let me tell you how I regretted for that decision at the moment I stepped into this place.

Full of historic touches yet free of oldie odors, our room is immaculate, super clean and charmed with wonderful antique furniture. Their breakfast is so tasty and carefully prepared it's far beyond ordinary B&B level and good portion for a long day of hiking. The staff are attentive and helpful. As for Anne - she is awesome!! I even got her recipe book after donating to their lovely recipe box. Everyone was so happy and refreshed during our stay and they complained about the second place I picked :(

Thank you Anne for making our trip perfect and memorable. I will stay nowhere but at Cleftstone next time. And the reason I gave 4 to Rooms is because of the hot water issues some other viewers mentioned.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    39
    17
    7
    2
See reviews for
15
100
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Cleftstone manor was a fantastic inn with a lot of charm. The breakfast was excellent every day, and the staff was attentive, professional and friendly. Ann was a great hostess with a lot of knowledge and resources about the area. She let us borrow hiking and biking books. The social hour was perfect after a day of activity with just enough snacks to hold you over until dinner, and gave you a chance to meet people you would otherwise pass by. If I return to bar harbor I will definitely stay there again. I would recommend it to anyone. It was the unexpected cherry on top of our vacation!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Becky O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

My partner and I found Anne to be unaccomodating and unpleasant. She was gruff and rarely said good morning. As a matter of fact my partner went down early in the morning to get coffee and heard Anne and an employee arguing in the kitchen rather loudly. As for breakfast, the only two options each day were a quiche or baked omelet and pancakes or french toast. I requested an egg white omelet due to medical dietary needs and Anne told me that was not possible as the baked omelet was already made. This was not an acceptable answer, in her advertisement on the Internet it clearly states to let her know of any dietary needs. The room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Horselady9850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont, West Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We loved our stay at Cleftstone Manor! Everything met our expectations. The breakfasts were delicious and the rooms were comfortable. The commons areas are beautiful. We loved the perfect location; it was right outside of town, taking only a minute to drive downtown. The only issue we had was with the hot water for showers. Several times during a shower, the water would get cold. But it would get hot again immediately, so it wasn't a big deal. Also, the rooms where our party stayed weren't decorated as nicely as other B&Bs we've visited, but we knew what to expect from the online pictures. (The website for this bed & breakfast is also excellent!) Overall, we felt that Cleftstone Manor was a very inviting and charming place and for such a great value!

Anne was extremely helpful. She didn't mind all our questions about restaurants and activities in Acadia. She was eager to offer us great suggestions. Actually, Anne's help and advice was probably the best part of our stay. If we ever return to Bar Harbor, this is where we plan to stay.

Room Tip: The website shows pictures of all the rooms and exactly where they are located in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelCouple121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
178 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Almost exactly one mile walk to the center of Bar Harbor, this elegant Inn is a source of continuing pleasures on our annual trek to Maine. While a week's time seems to fly away, we daily are reminded how fortunate we are to have discovered this little piece of heaven. Anne and her staff go well out of their way to make their guests comfortable. If the generous breakfast was not enough, prepare to be pampered by the mid-afternoon treats that are served in Abbie's Retreat, a sun porch just off the dining and living rooms. This is a great place to gather with friends and other guests before heading off to dinner or some late shopping and sightseeing. We anticipate multiple return trips in our efforts to escape the heat of Texas.

Room Tip: There is a room for nearly every price bracket here at Cleftstone. The rooms upstairs, are for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tgates5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florence forum
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

The Cleftstone Manor is a quaint Inn run by Ann, who is a very knowledgeable innkeeper. She offered advice on the area and even let us borrow her cd for our trip to Acadia Park. Her inn is immaculate and very well run. Her homemade breakfasts were scrumptious and I actually had the best eggs benedict ever! Very nice appetizers and converstation in the afternoons. The room we stayed in was the Joseph Pulitzer. It had its own entrance and was very clean. Chocolates and sherry were complimentary in our room, a nice touch. The only negative I could think of was that this room was a bit unconventional, with another entrance which was the bathroom which led us to the breakfast room. This seemed a little bizarre, but we used the other entrance to exit our room. All in all we had a great stay at the Cleftsone Manor.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jange428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

While a little off the beaten path in Bar Harbor, the Cleftstone Manor is a beautiful B&B worth the distance from downtown. The homemade breakfasts are the perfect way to get fueled up for a day of hiking in Acadia and the delicious afternoon snacks make the perfect excuse to sit with the other guests and get great dining, hiking and vacationing tips...and Ann, the owner jumps right in and is a wealth of knowledge. The Joseph Pulitzer room was a little strangely located right off the breakfast room, but the private entrance was very convenient. It was also fun to learn about the history of the island, the town and the manor...how cool that Joseph Pulitzer (yes, that Pulitzer) used to stay there! We'd definitely stay again if we found ourselves in Bar Harbor!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.8 mi away
Anne's White Columns Inn
Anne's White Columns Inn
#27 of 31 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.7 mi away
Graycote Inn
Graycote Inn
#21 of 31 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bar Harbor Castlemaine Inn B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Stone Throw Cottage
Stone Throw Cottage
#2 of 31 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel
5.6 mi away
Heathwood Inn & Suites
Heathwood Inn & Suites
#28 of 31 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleftstone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleftstone Manor

Property: Cleftstone Manor
Address: 92 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1123
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cleftstone Manor, built in 1884 on "Millionaire's Row", is one of the few Victorian mansions to escape the fire of 1947. The sixteen guestrooms, each have private bath, many have TV, AC, phone, fireplace and whirlpools. The magnificent common rooms are furnished with Victorian antiques and period pieces, creating an atmosphere reminiscent of turn of the century Bar Harbor. Enjoy a gourmet breakfast each morning and afternoon refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cleftstone Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleftstone Manor Hotel Bar Harbor
Cleftstone Manor Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing