We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay for a Great Value”
Review of Cleftstone Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cleftstone Manor
Ranked #24 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fairmont, West Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay for a Great Value”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We loved our stay at Cleftstone Manor! Everything met our expectations. The breakfasts were delicious and the rooms were comfortable. The commons areas are beautiful. We loved the perfect location; it was right outside of town, taking only a minute to drive downtown. The only issue we had was with the hot water for showers. Several times during a shower, the water would get cold. But it would get hot again immediately, so it wasn't a big deal. Also, the rooms where our party stayed weren't decorated as nicely as other B&Bs we've visited, but we knew what to expect from the online pictures. (The website for this bed & breakfast is also excellent!) Overall, we felt that Cleftstone Manor was a very inviting and charming place and for such a great value!

Anne was extremely helpful. She didn't mind all our questions about restaurants and activities in Acadia. She was eager to offer us great suggestions. Actually, Anne's help and advice was probably the best part of our stay. If we ever return to Bar Harbor, this is where we plan to stay.

Room Tip: The website shows pictures of all the rooms and exactly where they are located in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelCouple121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    40
    18
    7
    2
See reviews for
15
102
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Almost exactly one mile walk to the center of Bar Harbor, this elegant Inn is a source of continuing pleasures on our annual trek to Maine. While a week's time seems to fly away, we daily are reminded how fortunate we are to have discovered this little piece of heaven. Anne and her staff go well out of their way to make their guests comfortable. If the generous breakfast was not enough, prepare to be pampered by the mid-afternoon treats that are served in Abbie's Retreat, a sun porch just off the dining and living rooms. This is a great place to gather with friends and other guests before heading off to dinner or some late shopping and sightseeing. We anticipate multiple return trips in our efforts to escape the heat of Texas.

Room Tip: There is a room for nearly every price bracket here at Cleftstone. The rooms upstairs, are for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tgates5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florence forum
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The Cleftstone Manor is a quaint Inn run by Ann, who is a very knowledgeable innkeeper. She offered advice on the area and even let us borrow her cd for our trip to Acadia Park. Her inn is immaculate and very well run. Her homemade breakfasts were scrumptious and I actually had the best eggs benedict ever! Very nice appetizers and converstation in the afternoons. The room we stayed in was the Joseph Pulitzer. It had its own entrance and was very clean. Chocolates and sherry were complimentary in our room, a nice touch. The only negative I could think of was that this room was a bit unconventional, with another entrance which was the bathroom which led us to the breakfast room. This seemed a little bizarre, but we used the other entrance to exit our room. All in all we had a great stay at the Cleftsone Manor.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jange428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

While a little off the beaten path in Bar Harbor, the Cleftstone Manor is a beautiful B&B worth the distance from downtown. The homemade breakfasts are the perfect way to get fueled up for a day of hiking in Acadia and the delicious afternoon snacks make the perfect excuse to sit with the other guests and get great dining, hiking and vacationing tips...and Ann, the owner jumps right in and is a wealth of knowledge. The Joseph Pulitzer room was a little strangely located right off the breakfast room, but the private entrance was very convenient. It was also fun to learn about the history of the island, the town and the manor...how cool that Joseph Pulitzer (yes, that Pulitzer) used to stay there! We'd definitely stay again if we found ourselves in Bar Harbor!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmer City, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Price is comparable to other locations in the area. Rooms are clean. Bathrooms clean and about the size of some hotel rooms. Breakfast was very good and you have a couple of items to choose from. Service was good. We would stay here again. We would recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Spent several nights here and enjoyed our stay. Staff was very accommodating. Breakfast was out of this world every morning and they even gave you choices the night before. Lovely appetizers by the fire that evening and great conversation with the staff and other guests. Room was small, but bathroom had shower and tub. Our room was 3 flights of steep stairs, so pack light.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2011

My husband & I recently stayed at Cleftstone Manor. We had stayed at 3 other B & Bs before our stay here. This was the best one by far. Ann the owner does a fantastic breakfast that is above all others. The little touches: afternoon appetizers & the sherry in our room with chocolate was an added treat. I wish we didn't live so far away or I would make this an annual stay. Sharon from California.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
280 reviews
0.7 mi away
Primrose Inn
Primrose Inn
#8 of 30 in Bar Harbor
475 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bar Harbor Castlemaine Inn B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Thornhedge Inn
Thornhedge Inn
#20 of 30 in Bar Harbor
126 reviews
5.6 mi away
Heathwood Inn
Heathwood Inn
#26 of 30 in Bar Harbor
130 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stone Throw Cottage
Stone Throw Cottage
#2 of 30 in Bar Harbor
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleftstone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleftstone Manor

Property: Cleftstone Manor
Address: 92 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1123
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cleftstone Manor, built in 1884 on "Millionaire's Row", is one of the few Victorian mansions to escape the fire of 1947. The sixteen guestrooms, each have private bath, many have TV, AC, phone, fireplace and whirlpools. The magnificent common rooms are furnished with Victorian antiques and period pieces, creating an atmosphere reminiscent of turn of the century Bar Harbor. Enjoy a gourmet breakfast each morning and afternoon refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cleftstone Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleftstone Manor Hotel Bar Harbor
Cleftstone Manor Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing